Irish Fiction: We Come Back: Vol. 1: Chapter 6.4- Good Night SunsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

Find all exerts through the Table of Contents at the bottom of the page, Raptor community!

Good Night Sun

SkyBlueFriday0629171.jpg

When Aubrey and Trix headed to their separate rooms,

Aubrey stopped for a second seeing the light was still lit in the drawing room. He whispered to Trix that he would meet her upstairs in a few minutes, and went down to check the drawing room.

Trix was thrilled and yet shocked at his ability to so quickly change everything. She decided, in her naivety, that for now, if they were to be in the same room, it would be his. She went to her room first, and changed into her nightgown, before shutting the room down, and making her way to his. When he would be back up she knew not, but she counted the seconds, while she waited.

She paced back and forth in her nightdress, terribly nervous.

She didn’t know how to behave. She had thought of scolding Astraea for her actions and yet now all she could think about was hoping the same thing happened to her. She stood in front of the mirror and brushed her hair again.

When Aubrey entered the drawing room, he sighed. His father was sleeping sitting up on the love-seat near the fireplace.

He called to him from the doorway, “Father? Dad? Jon!”

His father woke up to the last call, as Aubrey had yelled it at him. He looked around, and seeing Aubrey stood up and turned the lanterns down. He patted Aubrey as they headed upstairs together.

“Son, something has been praying on my mind this evening upon your arrival home. Are you in love with Trix, as she is with you?” Aubrey smiled to himself; he figured his father cared about her like his own children.

“Yes father, I am as in love with Trix as she is me, perhaps more so,” he exaggerated.

“Good lad,” his father patted him affectionately.

Before they broke off to go down different halls, Aubrey stopped him.

“What are we going to do about Raea?”

His father paused for a moment before answering, “I assume she has a reason for not telling you her plan, but I will say this, though you are forbidden to do anything about it,” he waited for Aubrey to agree not to do anything before continuing, “she is going to give him the test. We will know more on what to do after that.” He could tell Aubrey was holding back.

Aubrey nodded, having figured that would be what she would do, though if his father hadn’t of forbidden him, he would have stopped her.

“Goodnight then Father, I’ll see you in the morning,” he hugged him.

“Goodnight son, I am extremely grateful that you are home. Honestly, I am not sure I could bear this without you,” they latched arms to shoulders for a moment, resting forehead to forehead, before heading their separate ways.

Neither man noticed the other’s voice crack

as they said goodnight and with that walked down the halls to their rooms. They both solemnly swore in those moments to rip the arms of this human if his love was untrue, for losing Astraea was not a small price to pay.

As Aubrey watched his father go close the bedroom door behind him, he took a deep breath. It had been a lot of information in one night, and he really found he had no energy to try to explain things to Trix then and there.

He had lied to his father, because realizing Raea was in love with a human, had crushed him,

but he knew that wasn’t Trix’s fault, and that he could grow to love her too, if he let himself. Figuring he’d catch Trix in the morning, he headed to his bedroom.

As he let himself in, Trix quickly put her hair brush away in his bedside table.

“Trix, what are you doing in here?” he asked, surprised to see her.

“I thought…well I thought you wanted me to be here...you don’t?”

her mouth dropped open devastated.

As she pushed past him to the leave the room, he grabbed her arm, stopping her, and whispered, “Don’t go.”

He found her presence comforting, and decided then and there he was going to let her love him, and try to love her back.

In the middle of the night, I was tossing and turning,

as I couldn’t seem to fall asleep; though my body was exhausted my mind was still very much awake. I sat up, deciding it was no use to just lay there awake. I pulled a quill and piece of parchment out of my bedside table, went to the window where the moonlight poured in and wrote down my thoughts.

Entry I
Good morning dear moon,
How did you sleep? I find your light so comforting. It is as if you are a reminder, a reminder of a beautiful brown eyed man. I keep thinking about his face alight by you. I have never been looked upon in such a way and I find it hard to not be consumed by the memory. I am afraid that my fear of this overwhelming impulse to throw myself into his arms will hinder my actions, and in the process, ruin any chance I had at the kind of love nature takes special care of.
I feel as if the wind itself exists solely to wrap itself around him and me and pull us closer together. I cannot deny that the thought of time without seeing my mother or father or Aubrey or Trix, is one of extreme sorrow and discomfort, but it seemed it was of equal sorrow and discomfort as that of the thought of spending time without Jack. How could I possibly choose, and remain whole?
Forever lying in faith,
Astraea

I fell asleep almost immediately after putting the parchment and quill away, letting tears roll down my cheeks on to my pillow.

My dreams that night were especially despairing.

In one dream, I had seen Jack dismiss me, showing me that he had no real love for me, but rather a love of what he thought I was, and Aubrey doing the same. In the other dream, he had believed me, and for a moment it was lovely, but suddenly the dream became as startling of a nightmare as the previous one, as the sun turned to dark red, and shards of glass seemed to wound everything and everyone in sight.

In the nightmare, the glass had ripped us apart,

and now as I ran through the different glass shards, disguised as the estate, I couldn’t find him anywhere. The walls seemed to blur together as if I were trapped inside a throbbing blurry painting. As I stood in the hall, I watched as a dark red door came flying towards me, stopping in a second right in front of me. Just as I went to turn the door knob, it quietly opened a crack. I could hear muffled voices whispering behind the door. I leaned in and strained my ears to listen. I could make out the tones of a man and woman.

I heard the woman whisper, “If you do it tonight, immediately after, I will meet you in your study, and we’ll shake the legs loose from your desk.”

A man kept kissing her, trying to pull her clothes off. She pulled his face away, where he was forced to look at her, and said, “Agreed?” He said nothing, so she leaned in close to his ear and whispered, “I promise it will be worth it, and I will let you do whatever you want to me in return,” her tongue barely touched his ear as her hand reached between his legs.

“Kill my wife… for us?” he asked.

“Yes, for us,” she kissed him again.

“And we blame Raven Cole. Agreed,” he confirmed.

Suddenly, I felt nauseous as I turned around and ran down

the hall, stopping to throw up in a flower vase. As I looked up, wiping my mouth on my handkerchief, I saw a familiar man.

“Jack!” I called to him.

He did not turn around or answer, but began walking in the opposite direction. I called for him as I quickly staggered down the ever rumbling hall. The red rugged marbled hallway melted into dirt, and as I ran forward I found myself in a forest. I heard myself call out for Winter, meaning to say Jack. I felt panic overtaking me as I screamed for him, and then I turned around and felt the cold pain of a steel blade, puncture my abdomen.

The deathly silence that followed woke me.

I sat straight up in my bed, my face clammy and wet from crying. I breathed in and out deeply, and got up to fetch some silver water from the stone pitcher on my windowsill. What had that been about? And who were those people? Is someone in danger? I tried to shake the feeling of anxiety as I climbed back into bed, realizing it was after all only a nightmare. Yet… it all felt so familiar, though I could not recollect any situation in my past even similar to the one in my sleep which could explain the dream.

I fell back asleep with his eyes on my mind, a most comforting thought indeed.

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!



Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.
All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Prologue

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-prologue

Chapter 1.1-The Angel Above Him

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-1-1

Chapter 1.2-The Angel Above Him

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-1-2

Chapter 1.3-The Angel Above Him

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-1-3

Chapter 2.1-The Bonds that Tie Us

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-2-1

Chapter 2.2-The Bonds that Tie Us

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-2-2

Chapter 2.3-The Bonds that Tie Us

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-2-3

Chapter 3.1-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-1-business-or-pleasure

Chapter 3.2-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-with-a-historical-element-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-2

Chapter 3.3-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-with-historical-elements-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-3

Chapter 3.4-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-4

Chapter 4.1-Farenton on Parade

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-historical-fantasy-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-4-1

Chapter 4.2-Farenton on Parade

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-4-2-farenton-on-parade

Chapter 4.3-Farenton on Parade

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/23ep17-celtic-fiction-novel-a-dash-of-historical-fantasy-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-4-3

Chapter 5.1-Deadly Sweet

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/6w41de-celtic-fiction-novel-a-dash-of-historical-fantasy-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-5-1-deadly-sweet

Chapter 5.2-Deadly Sweet

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/4euen2-celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-5-2-a-dash-of-historical-fantasy

Chapter 5.3-Deadly Sweet

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/irish-fiction-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-5-3-deadly-sweet

Chapter 5.4-Deadly Sweet

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/irish-fiction-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-5-4-deadly-sweet

Chapter 6.1-Good Morning Moon

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/3bhtfh-irish-fiction-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-6-1-good-morning-moon
Chapter 6.2-Good Morning Moon

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/irish-fiction-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-6-2-good-morning-moon

Chapter 6.3-Good Night Sun

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/gbj2n-irish-fiction-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-6-3-good-morning-moon


We Come Back Cover1.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @frolickinraptors! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @frolickinraptors! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great article. Love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70963.77
ETH 3821.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47