"So Tired" ~ A Short Science Fiction Tale

in #story6 years ago

"Now, as always, the most automated appliance in a household is the mother."
- Beverley Jones -


So, you think you're tired?

This short Science Fiction scenario takes place in the 19th century, not long before the advent of electricity changed the way world operates. One of the greatest beneficiaries of that shift in technology is the modern homemaker.

Have you ever imagined living two hundred years ago?

Life was hard in that day, particularly for women who could not afford servants to manage their households. As our story begins, one very tired homemaker responds remarkably well to an unprecedented surprise.

tired.jpg

"Tired" ~ Painting by Mina Arndt.

~So Tired~

by Duncan Cary Palmer

The mantel clock finishes its Westminster carillon. Quarter of two, already exhausted in body and soul, I have yet to finish the ironing.

"Mary."

Am I hearing things? Baby Jayne calls me "Mama." She's napping, and Roger is working the field.

"Are you alright?"

I rise from the table and turn toward the voice, only to be taken aback by a glowing apparition on the mantel. "What manner of demon are you?"

"A descendant of yours, no demon. What's wrong?"

Ever curious, I reach out to touch the animated figure, but my hand passes through. "Are you a spirit? How stand you on my mantel?"

"You see but an image of me, from the year 2037. But why so distressed?"

No tippler, I dismiss any notion that I'm hallucinating.

"My life is naught but labor. Jayne wakes me by night. I rise before dawn to set a meal before Roger. Then unpaid char work, sweeping, mopping, tending fires, slopping, butchering, rug beating, canning, doing laundry. Surely, there is more to life! I despair to think poor Jayne must repeat this."

"Take heart, Mary. I came to tell you your children have been liberated by scientific advances. Machines now bear those burdens. Your female descendants are artists, researchers, inventors."

Truly? The band around my heart loosens.

"I developed this means to .woa.doktccc..."

No! The image is flickering. "Wait! What is your name, grandchild?"

"..ctch...a..umph.. Sarah..yra.."

I know not what may have failed, but Sarah has left a song in my heart.


~FIN~


washer.jpg

Modern labor-saving conveniences. ~ Image courtesy of pkamiini

This story also appears on my Whaleshares blog.


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For an extensive collection of stories,
please check out our Library Stories Shelf - CLICK below:


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

You really captured that woman, the sense of despair. And the statue on the mantle--serves well as the "glowing apparition".

The heck with the good old days--besides endless toil, how about diphtheria and soot-filled air? I'll take that washer and dryer any day.

Clever ending :)

Greetings, @agmoore,

Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging words! :)

So, I went poking around your blog and chained to your website, and now I am curious:

Would you be kind enough to point me to the story you've published here on Steemit that you hope to turn into a book? I would like to read it, and see whether or not I may be able to encourage you. ;)

Aren't you wonderful! I would have to give that a lot of thought. I thought of making a short story collection, but collections don't do well unless they have the name "Chekhov" attached :)
If you've been at my website, you can see I was addicted to book publishing for a couple of years.

Your suggestion is already encouraging. I will get back to you and see if there is any story complex enough to expand into a book.

Thanks again. You made my day. Right now I'm playing with Shaka's collage challenge. Just taught myself how to do GIFs and am trying to make a lively scene. You have the best day possible and always, continue to be creative!

So, I was referring particularly to this blog post of yours (link) from last November?

Does that ring any bells? It sounded like you had some particular book already in mind. ;)

So, a little more digging turned up this particular story of yours:

"The Record"


Is that the one?

Whether or not it is, it looks interesting, and I'll read it when I have some uninterrupted time. FYI, I am a Sci-Fi junkie. I love reading and thinking about the future, space travel, etc.

You're right! I forgot about that one. I had a whole scenario in mind. It comes back to me now. Thank you. Yes. That might be fun.

Thanks for bringing me back to concept--it was rich with potential. I had characters, scenes, even the end envisioned. Though, as you know, it never ends the way the we think it will :)

I will revisit that. Can work on it in the background as the daily blogs and posts proceed. I don't know how people can be bored, do you?

I love the painting you chose to illustrate this story - hard to say what came first, but I suspect the painting was the trigger incident for the tale. You really need to write these more often, my friend - it's close to your heart.

Thanks very much, John. I really appreciate the encouragement. :)

The painting was actually the prompt that generated my fanciful story. ;)

Thank you very kindly! :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84