Cruel and Unusual - serialised novel EXCLUSIVE to Steemit Part 39

in #story7 years ago (edited)

For the full list of episodes, please see this post: Episode List
And Then, 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

Images below from Google and Pixabay

Please read the start of the story using the links above. I promise, it’s well-worth the time to check it all out. At least then, this excerpt will make more sense.


Once he had finished speaking, the audience took a moment as though to catch its collective breath. Then the tumult began, questions were asked of neighbours and opinions and theories were shared. Hazel allowed the hubbub to continue until one-by-one the amassed audience turned their faces toward the front of the room once more and waited for either Anton or Hazel to say their piece.

Neither had time to formulate and voice an opinion.

“Sentinel, one more question if I may?” The gentleman who had spoken before, stood again. He waited for acknowledgement before continuing. “My son and his fiancée, could they have fallen foul of this Throwback?”

“Two Wolves? It is very unlikely that he could overpower them, yet I cannot discount it. We can assume he is extremely sly by the methods he already employs. I have one question that I cannot answer, however. Why is he doing this? I believe that if we are to find him, we need to all be on our guard and because of the serious nature of the situation, more sentinels will be joining me very soon, from Europe.”

“That could prove an unpopular move.” A voice from the back of the room interrupted - its owner hidden in the shadows. “One Sentinel in London is one too many for most decent Wolves to stomach. If you bring in an army, you may turn the tide of acceptance – what little you have – against you.”

“On the contrary, David,” Anton stood to speak over the growing clamour of agreement for the Wolf’s statement.

Anton had anticipated that kind of argument the moment he saw David, which is why he had pointed him out to Hazel as an insurrectionist.

“The ‘decent’ Wolves have nothing to fear from the Sentinels. As ever, it is those with something to hide that fear their presence.”

Anton held up his hand to prevent David’s retort. “And before you get up on your high horse and reply in righteous indignation, I will say this. The majority of Wolves have a little something to hide. We all have secrets. The ones who fear the Sentinels most seem to be the ones who have not had dealings with them, and so do not fully realise exactly what they do, or how they benefit our society.”

Anton paused and looked around the room, certain that none would interrupt.

“The ones that do not fear the Sentinels are either foolish in their belief that they can escape detection for their crimes, or are dead. I know that you have no affection for the Sentinels, David, I do not know - or care - why this is, but I request that you leave your campaigns outside any meeting called by Sentinel Exemplar. She did not have to warn every Wolf in London to be wary of this present danger, she could have allowed this Throwback to carry on doing what he is doing and waited until she was certain of his intent before even bothering to find him. The fact that she is keeping you all informed is surely proof of her good will, even in the face of animosity from you and your group. There have been a select few Ancients invited here tonight, you were not invited as you are neither Ancient nor influential enough to be widely listened to, yet you were not refused entry and were not ejected.”

Anton again paused, daring the other to speak.

“You may either go forth and tell those few in your group of these theories and help to warn of this possible danger, or not. I personally care little either way. The Sentinel Exemplar on the other hand, has proven that she does care that there may be a Throwback – a potential Hunter of Wolf – on the loose in London and she wishes to prevent it from harming any Wolf – including you and your group.”

“You misunderstand my reasons for being here, sir,” the Wolf named David began. “I heard of this meeting and instead of assuming it was called so that the elite can further force their changes to our society upon us all, I came to listen to what was to be said. I listened and fully appreciate the grave situation. I merely mentioned that if we were to find a large influx of Sentinels to our city, there would be many who would assume that the story of a Throwback is an excuse, a ruse to bring Sentinels in. And once they are here, how would we send them back? We would be under Martial Law, would we not?”

“I think, sir,” Hazel said.

She stepped forward and placed her hand on Anton’s arm to hold him from further reply. “That you came here because you share belief in the assumption that Sentinels wish to conquer Wolf kind. Believe me or don’t, we certainly do not. We are loyal to our Lycaeon and her ancestors. I do not need to reiterate that; it is a fact - oft-times proven by action and deed. I will reiterate the fact though, if only because you seem to either not know or have forgotten. Sentinels are ultimately loyal to our Lycaeon. If I were to decide that your presence here is nefarious, I could execute you here and now and face no recrimination or reprisal. Instead, I allowed you to stay and hear the discussion. I allowed you to question my motive and I will allow you to leave, unharmed and unhindered and I sincerely hope that you will go back to tell everyone in your group – and indeed, anyone that will listen – of this possible threat to our more vulnerable Wolves.”

“You will allow me to leave unharmed?” David sneered. “Am I supposed to be grateful for that concession?”

“Yes, I think that you are,” Anton said, despite Hazel’s hand on his arm, squeezing tightly.

“Sentinel Exemplar has acted with decency, openness and civility towards you, towards every Wolf invited here this evening. There is a very real danger to our society which will only be exacerbated by denial or ignoring of the facts.”

“These facts, my Lord, seem to be corroborated by the Sentinel’s own lap-dog. No-one else has been witness to any of the murders...” he was interrupted then by a man sitting next to the gentleman that was missing his son.

Sort:  

Good story though a bit nervous and frightened
I think this story is difficult to read at night, because a little spooky.
But after reading, I can realize that every intention of ugliness possessed by humans, there is good too.
In the matter of one party with another, the belief that should be in priority. It's the key deal to the equation of problem perception.
Interesting post, thanks for sharing @michelle.gent

There is a lot of time see also my post might be interesting

Thank you. The fact that you think it would be too scary to read at night is a great compliment :)

Yes of course if in a state alone
Thanks again, i will follow your next post.
good friend

"If I were to decide that your presence here is nefarious, I could execute you here and now and face no recrimination or reprisal."

Love that part :D

Yeah, she's a bit of a character, isn't she ;)

yes, she is!

Cool, I haven't read any novel before, I prefer movies, but I caught myself going through this post. Maybe it's cuz I found it on Steemit. Anyways nice one

Waoh! I like the fact that you made this story so captivating and interesting and i need to put the fact that is also very educative. The scary part cannot be over-emphasized. I am new on steemit and coming across this story has really awaken something in me and that is the fact that my poetry ambition can be realized and develop using this platform. i celebrate you michelle and i look forward to more on this story and other stories.
Following you already.

Thank you for your kind words.

I'm not quite sure why this particular episode is getting so much attention (of the better kind) but I'm certainly happy everyone is reading and enjoying my work.

Thank you :)

This is a new experience that i get. Interesting post and cool. Hopefully with this post we can all benefit.

This story is awesome, immediately i started reading it, i couldn't stop till the end.
-thanks for sharing. Looking forward to seeing more of these.

Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoy my work.

This really caught my attention. I love the way you write. I almost forgot I was on steemit because I kind of like reading hard copy novels but this is a great piece. I would definitely read other episodes.

Thank you and please do read the other episodes. The story builds and you get a feel of the characters.

Is this from a movies that have not seen yet?
Wow this must be a movie.
I just have to create more time to read all the episodes
Thumbs up @michelle.gent, you must sell this script, im sure its gonna fetch you a lot.

No, not from a movie (yet).

Thank you for your comment, your enthusiasm made me smile :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49