What I Bought with My Steemit Earnings

in #steemph6 years ago (edited)

The Power of Steem

Steemit.jpg

I've seen lots of inspiring posts about what people were able to afford from their earnings in Steemit. The platform really is changing lives for the better. Here are some posts about what their Steemit activities afforded them.

PostPhoto
My First Steemit Payout.Thank you for paying my debt ! by @ana-stepU5dtRJ739PWiAfiAh8pK3ghLbahgqPQ_1680x8400.jpg
Smart Buying from My Steemit Payout by @antonetteDQmcMYLBzb57HCSKBMaErsCc4J5uXQaKbY8qgBwpR2gVtPy.jpg
Thank You So Much Steemit!!! New Toy 😊 by @gingenetworkU5drWrWsgGCtBY2vCVr96E89dri8SPf_1680x8400.png
I bought a two-wheeler from steemit earnings : Day 1 by @bunnypuniaDQmaEot7QuU7NrKtoLxk92gSXufjR2FRFAGnSjYEUP7LeZj.jpg
My First Payout here on Steemit... by @phantum04DQmeTQ9t2QmiYABjjMAs6b1xrnYGWF9NkJDpR4QiJ8NV1a6_1680x8400.jpg
Steemit Payout Challenge to Buy A House and Lot by @antonetteDQmNzLmARdahcXpxoEYaJqya8XhGudcd4z7iN7GEiZ7WhPa.jpg

I also wanted to share my experience and what my earnings from the platform afforded me to-date. I joined Steemit towards the end of July last year. That was at the time when Steem was ranging between $1 to $2.

I started to feel frustrated for not being able to add value to posts I really liked, and decided to move a little amount from my BTC investment to power up and be able to give at least $0.1, and get the slider feature to increase my reach within the community. I powered up from my own pocket about three times summing up to a value of $1,500.

I got addicted to powering up since. I've done trading the Steem-SBD pair using the Internal Currency Market from my liquid SBD rewards trying to increase the value of my SBDs by about 15% each batch, then powered it all up.

What Did I Buy From My Earnings?

  • 2,200++ Steem Power now valued roughly at $9,200 (465,000 PHP) - bringing my Steem Power holding to 3,700++
  • A separate trading account now worth $2,000 (100,000 PHP). That I intend to grow and put back to Steemit as Steem Power in 3 months.

Yes! Even now when the market is crashing

Why Am I Doing These?

I believe in the future of the platform, and we are still in Steemit's infancy. Yes there are hiccups, and yes it isn't perfect, but which platform is perfect? which project does not have hiccups?

I have always thought of powering up as gassing up. It was a way for me to further my reach within the community by being able to support more authors. Yes, I upvote myself, but I don't think anyone can say I am over-doing it. Majority of my upvotes are still distributed to many authors; family, friends, supporters, veterans, and newbies. Without gassing up / powering up, I would have been limited to supporting a small number of authors, or distributed my upvotes in the same way with a lower value.

I am not a very technical guy so I will not be able to support my belief from a technical perspective. I would instead tell you about what I really like in the general idea of rewards distribution of Steem the currency. Today, Steem is distributed this way:

  • 75% go to the reward pool.
  • 15% of the new tokens are awarded to holders of STEEM Power.
  • The remaining 10% pays for the witnesses to power the blockchain.

We know that the 75% that goes to the reward pool is further divided to a ratio of 25% towards curators and 75% towards the authors. By holding Steem Power, one is able to benefit a sum of 34% of the distribution. This is dependent of course on the volume of Steem Power one holds, and the actual practice of curation.

There is no source of information that gives the Steem Power interest rate today. This is largely dependent upon the the amount of Steem locked up as Steem Power, and the inflation rate which is meant to continue going down by 0.5% every year. This article from @preparedwombat discussed the calculation that puts the interest rate (compounded) near 1.9%. So it is not all for giving back, I would have lied by saying so. With this much Steem Power, I am making nearly 10 Steem per week on curation and interest combined. That is valued at $40 (2000 PHP). When/if the market recovers to put Steem near $6, I will be making the equivalent of minimum salary in the Philippines on curation and interest of my Steem Power holding.

As part of the batch one of Sndbox cohorts, we are encouraged to have a personal power up goal. I want to document my goal in this post: 6000 SP by the end of June.

sndbox.gif

steemitph.png

Sort:  

It's pretty amazing to buy tangible things with such an odd thing as crypto earnings isn't it? Congrats on your supplemental income!

Yep. We live in a very exciting time. A friend is planning to buy a house from crypto earnings. Thank you for your support.

Yes o. Have also bought things with my steemit payout even pay part of debt from the money i use in doing mmm (ponzi scheme). Thanks to steemit.

Youve gone through a lot of powering up, thanks for all your advise.. Im still a minnow now but im sure i can be like you in the future.

I am still a minnow Mike. Like you though have no plans to stay a minnow. I suggest you continue powering up yourself. Time will come when people will pay lots just to get SP.

I agree boss, thats what I will do.. Powering up is the key.... Ill follow your advice always...

Nice :) im for me its deffinently going to be bills when i make my first withdraw, whenever thats going to be.
Could be very cool when you will be able to gain the minimal wage, that is some goal to achieve!
Best of luck

I am sure at some point I am going to have to take out money from here to pay for something. Hopefully another form of investment. For now I am powering up. Thanks for stopping by. Steem on!

6k SP by the end of june is a fine goal. Mine is 1k less, I need 5k SP before june. Steemit is really helping many persons, especially those in third world countries.

Thanks buddy! Your goal is actually more aggressive. At current value of Steem, between my existing SP and the trading account coming from Steemit rewards I only need to 1800 more. Best of luck!

You got yourself the best gift of all, that is smart. Keep powering up and making more steem. I am just 47 days old, I want to be like you.

WOw. nice to see lives that really changed here in steemit. I forgot to post but I will soon. My very first payout paid some debts and so the second but the rest I gave it to our adopted tribal community here in Davao City Philippines.

Kuya @dante01, we will be in Davao this summer. If you are free we can meet up and talk about your current and future projects.

I'll be glad to accompany you guys heheheehe. thanks for having a thought of having me on board :)

God bless!!

Reading this is what people need to get inspired. This is what happens when you use steemit with discipline, intelligence, respect and passion. This is the real world affected by this project.

Your real world, getting better. By Steemit.

Yep! Really pleased about how this platform is changing lives for the better. I feel that reinvesting at least some of ones earnings by powering up is important in the long run.

Great @steemitph. Congratulation on your achievements. Great going and thanks flr sharing what you did to reach this stage. It help newbies like is to learns new secrets.

There is nothing special about what I am doing really. I know you can do the same. Just Steem on brother!

Sure I will. Thanks.

Congrats sir :)

You’re living my dream, I still have no idea what powering up and all those technical things you said...but earning and buying got my attention...Weldone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67