Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! Week 22

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Steem Monsters Common Card- The Grumpy Dwarf


pizap.com15416997206571.jpg



This is my entry for the Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 22 // 10 Booster Pack Prize!, hosted by @steemmonsters.



The Unbeatable Eltraeck Brightrock by @simgirl

I hear that you’ve been looking for a brave and experienced fighter. It’s nice to meet you, Eltraeck Brightrock at your service! I know what you are thinking, I’m just a handsome dwarf, but I am so much more than a pretty face. You may have even heard stories about me around the tavern. I’m kind of a big deal. But I tell you, to understand how I came to be so fabled, I’d have to take you back to the beginning when I was but a young lad.

My parents were gypsies traveling from town to town. They created their own tonics and potions and made a pretty penny selling them to the settlers of each pillar. In my youth I was given the task of picking and smashing herbs. But, in every town I managed to return to the caravan with fresh wounds more often than fresh flowers.

I liked to fight and soon, my name proceeded my family. The other lads would look away before starting a fight with me and I earned the reputation of being a brute. I grew stronger as I aged, and I fancied the axe and shield above all other weapons. At the age of maturity, I left the caravan to seek a life of battle and the arena became my home. I practiced my axe skills day and night against many talented and experienced fighters.

Like in my youth, my name was sung with high regard and soon Malric Inferno was asking me to join his ranks in battle. Through many skirmishes I exhibited my superior might. I increased my skills as I fought each ranked battle. I came to understand the amount of coins I was making for Malric and began offering my services to the highest bidder. Summoners from all the splinters sought my skills and I fought for them each bravely.

Before long however, my supremacy exceeded those summoners’ powers and I was forced to reduce my efforts in battle. At first, I didn’t mind because of course I was being paid well for my services and at least I was able to fight. But, as time went on the thought of never reaching my full potential in battle haunted my thoughts and dampened my spirit.

Wallowing in self-pity, I packed my things and headed out on my own adventure. I traveled from splinter to splinter through all kinds of weather, searching for a summoner who was commanding enough to summon me to battle with my true level of expertise. Each town I found nothing but disappointment. It wasn’t until I reached the outskirts of the green splinter that I discovered a glimmer of hope.



Amongst the tall trees of the forest I came upon a pub that was clearly hidden away from the road. I was thirsty for a brew and thought I might as well fill up my tank before heading back to the arena empty handed. What I found inside the pub was not brew but a gathering of joyful summoners, who were more than happy to tell me stories of a summoner whose powers I sought.

“His name is Xandar Foxwood.” One summoner said when I asked. “Believed to be the most powerful summoner of all. They say his powers are unsurpassed.”

“I’ve heard stories about Xander, but to be honest I don’t believe them. No one has ever actually seen the summoner before.” Another summoner added.

“That’s because you’d have to be more powerful to face him in battle.” The first summoner replied.

“How do I find him?” I asked.

They both looked at each other and smiled before sipping on their lemony drinks.

“There’s a path behind the pub that leads into the forest. At the end of the path is a grand, blooming tree. Xander Foxwood resides in that tree.”

“But you’d have to be a powerful fighter to get to him. There are countless dangers lurking in the forest. Many fighters don’t get very far before they retreat.”



I swallowed the last of my sour drink and then headed back out seeking this Xandar Foxwood. The narrow path through the forest was covered in tracks. There seemed to be many a fighter who walked this road, but I was alone in my mission and spied none of them around this day. The first beast I encountered was a small, grey coyote. It sprung at me from behind a bush and caught me off guard. I quickly swatted it away. It squealed loudly and then ran back from where it came.

The forest was thick with trees and became even more dense as I ventured further. I looked left and right for any signs of danger, but my threat came from above. Without any notice, a cocatrice swooped down and bonked me on the head. I tried my best to hit the beast, but I missed it repeatedly. It continued to tease me with its screeches, but after a few attempts I was able to knock it from the sky.

More beasts greeted me as I traveled further down the path, each beast more powerful than the one before. After a while, the path was barely visible by the tracks and seemed to end. I wondered if I had defeated the last beast, but then I spotted a bramble of thorns blocking the path. I used my axe to cut through and make the path visible again. I could finally see the grand, blooming tree the summoners told me about at the pub earlier that day.

The last of the beasts I had fought was a forest spider whose venom continued to harm me. I looked in my travel bag and grabbed my last health potion. I hoped that spider was my final enemy and that this concoction could take away the sting of my previous battle. With Xandar’s tree in my sight I rested a moment and closed my eyes.

I was almost off to slumber when I heard what sounded like footsteps. The ground beneath me shook and I opened my eyes to see what new beast awaited me now. In the distance I could see what looked like a giant walking toward me. The giant got closer with each pounding step. I gathered my courage and stood in battle stance waiting.

Once the giant arrived, he looked down at me and spoke, “Do you wish to fight for Xandar Foxwood?”

“Yes. I am Eltraeck Brightrock.” I said as confidently as I could.

“I challenge you to a duel. If you can defeat me, you will prove your worthiness. Prepare now for the final battle.”



With a quickness I lifted my sharpened axe and proceeded to swing at the giant. With only one strike the giant cried out in agony. I waited for his retaliation, but he never moved. Again, and again I used my brutal weapon to strike the giant and blow after blow the giant remained peaceful and unbreakable. This was the strongest enemy I had ever came across and I was perplexed by his resolve.

It occurred to me that I was going to need to use my reserve powers that I couldn’t use during my previous battles. The fact that these powers were unknown to me excited my dwarf heart and I wondered to myself what commanding attacks I was now capable of administering. I reached deep within my dwarf soul and brought forth my most forceful abilities.

Standing strong I lifted my axe, which was now glowing from the friction of fighting, and raised it above my head. With a steady hand I used my shield as momentum and began to swiftly attack. I began to spin violently and soon I couldn’t control my movements. Around and around I spun while inching closer to the giant. My strength and swiftness exceled to a speed I’d never known and the repeated impact upon the giant was boundless.

The giant cried out in agony and then fell to his knees. “I am defeated.” He said and then bowed his head in respect.

I stood amazed by my own abilities and fell to the ground, trying to catch my breath. It was only after the final blow that I understood the impact the fight had upon my body. I needed rest, and I could feel the life draining from my spirit.

“Take heart young fighter. You have proven yourself worthy.” Xandar said and then cast a spell of renewal.

I could gradually feel my health and energy returning. I looked up to see the most authoritative summoner who I had fought so hard to impress. He hovered over me, not as the impressive beast master I had envisioned, but as a tiny elf dressed in foliage and adorned with sticks and branches. His small wings fluttered as he inspected me from top to bottom.

“You’re not at all what I expected.” I said, standing to my feet, now fully healed and a little dazed by the situation.

“I never know what to expect deep in this forest.” Xandar said, “But you are the very first fighter to defeat the Peaceful Giant. I’ve been waiting a long time to find a fighter like you. I’m sorry for the difficult entry, but I needed to be sure any fighter seeking my summoning powers could display exceptional fighting skills. You Eltraeck Brightrock are worthy of my blessings.”



From that day on I was known as one of the most influential and experienced of fighters. Xandar summoned me and others who eventually passed his giant test, to face our opponents in battle. Now I spend most of my time in the arena placing in tournaments for fame and fortune. With Xandar Foxwood as my summoner and only the bravest brawlers by my side, I stand strong and proud in the victor’s pit.

There has not been another summoner who surpasses Xandar’s skills, but we have met some forceful challengers along the way. And though there is no end to the battles, I can see myself one day in my golden years lounging in the grand stands with a frothy brew, cheering on my favorite contenders.

So now you know the truth about why I can not be defeated. I am not made of iron, or immortal, although the exaggerated tales in the tavern make me out to be one of the gods. I am a simple dwarf who fought his way to the top, no more, no less. And without a mighty summoner like Xandar Foxwood I would not be the great fighter I am today.

The moral of this story is to stay strong, face your adversaries and never stop looking until you find what you need to reach your full potential of greatness. The view at the top is worth the walk up the mountain, or in my case the battle through the forest.

The End

Thanks for reading!!!


More posts by @simgirl
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! Week 3/ Karockas the Bold- by @simgirl
Feral Spirit- Steem Monsters Story Contest Week Four
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 5
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 6
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 7
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 8
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 9
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 11
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 12
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 14
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 15
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 19


wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

steemmonster oak and dwarf .jpg

handdrawn by my wife ;)

Cool! Your wife has some skills.

sure she have :) smile...

11953402_548279991991292_3177736548431316595_o.jpg
12002382_548280045324620_8637424512356530679_o.jpg11935560_548280048657953_2688775562770379877_n.jpg11988360_548280085324616_6434692576812232046_n.jpg

This post has received a 62.50% upvote from @kennybrown!



Want more views to reach your posts? Try BlockGators Army Advertising Network

If you like what I do please consider delegating 100+ steempower to @kennybrown. If you would like to join you can also send 2 Steem to @kennybrown for a 30-day subscription. All revenue will be used to increase the steempower on a monthly basis.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @simgirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great story! This was perfect!

Very good story. Congratulations on obtaining second place. I don't think I've seen you in the Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit Discord group. You'd be a great addition. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61195.23
ETH 2975.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47