EAGLE FROM THE RUBBLE: CHAPTER 35

in #story6 years ago

baldeagle_139-mom_nursing_chicks_on_nest.jpg

border-159926_960_720.png

Euna was sitting in her sitting room when she heard a loud bang at the door. She listened to understand what was happening and a louder bang echoed through the house. She looked at the wall clock hanging on the wall and noticed that it was about 11am. She wondered who could be banging at her door at that hour when most people were either in the farm, market or at any other chores of their choice.

For some time now she had been battling with ill-health and had been advised by the doctor to rest more in order to help control her rising blood pressure. Were it not for that, she wondered, she would have been out of the house by then.

As she managed to go to the door, the door caved in under a heavier bang and Obioha rushed in. Euna staggered back to her seat and sat down. She saw the anger in Obioha's face and retreated farther in her seat.

"Didn't you hear me knocking?" he demanded.

"I was coming to open the door before you forced it down," she managed to say, holding her head in her open palms.

"How long does it take to open a door?" he shouted.

"Don't you see that I have been sick and....".

"Stop that sickness story now because you are going to become more ill if you fail to tell me who I am" he snapped, moving towards her. Euna became really frightened,

"Please, calm down my child," she begged and then slumped on her seat. Annoyed, Obioha violently shook her, shouting

"Don't pretend with me, better speak up and tell me who I am before I murder someone.

Ezekwe had just rushed in from his afternoon tapping. He was attracted by the noise and commotion and walked in. He was shocked at what he saw. Euna, lying lifeless on the seat while Obioha stood over her shouting and cursing.

"What is the matter child?" he asked coming closer.

Obioha stopped shouting and looked at him, Ezekwe saw the murderous anger in his eyes and stopped in his tracks, Obioha moved over to him in measured steps. He got to where he was standing and stopped. Ezekwe could perceive the odour of alcohol on him.

"Papa, who am I?" Ezekwe stepped back suddenly.

"Please, tell me who I am. Who are my parents? I want to know who they are. I will give my life to know who they are. Please papa, who am I?" he asked in a hardly audible voice.

Ezekwe looked at him and felt for him. He empathized strongly with his condition. He raised his right hand and rested it on his shoulder.

"Ask your mother, she will tell you," he said slowly.

"I asked her but she decided to play a joke on me, pretending to pass out," he said pointing at Euna.

"I don't mean her, I mean your mother, Nwamaka"

At the mention of Nwamaka, he started as if he just remembered her existence.

"Thank you" he said to Ezekwe and quickly left the house immediately, Ezekwe moved over to Euna, he touched her and found she was still breathing. He quickly arranged and moved her to a hospital. It took the doctors three whole weeks to get her on her feet again.

border-159926_960_720.png


6280.gif

Thanks for reading! Check my blog often for subsequent chapters.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

LINKS:

• INTRODUCTION
• CHAPTER 1
• CHAPTER 2
• CHAPTER 3
• CHAPTER 4
• CHAPTER 5
• CHAPTER 6
• CHAPTER 7
• CHAPTER 8
• CHAPTER 9
• CHAPTER 10
• CHAPTER 11
• CHAPTER 12
• CHAPTER 13
• CHAPTER 14
• CHAPTER 15
• CHAPTER 16
• CHAPTER 17
• CHAPTER 18
• CHAPTER 19
• CHAPTER 20
• CHAPTER 21
• CHAPTER 22
• CHAPTER 23
• CHAPTER 24
• CHAPTER 25
• CHAPTER 26
• CHAPTER 27
• CHAPTER 28
• CHAPTER 29
• CHAPTER 30
• CHAPTER 31
• CHAPTER 32
• CHAPTER 33
• CHAPTER 34

Sort:  

DQmRQeNTjCWF9MZZtAihVdzUyUMERDLbydARupFuJB6tRXC_1680x8400.png

clapping.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49