The Universal Soldier

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)


The roots of American Urban Poetry go back to 1855 as Walt Whitman describes a Manhattan horseman in Song of Myself from Leaves of Grass.

The blab of the pave . . . . the tires of carts and sluff of bootsoles
and talk of the promenaders, The heavy omnibus, the driver
with his interrogating thumb, the clank of the shod horses on
the granite floor

I see Ubran Poetry today in the form of rap. Although I cannot rap I have my own story to tell. I took this video of US Army Ambulance rushing to a Korean hospital. I don't know the whole story behind the ambulance or the soldier or the cars chasing the Ambulance. But I would like to share my feeling about what I saw.

Original Poetry @mineopoly

The Universal Soldier

The universal soldier
Young and free

Prudent senior officer
Sage for everyone to see

Anonymous name remembered
Lays down his life for country and friends

Never be forgotten
Name in lights
Blinking lights and sirens.

The Universal soldier
So far in distant lands.
Who cares about just one man?

So close to your door
He calls and you refuse to listen.

He wants a second chance
As the life line blinks.
We are
Losing
Him.

Single with no family
His children and mother call
Expecting an answer from the one they love
He goes unloved.

The EMT picks takes a call from Galaxy S9.
I'm sorry to inform you
That the one you held
so dear
now near
to heaven's grip.

Never believer in anything
The universal soldier
Now believes in his dream.

Unforeseen hands wheel his stretcher
down the corridor of unknown walls.

The universal soldier
Trusts his life to unseen hands of
Hospital personal
He doesn't know whether
He will go to heaven or...

I couldn't help but think of @moderndayhippie when I wrote this. This is my 19th poem in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemitschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ Job 38:4-7

" “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? Tell me, if you understand. Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know! Who stretched a measuring line across it? On what were its footings set, or who laid its cornerstone-- while the morning stars sang together and all the angels shouted for joy? "

Mineopoly Quote:

He has a million names.


image.png

Check out my recent post @mineopoly

Scaffolding Vygotsky Style
The Other Side
A Shrimp is Crushed
Love it Shove it Paradox
Tactile Learning - touch
What's the Matter?

All pictures here can be found in pixabay or they are original works @mineopoly. Some have asked about Groovy School. Every post here is still Groovy School. I have been following @asapers and found that a lot of steemians give rewards of Steem basic income. I think that is the best way for me to reward interaction in my posts. I will talk a little more about how you can get a steembasic income share from me in my next post. I think it is the best reward because it ensures that participants continue to post and are rewarded over time. As for today I will reward the first comment with an example of Urban poetry from Walt Witman other than the example mentioned in this post.

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

Do you know a veteran you want to thank?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh God! What a great poem you made today, my friend @mineapoly. Overwhelmed with so much feeling. Touch sensitivity deeply. Very good work!

Thank you @zeleiracordero for your gracious words. I really don't know who this soldier is or where he is going. But I know his pain and confusion. I have no answer so my poem ends here but I wonder why the world doesn't fold at the weight of atrocity. I have to say love is stronger than all the wrong and heals all the wounds.

Fabulous post Christopher. My father was in WW11 and many of his relatives. I wrote a story about them one time. Keep steemin’ dear friend.

I am sincerely thankful for their service and sacrifice. Living in Korea I see first hand the influence these men had. This is a museum in Seoul with letters written by soldiers to their families. They were boys a long way from home.

  • How can I find your story?

Thank you.... "keep steemin" means more to me than it used to. I want to quit sometimes. I have 80 more poems to write.

@mineopoly

That was beautiful. One of my grandfathers and nephews were and are in the military.

Thank you @debralee for sharing this and for your family who serve. I have gained a great respect for soldiers and veterans while living in Korea. My friend is in an airbase about one hour from Seoul. I plan to visit him in April. He likes when his friends from home write letters. I'm sure your nephew would too.

Congratulations @mineopoly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Did I get my first payout today?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mineopoly365groovy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.45$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43