Cruel and Unusual - serialised novel EXCLUSIVE to Steemit Part 35

in #story7 years ago

For the full list of episodes, please see this post: Episode List
And Then, 31 32 33 34

Images below from Google and Pixabay

Please read the start of the story using the links above. I promise, it’s well-worth the time to check it all out. At least then, this excerpt will make more sense.


“How different is it for the Wolves that are born to this? They must have a first time too, is it different?” Hazel asked.

“No, it is much the same. Of course, a born Wolf can never be quite sure when he will change for the first time. They are a little like Humes; they mature at different times, and so it is with Purebloods. It does seem to be that the more ruthless and bloodthirsty a Pureblood is, the sooner he or she changes, but it could also be the opposite – an early change makes for ruthlessness. In my bloodline for example, we are exceptionally early.”

He gave Hazel a grin, which was far removed from the civilised man that she was talking with. The grin was so feral that she gave an involuntary gasp of surprise. Anton laughed and Hazel joined in.

“How did you arrive with the Shaman so quickly?” she asked once the laughter had died.

“I was sent a message that it may be in our best interest to go and visit with the Tribe.”

“Who would send such a message? And, moreover, who would have that information beforehand?”

Anton didn’t respond; he held her gaze and she answered the question for herself.

“The Scribe? But I always thought that he could not interfere in our affairs.”

“No, he cannot and he did not send me a message telling me to do anything. It was, in fact, very cryptic and by the time I had deciphered its meaning, valuable time had passed. No matter though, I did arrive in time and fortunately for all involved, Keme was intact, both physically and mentally.”

“But what of Keme’s family; his tribe, did they allow you to take him away?”

“Not immediately, no. I was in discussion with them for a good few days. I had brought with me some of the purple flower that helps in these situations. Do you remember the flower?”

“Yes, Wolfsbane. Of course I remember it; its properties are invaluable, even to an Ancient.”

Anton nodded and smiled. “I showed Keme how to utilise its power to prevent change and I believe he used it until recently, as a matter of course.”

Anton saw the question arrive at Hazel’s mind and pre-empted it.

“No, he did not use that method to prevent his change last night. He is exceptional and very much in control. I tutored him all the way here and he listens and learns very well. I would even go so far as to think that he would make a very good Sentinel at some point.”

“Really?” Hazel was impressed by Anton’s faith in her new protégé.

“Indeed. He has a great thirst for knowledge and he would certainly always keep what he learned to the forefront of his mind. His Grandfather taught him that much at least.”

“Do you plan to keep him under such close scrutiny, Anton, or am I to be allowed free rein with his lessons?”

“Both my dear. I trust you implicitly and yet, after last night, I have a feeling of dread hanging over this matter, like the pall that hangs over the city. It is inexplicable at the moment but I have a feeling it will soon come to a head, and I’m not sure I relish that thought.”

Hazel said nothing, but sipped at her coffee and contemplated.

Anton recognised her mood and questioned her. “What is it, Hazel? Something disturbs you.”

Hazel looked at him over the lip of her cup and waited for a long time before she answered.

“The warehouse that was burned last night, do you know it?”

“No, but I am guessing that you do.”

“Until a few nights ago, I was using it.”

“When did you move, and was there a reason for you moving?”

Again, Hazel held her counsel for a long moment.

“I spent just one sleep in the building that I took you to. I don’t know exactly why I moved, I had a feeling and I have learned to take heed of those kinds of feelings.”

“Do you think the fire was set deliberately then?”

“No - I know it was.”

“Did you see anyone?”

“No, but I think it was Wolf.”

Anton’s eyebrows twitched in surprise at this information. Hazel’s instincts were honed sharper than he had seen them, she had come on in leaps and bounds in the years that they had been apart and though he tried to keep in contact with her, the nature of her work meant that it was not always possible – or safe – for her to do so.

If Hazel suspected another Wolf was trying to kill her, or at the very least, drive her off, it boded ill for the structured, if somewhat tenuous, peace in their society.

Chapter 3

One early-October evening, Keme and Hazel were to be found awaiting Anton. They had become closer as friends over the preceding days, but not so close as to be able to forego the formal civility dictated by Victorian standards and so they waited in the Foyer of the hotel, passing pleasantries as would be expected, about the weather and the more palatable items of news. They avoided discussing the news about the latest murders – especially the ‘Double Event’ - for fear of becoming engrossed in the details and allowing Keme to become over-excited.

Frustrated, Hazel took to her feet and paced.

“He is more than an hour late, with neither word nor message. This is becoming increasingly worrying.” Her hands were flung up, gesturing as she spoke, emphasising her impatience and concern.

“I agree, Madam Hazel, yet what can we do? We cannot go out looking for him; we are already at his home. Where would we begin?” Keme sat waiting with a calm that irked Hazel.

“In London? I do not know. If we had been in Rome, I would know where we could possibly look for him, but here? Your guess is as good as mine.”

Sort:  

I don't remember reading about the Scribe before. Did I miss that somehow in the first book?

The Scribe wrote Hazel's story for her. Remember Steve read it?

I've just been binge reading (is that a thing?) your writing. It's very exciting to read, looking forward to the next part. Thank you!

It's a thing :)

Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoy my imagination.

nice keep it up ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50