Ad Infinitum (An Original Story) Part 4 of 4

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Ad Infinitum Part 1 of 4 | Ad Infinitum Part 2 of 4 | Ad Infinitum Part 3 of 4


I should have known. I should have known.


Dianne vanished from my sight just as my lungs greedily inhaled the icy waters. So this is what it feels like. I used to imagine that my death would be a peaceful, painless passing. I would have preferred to die in my sleep, with the people I love surrounding my deathbed. But here I am, enclosed in a frozen lake, never to be found.

As my life flashes before me, I could hear a familiar voice calling out my name from a distance. I tried to answer, but I couldn’t move a single nerve in my body. I can still hear him.

“Emilia!” His voice is a thread of hope. I try to hang on.

“Emilia! Are you alright?” He’s knocking persistently on my door.

On my door.


I woke up screaming.


I sat up, almost out of breath. It was a dream after all. I sighed in huge relief. I hurriedly opened the door for him, eager to give him a hug.

He was calm as always. But something was wrong. I was leaning against a cold, rigid body. Before I knew it, his embrace grew tighter, making it difficult for me to move. Soon it will be impossible to breath. I tried to push him away, to no avail. I felt my lungs being squeezed against each other as I start to suffocate.

I was desperately gasping for air when Dianne appeared behind by father, her eerie smile still etched on her face, allowing a bunch of worms to fall from her rotting face.

I could no longer feel anything. I need air.

I need air…


I woke up screaming.


I could hear Dad’s voice from outside my room. He’s clearly worried about me. I rushed to the door and opened it for him, relieved to see that he’s fine. I threw myself at him, sobbing frantically as he gently rubbed my back, until we heard someone calling his name from our front porch. “Come in, come in” Dad answered back.

I clung tight on my Dad’s arm when a figure of a woman revealed itself on the door. “Oh, there you are” he delightfully addressed the woman. I forcefully tugged his arm as the woman slowly approached us, half of her face showing early signs of decay, as worms prematurely starts to crawl out of her rotting skin.

“Emilia, this is Dianne” Dad turned to me, his face burned beyond recognition. I froze in terror.


I woke up screaming --


coughing out small, lively worms -- initiating another nerve-wracking scream from my throat.

I could hear Dad’s voice from the other side of the door, his voice sounded like he’s in distress. I rushed to see if he’s alright. But the door wouldn't budge, and there's smoke -- slowly rising from the gap under the door. In an instant, everything around me seemed to be on fire. And I could no longer hear Dad’s voice.


So this is what it feels like, to face death over and over again. Too tired to fight, I collapsed on the floor, letting the fire consume me. Then I saw a group of people in white robes, rushing towards me. They passed through the flames unscathed. But they came a little too late. I know I’ve been defeated.


Please don’t wake me up.




EPILOGUE


Emilia struggled as a crew of nurses rushed to her room. She had been screaming for hours. They had to do something to help her calm down. So for the fifth time today, they shot her with another dose of Quetiapine, with hopes that it could finally make her sleep. Just as the patient is starting to react with the drug, Dr. Dianne Foytik walked into the room, visibly worried. The crew left her alone with the patient.

She examined her young patient quietly. She had always been very affectionate with her patients, but Emilia had been very close to her heart. All she ever wanted was for the young girl to live a normal life, but the latter does not respond well to the treatment.

“Your Dad will be here soon. You know he never wanted to do this” she said as she brushed Emilia’s hair with her fingers. Her young patient twitched slightly, fighting back the effects of the drug. “Shhhhh. It’s going to be fine. I will help you get through this." She took a syringe from her pocket, emptying it on her patient's IV.

The doctor smiled in satisfaction as Emilia convulsed violently, almost falling off her bed, before she finally passed out.



“For now, just sleep.”




Hi everyone! I hope the ending was good enough. Please let me know what you think. Just leave a comment below ^___^ Thanks!


Ad Infinitum Part 1 of 4 | Ad Infinitum Part 2 of 4 | Ad Infinitum Part 3 of 4


Love. Love. Love.

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-small.jpg Sneaky Ninja Attack!! You have been defended with a 88.24 % upvote! To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). I was summoned by: @lyxng. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish... woosh

That was, I, uhm, just don't know, That was amazing. kind of creepy, but yeah doctors can be pretty creepy people. I think they like causing pain sometimes. Extremely nice 4 parter story.

hahahaha! Thanks a lot @bashadow :)

Another great episode in this story

OMG!!!!! THAT WAS EXTREMEEEE! Phew, this series is really a work of art. Very well done @lyxng! The ending satisfied me, like really. :)) This is awesomeee. :) Great great job @lyxng! ^^

hahahaha! sumakit ulo ko dun. Thanks @littlerph! ^___^

hahaha you're welcome @lyxng! ^^

Brilliant as always love! x

I don't like you anymore.

Lol j/k totally not what i expected. Bravo.

Hahahahaha! Some jokes are half meant. :P Thanks for reading, tho. :D

Congratulations it's beautiful @lyxng . Must feel great - that is a lot of work!

Thanks for reading it :) It sure is a lot of work but it's very fulfilling once people show their support and appreciation. I won't mind doing it again. hahaha

wow! would love to perfect my skill in writting...coz this is really cool! just followed u pls do ewell to follow back

This post has received a 8.65 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @lyxng

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

A very nice story writer this will keep me busy for a while.

WOW. Thank you sir! ^___^ Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26