EAGLE FROM THE RUBBLE: CHAPTER 39

in #story6 years ago

baldeagle_139-mom_nursing_chicks_on_nest.jpg

border-159926_960_720.png

Two days later, Tony went to Oyibo's house and narrated to her what her sister, Nwamaka had told him. She was initially surprised but later she confessed.

"Knowing my mother, I think she is capable of doing what Nwamaka said. She is very determined in whatever she sets out to do"

"The issue now is that you have to help me and at the same time help your sister out of her pain. I want you to find out from your mother who this man is so that we can solve this problem. This is the only way of bringing lasting peace to all concerned," he told her

Oyibo thought over this suggestion and finally agreed.

"If you insist, I will go and ask her but don't be surprised if she refuses to reveal the man's identity. I know my mother; she can be very stubborn when she chooses to be."

"All the same, make her understand what is at stake. Make her understand the pain all the parties to this situation are passing through. If you want me to come along, I will gladly do so."

"No, I don't think that will be necessary," she replied and Tony left.

Less than a week later, Oyibo called Tony on phone and asked him to come to their house immediately. He hastened up and went to meet her.

When he arrived, Oyibo and her husband Moses were in the sitting room waiting for him. Oyibo had an unreadable expression on her face. They exchanged greetings.

"Did you see her?" he asked immediately.

"Yes."

"What did she say? Did she tell who he is?" he asked, excited.

She heaved a sigh before replying.
"I got home as I told you I would. She was much better although her ill-health was still troubling her. She was very happy when she saw me and we discussed a lot of things. Finally, I broached the issue of Obioha. I told her how he had become a source of worry to everyone including herself. She agreed with me that Obioha was really getting out of hand. I told her that he kept demanding to know who his father was. Later I asked her who Obioha's father was so that we could let him be united to him in order to help him and everyone else.
"When I said this, she winced, and then stared at me as if I had just been noticed by her. After this reaction, she slowly sat back in her seat and closed her eyes as if in thought. I looked at her and presumed she was deep in thought and decided not to bother her. But after some time, I called her and there was no response. I gently touched her hand; I tried to squeeze it but noticed an unusual heaviness. I shook her but she remained in the same position. I then called in my uncle Ezekwe and his wife and we managed to get her to the hospital. There she was confirmed dead."

"What?!" Tony screamed. Oyibo merely nodded her head in confirmation.

"She is dead," she said shrugging. "Remember what I told you that if she did not want to reveal who he was, she certainly would not."

"But why?" he asked no one in particular.

"Reasons best known to her," Oyibo said.

"Calm down my brother, there are certain things we mortals cannot explain. We just accept them as they are," Moses told him.

Tony was lost for words for a long time.
"I am sorry", he finally managed to say to Oyibo.

"Death is inevitable," Oyibo said. "It is now up to you to tell Amaka as gently as you can." Tony nodded absentmindedly

"You know what?" he said after some time "After my in-law's burial, I think I am going to consider the offer from the South African university. I really need a change of scene. It will do Nwamaka a lot of good too, Tony said.

"I think you are right," Moses replied

border-159926_960_720.png


6280.gif

Thanks for reading! Check my blog often for subsequent chapters.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

LINKS:

• INTRODUCTION
• CHAPTER 1
• CHAPTER 2
• CHAPTER 3
• CHAPTER 4
• CHAPTER 5
• CHAPTER 6
• CHAPTER 7
• CHAPTER 8
• CHAPTER 9
• CHAPTER 10
• CHAPTER 11
• CHAPTER 12
• CHAPTER 13
• CHAPTER 14
• CHAPTER 15
• CHAPTER 16
• CHAPTER 17
• CHAPTER 18
• CHAPTER 19
• CHAPTER 20
• CHAPTER 21
• CHAPTER 22
• CHAPTER 23
• CHAPTER 24
• CHAPTER 25
• CHAPTER 26
• CHAPTER 27
• CHAPTER 28
• CHAPTER 29
• CHAPTER 30
• CHAPTER 31
• CHAPTER 32
• CHAPTER 33
• CHAPTER 34
• CHAPTER 35
• CHAPTER 36
• CHAPTER 37
• CHAPTER 38

Sort:  

DQmRQeNTjCWF9MZZtAihVdzUyUMERDLbydARupFuJB6tRXC_1680x8400.png

clapping.gif

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76