Doubt & Faith - 5 Minute Freewrite (Day 60)

in #story7 years ago


Doubt and Faith stood at the gates, peering into the deep. A pair of twins, looking for truth, at the doorway of decision.

Doubt thought of before. The shame of being wrong. The pain of misplaced trust. The failure following the efforts. One could never know what was in another's heart.

What was through the gate? It was better to hold, to stay still rather than fall. To watch before each step. Lessons learned from past mistakes.

Faith thought of before. The pride in finding a way. The pleasure of connections. The hard-earned feeling of success. Finding beauty in another's compassion, a heart born from two.

What was through the gate? Better to move forward, with wonder and hope. To enjoy each step. Finding a radiance in the new.

Faith needed Doubt to keep free of the traps. Doubt would drown in skepticism without Faith.

Alone, they would falter.

Together, they were courage.


My Recent Freewrites

Images linked to post

Forbidden
Three Grapes
Pelicans in a Pink Car

Image via pixabay
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt -Twins by @mariannewest.

The #freewrite group is a fantastic community of writers! Click the link to join in!

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

WOW!!!!!!!! I can not believe you came up with that in 5 minutes!! Bravo! and Thank :D

and NOW I'm happy and can hopefully get some sleep. Hope your okay at work!

Thank you @snook! Sometimes, I can come up with a lot in 5 minutes. Others, I write 2 sentences. Yesterday's 'red scarf' prompt was a day like that. I wrote a couple of sentences about a red scarf on a playground, blowing in the breeze...and then I must have just stared at my screen, drooling....
Even right now, I have a headache, but I have more than that in my mind.
(It's a good thing that Marianne said we could clean up the spelling when posting these. The more I write, the worse my spelling/punctuation is.
(Plus, my cats like to jump from the fishtank to the back of my chair and crawl all over me when I'm at my desk. So many of my freewrites have:
"Better to move forwarekldaklfjklasdfm;asd904'azld,")
I hope that you were able to get some good, quality sleep. Work was okay, thank you. As soon as I came home, I took to the couch to cuddle my youngest daughter. (That helped my headache a bit. Snuggles are good for that! 😁)

HA! well, I got 4 ? 3.5 hours of sleep and then my Mom called and she was trying to set up her new phone on her own................and I got a headache .............

and no sleep! hahahahaha so now I'm so tired I think just about everything is funny....and I think i'm a funny person sometimes but NOT this funny 😁

Hopefully, we both get some good rest tonight!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brisby to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Holy cow @brisby this is fantastic! I’m following and hope to see you in the #fiction-fjord at Isle of Write sometime 😃

I'm happy that you enjoyed my freewrite! Thank you for the compliment and for the follow! I look forward to chatting with you in the #fiction-fjord as well! Have a great night/day and try not to work too hard. 😁

wow!! And I am with you. Some days - it flows and others not so much. But the dangerous writing app tip is good. it makes you write something....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-61-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-my-shoe-got-stuck-in-the-mud

Thanks Marianne! I've used the app before and have had things deleted, as well as have typed my "to do" list. For laughs, I'll post that the next time it happens. 😂

:) I make way more mistakes when I use it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52