EAGLE FROM THE RUBBLE: CHAPTER 36

in #story6 years ago

baldeagle_139-mom_nursing_chicks_on_nest.jpg

border-159926_960_720.png

Every evening, after supper, Nwamaka and her family usually sit in front of the television, relaxing. That evening, Tony was not in the house. Nwamaka was alone with her three children when Obioha violently opened the door and walked in. They were all startled but before they could utter a word, Obioha rushed over to where Nwamaka was sitting and shouted at her, panting.

"Who is my father? Answer me before...."

"Brother Obioha, stop shouting at her" Tony Jr interfered moving in between them.

"If I hear any more word from you, you will be sorry for it. It is because you are here, sheltered, cared for, loved, and pampered, that's why you have the gut to talk when I talk. Move out of the way now" he thundered. Turning to Nwamaka, who was so shaken by this confrontation that she could not reply, he continued

"I asked a question, who is my father? I must get a reply from you now or else blood is going to flow..."

"Whose blood is going to flow?" Tony asked from the doorway. All eyes turned towards him. His daughter Ruby ran to him, looking scared.

"Dad, Bro Obioha is trying to hurt mummy," she murmured.

"He won't, my dear," he said hugging her. He came closer to where Obioha stood.

"What's the problem this time?" he asked calmly.

"The problem is that I am looking for my father. Are you him or are you not? If you are, let me know; if you are not, give way and allow me to find him," he said flatly.

Tony looked at Nwamaka and saw the pain in her eyes and the tears on her face. He was moved. He turned to the kids, who were all scared but were relieved as he came in.

"Tony, take your brother and sister to their rooms. I need to talk to Bro Obioha." Tony Jr hesitated, but when his father prompted him to leave, he left but not without glaring at Obioha. When the kids left, Tony began.

"Come and sit down," he said to Obioha.

"I don't feel like sitting down," he snapped.

"I can't talk to you while you are standing."

There's nothing to talk about, just provide answers to my question and let me go," he replied.

"What is your question?"

"Don't tell me you have gone deaf. I told you what I wanted and you are still asking me what I want. Do you suppose I am here to joke?"

Tony overlooked his disrespectful remark and continued.

"You must sit down before I speak or else you leave," he replied.

This infuriated Obioha and he burst out.

"Leave? You are completely mad."

"And don't you insult me."

"And if I do, what will you do? I hope you don't take me for one of your little boys? No, I am not. I am a man like you and when I am talking about something that concerns my life nobody should trivialise it".

Both stared at each other, holding each other's gaze. All the while Nwamaka sat sobbing, not daring to say a word. Finally Tony turned away and said.

"You are a man and I am also a man. You can't just walk into my house and start threatening everyone. You ought to behave yourself. Real men control their emotions. If you can't control yours, then I will have no option than to ask you to leave."

Obioha felt as if he had been slapped.

"You, ask me to leave?"

"Yes, I will do that."

"And if I refuse to leave?"

"I will hand you over to the police."

Obioha laughed a mirthless laugh. He slowly moved over to a chair and sat down.

"Ok. I want to be handed over to the police, It is either I am handed over to the police or there will be no peace in this house tonight," he dared.

"Ok. I will give you what you asked for," he said moving over to the telephone.

"Tony, please," Nwamaka pleaded, holding unto him, crying.

"Keep out of this, Allow me to handle this matter my way. It is time something more decisive is done about him," he told her.

"Please, don't do this," she pleaded, while Obioha sat, silently watching the scenario.

After quite a while, he stood up.

"I will get back to you two soon, and when next I call, you will not be in doubt as to who the real man is," he said as he left, banging the door behind him.

This incident shook Nwamaka to the extent that she was unable to be at work for several days.

border-159926_960_720.png


6280.gif

Thanks for reading! Check my blog often for subsequent chapters.

DQmSgvWb7SsQm8TMfvUiyEsbfd7sH3M5YZZa7QRsqV2Q5vk.gif

LINKS:

• INTRODUCTION
• CHAPTER 1
• CHAPTER 2
• CHAPTER 3
• CHAPTER 4
• CHAPTER 5
• CHAPTER 6
• CHAPTER 7
• CHAPTER 8
• CHAPTER 9
• CHAPTER 10
• CHAPTER 11
• CHAPTER 12
• CHAPTER 13
• CHAPTER 14
• CHAPTER 15
• CHAPTER 16
• CHAPTER 17
• CHAPTER 18
• CHAPTER 19
• CHAPTER 20
• CHAPTER 21
• CHAPTER 22
• CHAPTER 23
• CHAPTER 24
• CHAPTER 25
• CHAPTER 26
• CHAPTER 27
• CHAPTER 28
• CHAPTER 29
• CHAPTER 30
• CHAPTER 31
• CHAPTER 32
• CHAPTER 33
• CHAPTER 34
• CHAPTER 35

Sort:  

clapping.gif

unnamed (2).gif

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Congratulations @geniusvic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65