Celtic Fiction Novel- A dash of Historical Fantasy- We Come Back: Vol. 1: Chapter 4.3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

Find the Table of Contents with exert links at the bottom of the page, Raptor community!

Farenton on Parade

perfec.jpg

I felt nauseas, I was so excited and yet terrified

at the same time. I kept touching my necklace for reassurance. Now that he sat down, I let a nervous giggle out, causing a laugh from him.

“That was a good, quick explanation.”

“Thank you. I wasn’t sure what to say.”

He smiled and we sat in silence before we both tried to speak at the same time.

“I…”

“No, you…”

At each start we spoke in unison.

We laughed at each other and then Jack specifically looked at me giving me the go ahead.

“In all honesty, I came back because I… well I couldn’t stop myself…”

“I’m so very glad you couldn’t.”

He leaned closer and said, “You may call me Jack.”

I smiled, “Jack, you may call me Rae.”

As we sipped tea and talked about our interests, Jack noticed my ring begin to change color.

“Miss Astr… I mean Rae… well your ring, it’s…”

He was pointing to it as I looked down and saw it glowing

purple. Aubrey was messaging me. I started to panic, I always returned his message, but I couldn’t right then, not in front of Jack. I moved my hand, putting the ring out of his view explaining, “It does that sometimes, when the light hits it just right.”

In moments, the jade returned to its natural green color.

“See?” I showed it to him, trying to shrug it off.

He smiled, “Yes, I am sure that is what it was.”

He had heard tales of stones that lit up,

changing colors at different times, even in the night. Though he couldn’t help but be reminded of those stories, he dismissed them and let the subject end.

“So, Rae, how do you find Farenton and its guests upon your return?” he gestured to all of us and his estate.

The gentle drumming of a family home seemed

quite enticing to me.

“It’s beautiful, Jack. Your friends seem quite fine; though I am afraid I have had very little time with them.”

“That will change,” his voice altered for a brief moment, causing me to look up into his eyes, “I hope.”

He was smiling at me, his eyes showing a clear fondness for me. I appreciated this moment of vulnerability from him, though I not yet had any idea as to how rare these moments were, coming from him. As quick as the look came, it disappeared with twice the speed.

He looked down, feeling slightly self conscious.

When he looked back up at me, I was staring out across the trees. There was something about the way my hair moved gently in the wind, that made me seem so innocent in his eyes. I had my knees up with my arms resting lightly upon them; my feet were covered by the hem of my dress. I could feel him looking at me. I fought back the urge to look at him and instead said, “Have you ever really looked at the sunset? At the way the world around you changes as it goes down, and thereafter?”

I looked at him with a bit more serious of an expression then I intended, causing him to react with a defensive tone.

“Yes, actually I have, Miss Astraea, apparently much to your surprise.”

“I apologize for offending you Mr. Staun.

I did not intend to do so.”

We sat in silence for a minute, until I felt as if there was nothing left to do, but leave. As I started to get up, he spoke.

“To answer your question, Rae, yes, I often have pondered on the miraculous events that cause the colors of this world to change. That sunset, those trees, even these flowers and their makeup preoccupy my thoughts far more often than anyone would guess.”

He was looking at me, but upon finishing looked away

from me to the sunset. I readjusted my legs, and smiled as I joined him in his appreciative view of the evening. As we looked out at the sky, Jack knew I was different, more so than he originally guessed at. He had never experienced any woman wanting to discuss nature. He liked it about me. He glanced at me, and began to dread the evening’s end.

I was trying to determine how I was going to be able to leave without appearing so suspicious, when Jack asked, “You will join us for dinner, will you not?”

I didn’t really want to leave him,

but I knew I had to go as soon as the moon came out, which judging by the sky, would be in nigh two hours. I became aware he was awaiting a response.

“I wouldn’t want to impose.”

“You are not imposing. It is solely for my own benefit that I request your presence in the first place.”

I smiled, “Then I would love too.”

Just then Fareus approached us.

“Sir, it seems Miss Mary Roulon, and Miss Delaine Roulon

are ready to head inside to bath and change before this evening’s dinner.”

“Yes Fareus, I daresay we all are. Miss Astraea will be joining me for dinner. Please provide her with a room and whatever else she may require.”

“Very good, sir.”

As the company walked towards the entrance to the house, Jack whispered, “You are more than welcome to stay here this evening, if you feel so inclined.”

“Thank you, Jack.”

Perhaps, I thought to myself, if I were to say I would stay,

I could leave when they had all retired, with a note left behind that would not be found until the next morning.

Jack knew there was something I wasn’t saying, but then again, there was probably a lot I wasn’t saying.

All watercolor artwork from this chapter can be purchased through @scribes!

Follow me @frolickinraptors!

Join the #onehumanbasket poetry movement @robyneggs!



Rose Schreiber. Copyright 2017. Not for reproduction or republication.
All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Prologue

https://steemit.com/fiction/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-prologue

Chapter 1.1-The Angel Above Him

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-1-1

Chapter 1.2-The Angel Above Him

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-1-2

Chapter 1.3-The Angel Above Him

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-1-3

Chapter 2.1-The Bonds that Tie Us

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-2-1

Chapter 2.2-The Bonds that Tie Us

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-2-2

Chapter 2.3-The Bonds that Tie Us

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-2-3

Chapter 3.1-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-1-business-or-pleasure

Chapter 3.2-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-with-a-historical-element-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-2

Chapter 3.3-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-with-historical-elements-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-3

Chapter 3.4-Business or Pleasure

https://steemit.com/story/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-3-4

Chapter 4.1-Farenton on Parade

https://steemit.com/fantasy/@frolickinraptors/celtic-historical-fantasy-fiction-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-4-1

Chapter 4.2-Farenton on Parade

https://steemit.com/writing/@frolickinraptors/celtic-fantasy-novel-we-come-back-vol-1-chapter-4-2-farenton-on-parade


We Come Back Cover1.jpg

Sort:  

Hi friend, very good !!!!!
You would help me with a vote in my post., Thanks !!! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44