EAGLE FROM THE RUBBLE: CHAPTER 27

in #story6 years ago

baldeagle_139-mom_nursing_chicks_on_nest.jpg

border-159926_960_720.png

"Fada!"
"Fada!" chorused the children at the play ground in front of Ezekwe's house. Ezekwe and Ure were in the obu relaxing. They heard them and came out to the entrance of the obu to see what was going on. They saw a young man standing in the midst of the playing children, his white cassock glittering in the late afternoon sun.

"Who is that?" Ezekwe asked

"It is the new priest, Fr. Richard." Ure said. "He was posted to the parish newly. I heard he strolls into the village in the evenings familiarizing with everyone. He may be coming in here, let me arrange the place" she said, withdrawing while Ezekwe stood watching with keen interest.

"What is your name" Fr. Richard asked the children one after the other

"Uche"
"Ngozi"
"Emeka"

"What about you?"

"Obioha"

"You all have such nice names. Come let me bless you."

They surrounded him and he raised his hands in blessing. After that he scanned the little heads with his eyes. He found one of the children very outstanding and arresting. He stood out from the rest. He was very fair skinned and good looking too. He appeared well cared for and did not look like any of the village children.

"What did you say your name is?"

"Obioha."

"What's your baptismal name?"

He was silent.

"Are you baptised?"

He shook his head.

"Why? How many of you here have not been baptised?"
He counted about two more.
"Where is your house?" he asked Obioha.

"Over there," he said pointing towards Ezekwe.
Fr. Richard saw Ezekwe and walked over to him, holding Obioha by the hand.

"Good evening sir" he greeted Ezekwe.

"Good evening, my son" he replied, looking him over. He was in his early thirties.

"I am Fr. Richard," he said as they shook hands.

"I have heard so much about you. You are really trying.

"Really?" he said feeling embarrassed.

"Welcome Father," Ure greeted him.

"Good evening, madam

"Everyone seems to be talking about you Come in and sit down," Ezekwe said leading him into his obu. Obioha withdrew his hand and made to pass

"My friend, where are you going to?" he asked Obioha.

"I want to call my mother." He ran off and soon returned with Euna.

"Good evening Father.

"Good evening Madam. I was talking with your son and he said he hasn't been baptised. Why? How old is he?"

"Eight years"

"Eight years and not yet baptised? Please bring him next week Wednesday evening for baptism." And turning to Ezekwe, he asked. "I hope you do come to church?"

He smiled while scratching his head.
"I do come once in a while."

"I will like to see you in church on Sunday. Please, do not fail to come."

"I will try to come as you said. It is just that the time for mass coincides with my morning tapping time," he replied, feebly.

"This Sunday mass will be at 9.0oa.m. instead of 7a.m. you would have finished by then."

"I will try" he replied, shrugging his shoulders.

After interacting with Ezekwe and his family members, he blessed them and left for the next compound.

border-159926_960_720.png

97e.gif

Thanks for reading! Check my blog often for subsequent chapters.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

LINKS:

• INTRODUCTION
• CHAPTER 1
• CHAPTER 2
• CHAPTER 3
• CHAPTER 4
• CHAPTER 5
• CHAPTER 6
• CHAPTER 7
• CHAPTER 8
• CHAPTER 9
• CHAPTER 10
• CHAPTER 11
• CHAPTER 12
• CHAPTER 13
• CHAPTER 14
• CHAPTER 15
• CHAPTER 16
• CHAPTER 17
• CHAPTER 18
• CHAPTER 19
• CHAPTER 20
• CHAPTER 21
• CHAPTER 22
• CHAPTER 23
• CHAPTER 24
• CHAPTER 25
• CHAPTER 26

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 59 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

DQmRQeNTjCWF9MZZtAihVdzUyUMERDLbydARupFuJB6tRXC_1680x8400.png

your post is very good.
you do not know me yet. I am a newcomer to steemit. but I know a lot about you.
you are a great person.
i need support from you. thank you

Well articulated in a sequential order. Great write!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47