Optical Illusion from A Piece of A Metal Art

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen a metal art that gives an optical illusion? I bumped into it just last Saturday, yes, on a date with hub and to save you the suspense here's a video of it to show you what on earth I am talking about.

Yes, that's the artist on the very same video and I liked the spiral composition with the blue glass ball a lot cause when we turned it, it looked as if the ball was going up an down the spiral metal. Yes, we bought one and though I'd rather have the blue or red we compromised on getting the purple.

It is made of stainless steel so we could just hang it outside and let the wind do the trick but really I'd like to have it inside in the living room. Prefer to make it last longer. If you have seen this post then you know I already have a wind chime that the wind could also play in my garden.

However, this one is quiet and would just dance to the wind and not chime. It's something the eyes could feast and what I love about it - is that aside from the fact that the German artist gave free bon bons and candies - he wasn't selling it pretty pricey. Other arts cost too much cause of the artists name but when the artist is not so famous - the art work is a bit discounted. It's a sad thing about some art - being given not enough credit. However, those who made it big - has a secret - and perhaps every artist should find out - what that is. From what I have learned - it's all in the head.

In as much as I would like to ask him more, I don't speak German and hub does but we couldn't really ask him either cause his booth got pretty crowded pretty fast as soon as we started turning his work of arts one by one. First, it was empty - just a woman checking out the spiral thing with the glass ball and I started doing the same to all of his other stuff and that's when it draw attention. And so my introvert was unleashed and even taking videos made my cheeks turn red.

Here are his other works and though there were plenty, I prefer to show you the video instead of the pics since we can't really see the optical illusion effect on a still photo can we?

What I like about it being made of metal is that ...
  • It could last long.

  • It looks modern. I love anything timeless but anything modern is also very attractive when creatively made.

  • It's pretty easy to clean. Since these are made of stainless steel, I could just wash the dust off or dust it off with a feather duster.

  • We have a lot of metal craps recycling them into art pieces would help save mother earth.

Curious, I tried making it on paper just to see whether it would actually work, too. So here's a little experiment I did.

Here's the video and before you click on it would you please tell me whether you think the paper would have the same effect or not?

That's one and here's more. This time the artist prefers to be anonymous but like the German guy who does those metal arts up there she allowed me to take pics of her works. Yes, I always ask, we should - it's courtesy. The Germans are very kind - in my experience, they are one of the most open, helpful and warm heart people in Europe. Though we can't generalize - at least - in my experience and yes, I have been to many places in Germany, huge cities and small villages like this one and I have but good experiences with them - so far.

Anyway, this artist turns old tin spoons, tablespoons, fork and the likes to jewelries. I am not the type who wears jewelry. I don't feel the need to adorn myself with any. However, it doesn't mean I won't be able to appreciate anything recycled and turned into something nicer like these.

Would I ever wear one? No, just because I don't feel the need of adorning myself any jewelry. Anyway, those are tins coated in silver plating. What I like about it is that instead of throwing them - they turned it into jewelries. She had turned them spoons and fork into earrings, necklaces, cufflinks, brooch pins as well but I just have also managed to take those rings' pics. It got crowded again. All of her work is handmade and unique since she only uses a piece of a spoon or fork with an unusual design once.

So, I wonder which of this metal art would ever catch your attention if you ever bump into them as well?

I took each of these pics with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.



Here you can find other articles I wrote about artworks and creativity.



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Well that was cool.... thanks @englishtchrivy

@kyusho, yes, I think so, too so I had to show the world
he's awesome right? I mean that artist, If I get a chance to bump into him again, I'd make sure I get his name - crowded or not.

There is no end to human intelligence (well hopefully not), ingenuity and curiosity.

@kyusho I hope not !
we'll be needing much of that ingenuity indeed!
specially these days

What a great metal post!! I loved trust kind of optical illusions. Not quite so sold on the poster ones but that ball on the metal spiral, wow! And you bought one, totes awesome!

@meesterboom for 15 euro it's worth it :)
I love 3d you know that :P
The poster - you mean the paper? I experimented on it to check whether it would make such an optical illusion or not and you know the conclusion if you clicked on the video but let's not spoil it :D

Ah yes the paper, not the poster!!! I watched the video but that's what I mean I wasn't so impressed with that one because it just reworked around like a big bit of spiral paper!!

@meesterboom spoiler alert - hahah
I looked at it again and I think I found the answer - the trick is making it "spiral"
the paper was not and cannot (unless I treat it or use boards instead) make the same optical illusion cause it cant be made spiral :D
The artist is a freaking genius to have made his metal artworks do the trick I had to insist I should write about him and he was very kind and with a big heart he said "yes - I may" in German - I only heard "dat mach?" "Dat mag?" anyway, until hub said yes - I couldn't :D

Dat mag, Herr frau munchen!

Or something :) the artist is indeed a genius!

@meesterboom you speak German, too?

Ich bein scotland!

Lol, not in the slightest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50