Free Form Sculptural Needle Felting

in #story8 years ago (edited)

What's on top of your Christmas Tree? A star, an angel or a fairy? What's it made of - plastic, wood, ceramic or glass? My guess, probably one of those. I wonder if any of you have a fairy or a star made of wool as your Christmas decor.

Yes, that's the trend here these days and many people have it as a hobby here. It's called "Needle Felting". It's to punch wool fibers with certain needles to make the pieces tangle and form whatever shape you want to make. It could be done with the hands and these days there are already needle felting machines that could save you the possibility of being poked by the needles they use.

The needles used in Needle felting has a sharp point and its other end looks like that of a crochet needles just with a hook at the end. Unfortunately, the ladies tending thes Needle Felted fairies were too busy to show me so I could take pics. So, I just surfed the net to show you.

They're called - Needle Felting Needles. Yes, you've read it right.

Most of the time, they use Merino wool to make these because they are soft since they are combed - making them easy to work with. At the same time, they are so snugly and I did snuggled this white fairy carefully for a very short time since I didn't really want to deform it since it looked so delicate and normally, I'd itch when I get in contact with wool.

It's not really allergy - it's that the wool has that effect since wool is made up of scales. The thicker the wool the bigger the scales. This scales rub on the skin and causes skin irritation - the itch. I do have a problem with that which I only found out this year so I ditched my woolen coat. Needle Felted dolls won't cause that because they are combed and finer.

Merino wool is often used for Needle Felted dolls and they are perfect for the damp weather we have here because it can endure damp better than cured wood and is not breakage- prone.

These Needle Felted dolls are not glued. They were just punched with those special needles used for felting. As I wrote above, wool has scales and by punching these scales by moving those needles up and down. When one does that the scales rub each other and gets tangled and helps you make the form you desire to design and let it stay in place. Too much squeezing would of course put it out of place again and that's the only disadvantage I was given about it.

All of these dolls are hand made and have no replicas. I was drawn to them because of the colors and the softness appeal. I was scared to touch it because I automatically itch with wool but with these cute little things, I could even snuggle and put them on my cheeks.

The tools used for needle felting are wool, a sponge mat(used as a surface other wise you could get poked and bleed since the needle felting needles are really sharp) and those needle felting needles above. For the wool, aside from the Merino wool, some also use Lincoln, New Zealans, Rambouillet, Romney, Drysdale, and all sorts of soft wool.

Some Needle Felters use molds which can be bought in Needle Felting stores or hobby shops. Is it easy to do? I was told it is addictive. And if a hobby like this could make you money - then who wouldn't want to get hooked with it?

Aside for the pictures I sourced, I took each of these pics with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.



Here you can find other articles I wrote about artworks and creativity.



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

We made a paper star for the top of our tree!! It's very cool!!

hahaha, self made - great!
I forgot the paper :)
I don't have a tree - we do have one outside :)
a Fir in the garden :)

That's really cool, if we did one outside the weather would destroy it in ten minutes!!

@meesterboom - yes, indeed. My neighbors put some blinking lights on theirs though just blinking lights. I think everything would be destroyed with the weather conditions we have, btw sorry for the late reply - went to bed earlier than usual last night.

You never have to apologise for a late reply to my Moi!

Yes, blooming weather, of to live in Barbados!

Barbados ? no, I want to go to Spain now!
hahahha
I miss the sea sooooo much on these days

Oh that's a great pic! I love Spain and the Spanish people and the sea!!

I have a star, but I want an angel. I need to make one (before Christmas).

@opheliafu I was supposed to put you on the intro cause I saw your article about it - last time when I was checking your hubby's page out but I wasn't able to ask first since I've been offline resting for three days so I didn't.
Good luck with the angel then :)

I really like wool! That snowman is great. I might put him at the top of my tree, lol. Enjoy the holidays!

@haphazard-hstead - it's possible - you will just have to attach a stick to it though - it's very light so if you have a big tree you can have him on top.

Yay! He needs some angel wings, too, haha. : )

I have never heard of this craft. Very interesting. I'll have to investigate further. Thanks!

@aunt-deb here I looked it up for you. I wanted to make a video of them in action but they're camera shy and very busy with the clients so am sorry I could not.

No worries. YouTube is my friend. LOL! I did a quick search last night & there are a bazillion to choose from. I'm just tickled to find a craft I hadn't heard of before. Thanks for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50