Original Essays Based on the 5 Senses (Essay #2) - SOUND

in #story8 years ago

Tommy looked up as he heard the sound of her voice. After the first few words he watched her lips move but all he could register was mumble, like the womp-womp-womp heard from Charlie Brown’s teacher in the peanuts cartoons.

Damn it, listen to what she’s saying Tommy thought to himself.

I always do this. I need to pay attention to what she’s saying instead of just waiting for my chance to speak. Our conversations are basically two people talking AT each other.

“Are you listening to me?” she asked Tommy.

“What, of course I am” he responded.

Heck, I’m listening but I’m sure not hearing you, he thought. I don’t think I ever really hear what she says to me or what anyone says to me for that matter.

How come I cannot connect on a deeper level? Tommy ponders Maybe I just need to relax and not worry about having a response ready the moment she stops speaking, maybe there’s supposed to be moments of silence in a conversation to register what was last said.

Yeah, then it will resonate with me. As he questioned himself.

I mean, I’ve been dating this girl six months now and don’t know what she’s most passionate about. She likes painting, web design and teaching; the hell if I know which is most important to her or if she’d drop the others for a dream job in one.

Tommy gets jolted back to reality after hearing his name again.

Looking back up she says to him “it so confusing, what would you do if you were me”

Flustered….Tommy says “you know, just do what you can any which way you can.”

Her face looks disappointed.

Tommy sighs. Damn it, I just did it again.

If you missed the first essay - SCENT - find it here:https://steemit.com/story/@scaredycatguide/original-essays-based-on-the-5-senses-scent-essay-1
-Mitchell J

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34