Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 19

in #steemmonsters5 years ago (edited)

Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! The Silvershield Warrior


pizap.com15398913629621.jpg



This is my entry for the Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 19// 10 Booster Pack Prize!, hosted by @steemmonsters.



Healing Survillas by @simgirl

I was born with warrior in my blood and known as a hero to the Khymians at a young age. During an invasion of our town a thief came upon our tiny home and threaten my mother with a knife. Being the son of a warrior, I picked up my father’s sword with both hands and sliced the thief’s head from his neck. At first, my mother gasped at my actions but then she smiled and said, “The Goddess of Light Khymia has chosen you to fight. Like your father, you will wear the crest of the Silver Shield.”

I didn’t know what that meant at the age of ten, but I soon came to find my own sword as an extension of my body. After years of training I emerged from the Victor’s Colosseum a true warrior and as my mother had told me, I wore the crest of the Silver Shield.

I barely remember those days now. They are a faint memory, like the beginning of an epic novel I once started and never looked back at again. My story consisted of difficult quests and defensive missions. I was often called with the troops to foreign lands to defend the White Splinter and was rarely at any place I would call home. I saw different faces every day and each week a new shoreline.

To my delight I was paid handsomely for my service to the Order of the Silver Shield and I could always afford the finer things. Still I missed having the home I had as a child. I didn’t have a place to wake each morning, or to store away my treasures, like the sacred Havian Headdress of the Heartened Mother I was awarded my last quest.

The artifact could have made a wonderful heirloom had I known a wife or bore a child. But, I needed a home for that. So, instead I sold the trinket for a pot of gold that I saved in my coin exchange along with all the other bounties I'd collected. My growing age had slowed my strength and I sought rest and a future in my home town.



The day came when I was given the orders to return to the White Splinter. My assigned troop was called to defend the main city against invasion and I once again got to see the sparkling mountains of my childhood. It had been so long since I had seen the place that my heart jumped with joy at the sight. I remembered this land as a peaceful place and for a moment it brought me the calmness I needed.

It was only after I visited my mother’s life inscription that I felt the loss of the land and my saddest memory there. We were not immortal, and her remembrance plaque placed beside my father’s reminded me of how little time I had left to fight. I missed my mother, and what I remembered of my father, and I wondered then how my story would end.

We were granted leave for the festival of lights and for a short time given permission to lay down our arms for some music and food. This was exactly what I needed, and to my admission my friends and I were partaking in a little more mead than we should have that night.

While dancing among the lights I stumbled upon a beautiful young lady. “My kindest apologies.” I said with laughter before my drunken eyes finally found hers.

She smiled and then helped me steady my stance. “It is quite alright Sir, but I’m afraid you may need to sit this dance out. Let me find a nice tonic. I’ll help you find a seat.”

She had the lightest blonde hair and the palest blue eyes I’d ever seen, and I was instantly taken back by her grace and kindness. It was something I encountered few times in my life.

She guided me to a wooden table and sat me on the bench. I couldn’t take my eyes away from hers as she apologized to those around us for my altered state. I tried my best to seem sober, but my acting skills were lacking, and this amused her greatly.

“Are you going to be alright while I fetch you a tonic?” She asked with the voice of an angel.

All I could do was nod my head in agreement and smile back. She walked away and disappeared into the crowd.



Unfortunately, that is all I remember of the night. I woke up the next day in the Victor’s Colosseum to the sound of the battle horn. I instinctively shook off the encumbering pain in my head and gathered my armor. We were sent to the front lines of the battle where we encountered the forces of the Blue Splinter. As instructed we garnered extra protective gear and readied our minds for the looming attack.

We fought hard on the battlefield that day and barely escaped with our lives. The powerful spells of the blue army gave us a run for our money and we all felt the sting of the invasion. I myself was gravely injured and was laid to waste in the hospital bed of the angels. For days they gave me concerned looks but would not tell me of my fortune.

While waiting for my fate to be revealed I drifted off to slumber and could feel the sharp pain in my right arm begin to fade for a moment. In my dreams I traveled back to the festival of lights and the pretty young lady who helped me that night. The dream was so real I could almost hear her sweet voice echoing in my mind, “Survillas, Survillas.” She said again and again.

When I opened my eyes she was there and as perfect as the new day. She smiled at me and my heart raced. I squinted at the sight, thinking I was still dreaming. But, I wasn’t dreaming. She was here sitting by my bedside.

“Survillas? That’s your name?” She asked innocently. “My name is Corletta and I’m a healer. We met at the festival of lights. I’m not sure you remember me.”

“I remember you.” I said. “but, I don’t remember much after that.”

She laughed, “Your friends helped you back to the barracks. I’m sorry to be the one to tell you this, but we’re going to need to remove your right arm above the elbow. This will mean you will no longer be able to fight. As a member of the Order you will live comfortably here in the city…”

“No. You can’t remove my arm!”

“Survillas, I understand this is hard to hear, but we must remove the arm to prevent the infection from spreading. I assure you, the Order of the Silver Shield will make you comfortable here. You will have a place to call home. It’s really your best option at this point. If we don’t remove the arm you could die.”

“I don’t want a home. I don’t want to be comfortable. I’m a warrior. I want to fight!”



Hearing those words come out of my mouth changed the entire perspective I then had about my life. I thought I wanted a home. I really did. But in that moment when I was given the opportunity to rest, all I really wanted was to fight. I wanted to fight every day until the day I died… fighting.

“You have to do something Corletta. I am begging this of you. You are a healer, right? You can heal me.”

Corletta looked away and shook her head. “No, I can’t do it. My powers are not that strong. I’ve tried before, and I just don’t have the experience. I’m sorry. I’ll send the surgeon in.” She said and then stood to leave.

I grabbed her hand gently and pleaded her in my mind to look at me. When she finally did I begged one last time. “I believe in you. You can do this.”

She let out a sigh and reluctantly nodded. “I’ll try.” She said and then sat back in the chair beside my bed. For a few moments she sat quietly. I could only imagine she was diagnosing the wound and preparing her mind to bring forth her healing powers. She placed her soft hands upon my wounded arm and began to meditate.

Suddenly I felt my arm begin to warm. A glowing light radiated from Corletta’s hands and pulsated through my skin and to the center of my bones. I watched amazed by the sight. Her eyes remained closed, but the light grew stronger with every moment. Soon Corletta was infused with radiating healing light and my arm began to pulsate.

Shivers went down my spine as I felt the blood rushing through my veins. My entire body responded to her healing touch and aches and pains of even my childhood slowly began to vanish and heal. It was like nothing I’d ever experienced before. Nothing like the medics on the battlefield and nothing that could have been taught. Corletta was blessed by the Goddess and I knew I was in love.

She remained enlightened for a short while and then she sighed with nervousness, “I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have even tried. I knew I couldn’t do it.”

I raised my arm and for the first time since battle the pain was completely removed. I waited a second to be sure it didn’t return before I exclaimed, “You did it, Corletta! You healed my arm!”

Corletta looked up with a surprised look upon her face. “You mean…”

“Yes. I can’t feel any pain. Look I can move it any way I choose.”

Before I knew it, Corletta was jumping for joy into my arms, and I experienced what home truly felt like.

I never imagined how special Corletta would have been to me when I stumbled drunkenly into her the night of the festival. But, I have a feeling the Goddess of Light Khymia knew all along what she was doing when she brought us together.

I decided having a home wasn’t what I wanted after all. But it seems, I had to return home to find Corletta.

She and I have never been apart since that day. Even when I am sent off to battle, Corletta is always by my side casting her healing spells and helping to protect the Silver Shield.

We travel the Splinterlands together and we fight injustice hand in hand.

Throughout this story of ours I came to believe that sometimes fate must give you what you think you want, to reveal the fact that what it has for you is so much better than you could even imagine.

I found out that my fate is by Corletta’s side and our home is on the battlefield.

The End

Thanks for Reading!


Steem Monster Stories by @simgirl
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! Week 3/ Karockas the Bold- by @simgirl
Feral Spirit- Steem Monsters Story Contest Week Four
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 5
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 6
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 7
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 8
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 9
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 11
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 12
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 14
Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 15

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73