Cruel and Unusual - serialised novel EXCLUSIVE to Steemit Part 42

in #story7 years ago (edited)

For the full list of episodes, please see this post: Episode List
And Then, 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41

Images below from Google and Pixabay

Please read the start of the story using the links above. I promise, it’s well-worth the time to check it all out. At least then, this excerpt will make more sense

Anton looked up when she paused. “What was he doing there?”

“He was looking for ‘entertainment’ of the female variety.” She smiled as she explained.

“And what were you doing there?”

Her smile evaporated at his question. “I was looking for a solution to a problem that I cannot quite put my finger on for the moment.”

Anton realised that there would be no point in pressing for more information for Hazel did not have it to give. “I have a theory. Would you like to hear it?”

Hazel looked at Anton and her directness always made him believe that she was not afraid of anything – not his authority, or that of his granddaughter, the Lycaeon.

Hazel was the epitome of impartiality and therefore perfect for the position she held, and he allowed her the time she wanted as she searched his eyes for guile or teasing. Satisfied, she nodded that she would. They continued walking along the pathway, deep in conversation.

“I think that there are more than coincidences at play here. You arrive from Europe to tutor my ward and before you have time to settle yourself into any kind of routine, the warehouse where you have taken to lodging is burned to the ground.”

He paused for a moment, waiting to see if Hazel would allow him to continue or would interrupt with comments of her own. When she did not interject, he continued.

“Yes, I know that you flit from place to place before you at last settle in one place when you arrive anywhere, but that is surely not common knowledge and therefore, the person that set that fire would not know that you were likely to no longer be where he had been watching for you.”

“How do you know he had been watching me?”

“How do you know that it was a male?”

“Pah!” She huffed at his retort. He knew her so very well. “You may as well continue.”

Anton smiled at her acknowledgement of him keeping a weather eye on her. “Since the day you arrived in London, I have been watching your every move.”

“But, I can sense you, even when you are not close. I knew you were there that night on the dock side.”

“Yes and it surprised me because you had not the skill to do that for the three weeks that I have been watching you. I was therefore amazed that you had suddenly acquired the skill.”

She nodded for him to continue.

“Perhaps you did not sense the one that has followed you because he is not an Ancient, he is not even an Elder and he stays well into the background because, I believe, he knows who you are and more importantly, what you are.”

“And why, do you think, would he have availed himself of that knowledge?”

“Because he has something in which you would be interested, in your capacity as Sentinel Exemplar.”

“So the one I have noticed on occasion has had me under closer scrutiny than I have thought.” She did not ask it as a question, she was mulling it over out loud. “Do you think he has been sent by someone, some Wolf, to keep an eye on my activities?”

“Perhaps, but who in their right mind would track a Sentinel and chance discovery, for payment? On the other hand, if you wanted a Sentinel followed, would you be able to trust someone to do it for you? They may just as easily inform the Sentinel that they had been sent and betray their employer. It makes no sense, so I believe that the one that wanted to know your whereabouts is the one doing the following. I have not heard of any questions being asked of you or your whereabouts but I suppose the grapevine is as good a source of information as any.”

“But my only activity, as you put it, is that of Tutor to Keme. There are fewer Throwbacks active than I recall – the last one was executed in Prussia, I believe, a long time ago. It was good counsel that advised allowing certain members of our clans to find out about the dangers of Throwbacks. I believe the knowledge was not always so widely discussed and it was left for Wolves to deal with the creatures themselves.”

“You are right, Hazel, we did assume that First Laws would be obeyed unquestioningly by all. It would seem that not all Wolves could comprehend the danger of allowing a Wolf, Hume Hybrid to exist and those in that situation needed to know exactly why they had to kill their offspring.”

“Yes, the ruling elite cannot grasp the concept of being disobeyed and the lower castes don’t always want to conform without demur.”

Anton looked at Hazel with a frown.

“You know I am right in what I say, Anton, some Wolves are not just snobs about Humes, they are also snobs when it comes to Piaculum and Aeger Wolves too. Some are even snobs where the other Bloodline is concerned, the alternative one to yours.”


link
I have permission and a licence to use this image.

She saw his expression and responded without need for pause. “I would beg you to not give me that look, Anton, you know as well as I do that I speak the truth. Amongst your family, there are those that think they are more elite than any of the other three lines and so are allowed concessions.”

“Even if that were true…”

Hazel interrupted then. “Even if that were true?”

Incredulity sounded in her voice and it was fast turning to anger.

“You know it is true! Yes, I know that I am only a Sentinel and a lowly Aeger to boot and therefore am not at liberty to criticise the Royal line, but I hope that you never forget how many Sentinels have given their lives to ensure that the Royal Line continues unbroken. How many I personally called upon to fight, both for and with you, over the centuries and how many of those have proven disloyal and traitorous in comparison to some of your own offspring. I shall remind you, Anton, sir - none. Not one! Both of your sons betrayed you and your line and in all probability, your great-grandson followed suite. Phillipe, who happens to be one of the biggest snobs where your Bloodline is concerned, is cause for concern for me, but I understand if you want to ignore the signs and would rather leave that decision to the Sentinels, after all, we’re the ones charged with cleaning up such messes.”

Sort:  

Yes of course I've read the novel part before.
And also I have read this novel as a continuation of the previous.
But here, I do not get the danger and scare as in the previous novel is very scary.
Here just the conversation between the two while walking.
But their second conversation is very useful, they give each other what is wrong and what is right and gives a view of who is wrong in the matter that passed. Both of their utterances will be profitable for both of them too.

thanks for sharing. very interesting.
I will wait for the next part.

Thank you for reading and commenting. Feedback is always welcome and useful.

When writing a story, there needs to be a rhythm - an ebb and flow - constant tension all the way through would become boring and it would be difficult to maintain.
Putting a lull in the story allows the reader to catch his or her breath before the next piece of tension hits.

Another great novel part of yours! Looking forward to more, can't wait...

Thank you. I'm so pleased you like my story.

good story.
Very relevant to the story in your previous post. In this post iti sinya according to me personally, their conversation anton and hazel mutually tug. There was no conversation. In the view of their journey yes of course the conversation is uncertain. Because they do not say no focus means while walking.
thanks for sharing

You're welcome. Thank you for reading and commenting.

It's difficult to break the story into manageable pieces that give enough information but is also easy to read.

This story is more exciting and for me very curious. Although I do not comment much here but from the first episode till now I always follow. Because I like the story like this, a little scary, curious and distinctive characteristics that I've met. I hope tomorrow can read the sequel. Thank you for sharing with us and I wait for this to continue until finished. Because I am very dear

Thank you so much for following my writing. im so pleased you like my work.

This story is more interesting, and certainly the murderer is still very mysterious. Thank you for sharing it here, and I'm glad to read it

Hallo @michelle.gent , this story is very scary and curious. But very interesting, I am waiting for the next story because the more interesting and exciting day.

The tension is certainly starting to mount. Thank you for reading.

This episode is indeed very interesting with the previous episode. So I'm curious about the next episode, all your posts are very brilliant for me, eager to be a writer that many interested friends. @michelle.gent

Thank you. I'm so happy that so many people are enjoying my work.

Wow, the contents of the novel is very neat, beautiful, and amazing. I've never read a novel like this before, is it your work? If yes, then you are very great, maybe your next post will I wait.

Thank you. Yes, it's all my own work. The second novel I wrote.

I'm not so sure about being great, but good is enough for now :)

Wonderful writing as usual Michelle. Thanks for sharing, looking forward to reading the next installment.

Thank you for reading and commenting. I must say it's lovely to read all this praise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49