Original Essays Based Off The 5 Senses - TOUCH (Essay #4)

in #story8 years ago

We gathered on the basketball court. Some stretching and shooting around took place while teams were decided.

I had been looking forward to this all day. Finally - a group of guys that just wanted to play ball. No arguing, no stopping play every other possession. Just 10 guys getting up and down the court trading baskets until one of the teams reached 11.

My friend Dave got me into the game as it was basically invite only, he had played with this group about a year now.

We matched up everyone, checked up the ball and began play. The guy I was guarding went into the middle and tried to post me up.

A pass came in from the top of the key and I reached out with a chance to steal the ball.

However, the first thing that touched the ball was the tip of my left thumb.

“Shit” I grunted, immediately grabbing my thumb!

Unbelievable, the first play of the first game and I’m already hurt, you’ve got to be kidding!

Was it broken? Did I tear a ligament? I didn’t know and I didn’t really care.

I yell “Who’s got tape?”

A roll is thrown my direction from the sideline. I cocoon my thumb in tape, essentially turning it into a stump.

“Aren’t you left handed” asks Dave.

“Of course I am. I’m not lucky enough to hurt my right thumb.”

“Can you play, how will you shoot? He asks.

“Apparently I’m breaking the rust off my right hand” “Inbound the ball, let’s do this!”

Regards,
Mitchell J
Go to @scaredycatguide to see to the other "Senses" essays.

Sort:  

Steemon indeed! It's quite the enigma which of my posts gets some love. Either way I'm quite grateful when they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34