Friday Ramble Through Steemit -- Notes on My Favourite Reads Sept 9th

in #steemsquad8 years ago (edited)


Well, my four-legged alarm clock was very prompt this morning. At one minute before 5am I had a paw tapping at my forehead. She was laying along the top of my pillow so this really didn’t take any effort. The moment I moved, the tomcat was at my side backing up his queen. I surrender, I’ll get up. 

It is good they woke me as I have a lot I want to do today. All my sites needed to be loaded and a check made for any updates needed as well as security scans ran to make sure there hasn’t been any hacking going on. 

Then I could move on to starting today’s ramble before I get some breakfast. I gave the Facebook groups I’m in some attention this morning, opening 21 posts to start reading on. 


The War on Open Science: Scientific Journals and the Research Racket

@thecryptofiend writes an interesting post here about the amount of publicly funded (in the US) research which is then locked away behind paywalls which benefit private publishers. I doubt the situation is much different here in Canada, although we just came through a decade of a government doing its best to avoid any scientific research. 

When the cost of obtaining this publicly funded research data becomes so great that well-heeled institutions like Harvard are unable to afford to subscribe, it does beg the question, how much vital research is inaccessible and unable to benefit those it could? 


Living with Regret: Thoughts I Should Have Spoken

@ats-david has written a beautiful piece about two of the most important people in his world and how he regrets not having said what he wanted to say before they died. I think it is a rare person who hasn’t had someone in their life they wished they had said something to and kept putting it off or didn’t say what was on their mind because of uncertainty if they should or just didn’t believe they wouldn’t be there when we were ready to say what needed to be said. 


The Devil's Weed Taught Me How To Grow The Devil's Fruit

@lily-da-vine has written a bit of an interesting piece here in that the growing of tomatoes and how to nurture them is shown in parrallel with the growing and nurturing of pot. The two plants share a lot of commonalities apparently. 


Steemit is Truly AWESOME! 10 Reasons why Activists & Writers need to join Steemit. Full Steem Ahead!

@carlitashaw writes about the experience on Steemit and ten reasons why it is a good place for writers and activists. Especially people who are both. The points made in the article apply to just about anyone on Steemit and is a very good piece for anyone thinking about trying the site out to read and think about. 


Are too many people going to college? A look at IQ distributions tells us why this is the case

@chhaylin writes an interesting post about the volume of people attending college. He questions if, in order to accommodate the larger range of those attending, courses are not up to the standards they should be in my courses. He’s got a point that we’re a society that trumpets that a child can do whatever he or she wants to do when the fact is that some children don’t have the capacity to chase higher learning.

@chhaylin doesn’t address this but in many ways, that is a blessing, there are many skilled trades which don’t demand higher learning, but do demand willingness to learn and to practice the trade. Tradespeople are needed and often are not given the respect they deserve. Not everyone can or should be a doctor, lawyer, engineer. 


How I met our Steemit

@quietcaulfield writes an nice introductory piece about how she discovered Steemit through being asked to translate a post by another Steemian. After finishing the translation she visited Steemit and well, the rest is history but I’ll let her tell her own story. 

First Round of Reading Done

I’ve gone through the first round of open posts. Edge tells me I have about 40 more open. Some of the posts I look at, I read all the way through and upvote, some I get part way through and bail and others, well they get my attention and I write about them. 

I have to admit, there has been a couple today that I liked but decided to pass on commenting even though I really liked them. There was a reason, they were authors I’ve commented as favourites and I don’t want to keep returning to the same authors. I’d like to highlight other less known and deserving writers. 

Anyways, On to More Rambling


Page Managers, more Facebook restrictions are upon us - And I Don't LIKE them!

@bkkshadow has posted about some of his experiences trying to upload pictures and video to his Facebook. From his experiences, it appears Facebook is becoming restrictive on what you can share. 


Hello Steemit, I'm Chris. Thinker of random thoughts, and writer of ridiculous things.

@christyler has written an introductory post with a bit of a different twist at the beginning. I liked it and what the heck, most introductions could use a bit of help. 


RobinHoodWhale Success Story : @ziogio

Among the initiatives that have developed to try give a hand up to smaller members of the community who are just getting started is the Robin Hood Whale initiative. When they find a deserving Steemian to give a hand up to they upvote collectively to improve the poster’s earnings. This post is about one of those success stories. You can link through to @ziogio’s to read what he posted and got the hand up on. 


Why You Should Expand Your Perspective

@sauravrungta talks about the all too human tendency to hold onto their own perspective on a matter and not consider other perspectives. That narrow view of the world is not good for anyone least of all the person holding it. Well developed discussion on expanding perspective 


[my proper #introduceyourself] Hello, I'm @RoelandP

I have mostly noticed @roelandp’s Steem tools that he has built. Came across a few of his posts and between the posts and the tools, thought he might be an interesting person. His re-introduction post sure was comprehensive and interesting. 



I am Promoting STEEMIT on the shores of one the most visited beaches of the world (Las Canteras Beach) THE CANARY ISLANDS.

@elportugal has a post here about how he’s promoting Steemit on one of the most visited beaches of the world in the Canary Islands. This post is not so much about what he writes as the cool pictures of just how he’s promoting Steemit. VERY Creative. 


The Art of Quilling - Steemit Coffee Cup

@anca3drandom is into the craft of quilling and has posted pictures and explanations from her project where she quilled the Steemit Coffee Cup… I love creative people who do neat things. 


Today’s Wrapup of Day 7

Okay, it’s been a bit of an off day. I read well over 50 posts. There seemed to be a lot of them just didn’t catch my attention. But, I found some favourites and that is what matters because that is all part of the ramble, the good, the bad and the great. 

Some Notes on Tomorrow - Day 8

I wont be able to do as many reads tomorrow as I have some Legion duty to see to. I am the local Branch President. Early tomorrow morning I need to attend the branch to welcome members of the Ladies Auxiliary from several branches to their Zone Euchre Tourney. Our Ladies Auxiliary won the tourney last year, so they host this year. Euchre is a card game. 

I’ll get to come home for a bit and then I have to go back in the afternoon. First, I’ll be meeting with a member from another branch who is going to provide some guidance on a new gaming system we’re going to establish in the new year. 

Then we’re going to be gathering to say a temporary goodbye to my 1st Vice-President. He’s a serving member of the military and has been posted to another location. His family is remaining here in the area and he is expecting to return to the area when his posting is finished. So, it will more a so long for now. 

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post. 

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile 

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, just sign up here

Sort:  

Thank you for including me!

thx for sharing~ nice of you to give others more advertisement for their good content!

just sharing what I think is good work. :) thank you

Thanks for putting this together:)

I enjoy doing it... nothing like having a bit of fun :)

Thanks for including me in your list, I appreciate it. You've got a good mix of articles there, I'm checking a few of them out now.

thank you for your kind words... hope you found some more people to follow and support at those articles.

Hi @shadowspub, thank you for putting me on your 'most favorite reads' list. I find it very encouraging to read that someone has enjoyed my writings. :D

you are among a lot of good writers on here. Glad to let you know that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26