Ad Infinitum (An Original Story) Part 1 of 4

in #story7 years ago (edited)


We live five miles east of Texas, in a ranch that my mom and dad had acquired on the first year of their marriage. The house itself is a neat, oversized cottage that could house 3 to 5 persons. When my mom died of cancer three years ago, the house felt ironically smaller -- a bit ominous -- and dad became quite distant.

We don't talk much. He always uses his ranch as an excuse to avoid conversations. Well, I couldn't blame him. Mom had always been his sunshine as she is his moonlight. So when we've lost her, everything became dark for him.

He remained indifferent to the world until Dianne came along. I don't have any idea how he met her, as I've mentioned earlier that Dad had always been busy with the ranch, he never went out. One morning I just woke up and she's there, sitting with him over breakfast. I really didn't mind, since I could see that Dad was happy. Slowly I saw the sparkle in his eyes come back to life because of Dianne. She never left us since.

I can't say I hate her, but my instinct tells me that something about her was wrong. She just came out of nowhere, we never met her family -- not that she ever mentioned having one -- and I don't even know her last name. I tried to point it out to Dad, but he just shrugged it off, accusing me of not wanting him to be happy. I felt guilty when he said that, so I never brought it up again. But I can't help but worry about him. I guess I'm just being overprotective.

They got married after a couple of months of living together. The only people who were there to stand as witnesses are some of my dad's friends, and me of course. As much as I despised being there, I have to be there to show my support, even when I didn't bother to pretend that I'm happy about it.

The moment we stepped out of the mayor's office, I knew that everything has changed. I knew that Dianne's presence in our lives would finally take it's full effect. I just didn't expect how drastic and sudden it would be. Well, it didn't take her long to make sure I understood that.

A small wedding feast was held at a classy Italian restaurant in town. The food was great, but I wasn't really feeling jovial, so I excused my self and went to the washroom to freshen up. I didn't know that she followed me.

When I came out from one of the cubicles, Dianne was standing in front of the mirror, unaltered by my presence. I gave her a quick, pretense smile, thinking she might want to talk. To my surprise, she turned to my direction and glared at me for a few seconds, murmuring incomprehensibly, and marched her way out of the washroom.

She freaked me out. After she left, I just stood there stunned, quite unsure how to react. After a minute or two, I decided to go back to our table, only to find that the restaurant is already closed.



And no one else is there but me.


To be continued...



Ad Infinitum Part 2 of 4 | Ad Infinitum Part 3 of 4 | Ad Infinitum Part 4 of 4


P.S. I want to know what you think. Please feel free to leave a comment or any suggestions below.


Love. Love. Love.


Sort:  

Fantastic! :)) Loved it! I will now read part 2 yehey! ^^

Thank you beh. :)

You're welcome! desu~ ^^

Love it! Can't wait for the rest of the series!

I didn't know you'd actually read it. Now I feel pressured. LOL. Thanks @enginewitty ^___^

If people knew how much time I actually put into reading on here...ya. I'm sure you won't disappoint!

hahahah! brace yourself for the next chapter then. :D

Great story will watch out for part 2

Your welcome

Nice story start. Missing time, bad step mom, love struck dad, and all only 5 miles east of Texas. I think I may already be hooked.

that's good to know. :) Thanks for reading. :)

Congratulations @lyxng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post received a 36.84% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @lyxng! For more information, click here! . this is @originalworks .steem @steemprice BTC

$3685.54 USD/BTC
Volume: 33175.39 BTC ($122269159.76 USD)
Last Updated Sun Sep 24 20:01:40 2017

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lyxng to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,5K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes

sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 67.57 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @lyxng.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68943.86
ETH 3749.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67