Wiser!

in #story-300words7 years ago (edited)


It was difficult to tell what started the argument between Raju and Ramesh, but the cheering spectators, mostly drunkards, were as much a part of it now as the two.

Whose son, the argument went, was more foolish?

“Mine!” Raju said.
“Mine!” Ramesh countered.

But the youngsters, playing just at ears-length, remained unbothered, until at the behest of the argument, somebody suggested a way forward: Call the sons and we prove.

Ramesh started. “Rancho!” He called his son. The boy came.
“Go and buy a kilo of sugar from the shop!”

And the boy at once dashed.
Ramesh was vindicated. “You see how foolish? He has not even asked for money.”

But Raju, interrupting him, chuckled. “Is that what you call foolishness? Wait and see mine.”

“Patel!” He called.
And Patel came sprinting, “Papa!”

“Run home and see whether I am there!”
The boy, first hesitating, finally made up his mind and dashed.
After a while, he returned. “Papa, you are not there!”

Whose son had proved more foolish, Raju’s or Ramesh’s?
The crowd, recovering from laughter, relapsed into fresh, even more intense argument.

It was only interrupted by an impatient voice: the shopkeeper's.
“Ramesh pay up the debt, I am going to the market for more stock!”

Little Rancho, speaking next, clarified the matter. “Papa, I took the bag of sugar home! I told him you had sent me.”
Now the crowd was hushed.

But just then as it was coming back to life, a hospital van arrived. A doctor and two aides, quickly disembarking, swiftly moved to restrain, dose and bundle Raju into the van.

They were taking him to the mental health facility. His son, they explained, had reported that he was showing signs of mental disorder.

Patel quickly testified. “He doesn’t know where he is!”

Laughcover.png

line.png

299 words of laughs and learns!

Check out four of the stories i have already published since the story-300words challenge started:

  1. Unsaid
  2. Why was the word made Flesh?
  3. Unforgiven
  4. Judgement Day
Sort:  

You know, all my previous four [4] stories, namely

  1. https://steemit.com/story-300words/@ebitularmbert/unsaid
  2. https://steemit.com/story-300words/@ebitularmbert/a-short-story-why-was-the-word-made-flesh
  3. https://steemit.com/story-300words/@ebitularmbert/unforgiven
  4. https://steemit.com/story-300words/@ebitularmbert/a-short-story-judgement-day

All of them, have explored either of the subjects of Faith, Love and Hope.

And for all of them, you guys have given me an unbelievable response, following me, reading, sharing your thoughts, making improvements....Aaarg. Everything i could have hoped for.

I have been much honored.

So this day i thought i needed to get you all something to crack your ribs. I am honored to know you think i have managed to do so.

Much honored, again.

Oh boy this was great!! xD xD Had a good laugh!!

At first I thought they would be arguing about whose son is better, but when I found out they're arguing about whose son is more stupid I lost control!!! xD Amazing thinking!!

Hahahahahah. I am a student of the unorthodox. There is is so much about arts and literary works already accomplished, @simplifylife, artists and writers must always find new and creative ways to paint, write, to entertain. I take this such requirement as the baseline in my works.

I am glad you found it great. My sincere gratitude.

Hahahahahahahahaha 😂😂😂😂😂

You have not just got me raking my ribs, you have got me....every state of laughter. Thanks.

Patel is the true champion. It had seemed at first, when he actually dashed off, that he was the most foolish [How can you run to look for someone you are seeing? That would have been, in @nexrules words, stupidity personified!].

But then again, you played with our minds @ebitularmbert, giving that impression first, you know, getting us to weigh between Rancho and Patel, who is more foolish, and then..yes, and then .....finally throwing the bombshell!!

Papa, I took the bag of sugar home! I told him you had sent me.” [instead of one kilo]

and then Patel's punchline

“He doesn’t know where he is!”

Rib cracking... The boys both proved their parents were the foolish ones

You certainly read, and grasped the laughs!!!

Deeply gratified. Thanks

#funny
but people will find it funny when they are entertained

#funny
many people think all should not be funny, sometimes we think people fighting can also make us laugh

I'm guessing that Raju brought up his son to always lie about his whereabouts, as that is the present norm in the society. Parents always instructing their children to say mum or dad isn't at home. But I can't believe that he actually did go inside to check for his father 😂😂😂.

Raju's son was Stupidity personified.
This makes for good laughter. Keep it up.

Hahahah...actually that is a correct observation [... But I can't believe that he actually did go inside to check for his father], but not explanation!!! Hahaha/.. read again @nexrules!!! Read again!!!! hahah. Actually now this is the challenge! I need to indulge you and all to see who can interpret and make out the true meaning of the story. I am excited. Very.

Until somebody correctly, and entirely interprets it, i will be gradually giving clues.
Here is the first one.

[1.].....playing just at ears-length

This is meant to reveal that the two sons can actually hear their parent's foolish argument regarding them. Could it be that this sets the tone for their actions later on?

OK, I'm gonna pay deeper attention to the article now 😂😂😂and yeah, I think I've found it.
The sons are too wise, Patel should be the wisest, considering he reported that he's father was actually running mad to have sent him on such. But I'm thinking it might be Rancho's son, for actually getting the sugar from the shop keeper on credit. He must have put up a good word to convince the keeper.

Hahahahah.......here you have arrived. I am very happy @nexrules. I am personally unsure who between the two sons is wiser, all of them [considering the respective errands to which their parents sent them], seem to have thought out and acted in the best way possible.

Patel's feat though, is what still keeps me laughing. That cracker:-

He doesn’t know where he is!

Hhahahah

@ebitularmbert i am still laughing. It was bad enough that two grown up men should insult their children by weighing/judging in terms of 'foolishness'. That twist to prove that they instead were the foolish ones is pure creativity. I admire you. I am still laughing out loud

I am glad i can say thank you to you guys for being faithful to me, always reading my work, always thoughtfully sharing your own thoughts, always encouraging, always correcting...always here. I specially crafted this to give you all some laughs. I am honored, happy you find it that interesting @okusarobert

Funny... 😁😁

Honored to know you found it

funny

Thanks

Lol wow, this is so interesting, before I got to the end I concluded Patel was more foolish, the twist was just superb, lol...nice one man keep it up

Hahahah you are right @ofishea. i deliberately brought that twist. It was ironical enough that two grown up men should argue about who between sons was more foolish. So i made that twist deliberately. I am glad you could identify that/ Thanks for reading and sharing your observations

Lol, really ironical, you're most welcome, cheers

A nice and funny story that can be told to children. Well written and very enjoyable. The moral: dont treat your son as stupid. It might backfire on you.

Humbled, as always by your compliments. And thanks for the faithful effort to read and share your thoughts on each and every person's work here submitted under the story-300words challenge..

Some other person in your position would easily fall to the temptation to mindlessly upvote and just get done with...i mean, all these stories and themes and quality and ...under other circumstances, reading them would understandably take weeks! But here you are still managing .....It is not an easy thing to do.

It takes passion.

You are much owed @swisslive

Well I must admit, I am starting to get upset by the number of people who don’t have the imagination to think of a proper story. Worse there are some who are recounting what they heard in the church lesson

Why not if it could earn a @swissclive 100% upvote?

Hahahahaha..... That is your price for benevolence!!LoL

But just know your initiative here, has been the breakthrough for some of us.

We found audience, and moreover, earned.

I can't be grateful enough. Many out there, i am sure share the same sentiment.

Well, the church lessons are probably because a lot of people are trying to copy or imitate what you put as the first example : the story of Jesus and Pontius Pilate. That's something that really frustrates me....people not going out of the set examples or thinking out of the box. This story however was a breath of fresh air!! I was thinking it would be the dads arguing about whose son is better lol!!

I was thinking it would be the dads arguing about whose son is better lol!!

That is always what is expected i agree. Thanks for the observation @simplifylife, but i chose, again, as you observe, to toe an unorthodox line.

Not an easy thing, especially in keeping up with the requirement to bring out a good moral-[The moral: dont treat your son as stupid. It might backfire on you.] as @swissclive so aptly captures. But i am glad you guys all think i succeeded.

I am humbled by your insightful commentary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89