Steemit Photo Challenge #4 - Theme Announcement!

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

Good Day to you Photogs!

Let’s kick this off straight away...


This week’s theme will be

NATURE CLOSEUP/MACRO

Colour only!

Extra points for featuring the primary colours: Red, Yellow, Blue

Here are plenty examples of nature macros


Prizes

These are made possible by the support of the community, the majority of the post rewards go towards the winners, plus donations by @berniesanders the official sponsor of the Steemit Photo Challenge.

We're thinking about some physical prizes.

Leave your suggestions in the comments.
For the time being, we will continue with the Steem prizes.

First Place — 150 Steem

Second Place — 100 Steem

Third Place — 50 Steem

Honourable Mentions — 10 Steem Each


Rules And Conditions

Please read these carefully and adhere to them

  • I strongly encourage you to post work that is original to this challenge, in other words — take a new photograph instead of using an old one.

  • No more than 3 entries will be considered, if you post more than 3 then only the first 3 will be considered.

  • Deadline for entry is midnight my time (GMT -4) on Sunday

  • All entries must be a post tagged both #photography and #steemitphotochallenge

  • The Title should contain "SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry" along with the title of your work.

  • Let us know the medium used to produce the photograph, it may be more impressive based on what it is.

  • Basic processing is allowed.

  • Any medium or format is allowed — iphone, ipad, film, digital, point and shoot, drone, whatever. Once it takes a picture. Note that image quality will be considered.

  • Multiple Entries can all go in one post, just put the details under the image.

  • If you would like, use the #SteemitPhotoChallenge tag across social media like Twitter, FB and Instagram. It may drive more users to the platform.

  • Any attempt to steal others' work is considered a serious infraction by the community, so don't do it. Please don't waste your and our time by posting some image from the net.

  • Every effort will be made to ensure that we do not reward theft. All images will be reverse checked, if the image has been found on more than 2 “major” websites, it will be disqualified unless reasonable proof can be shown to prove ownership of the original. If there is any doubt whatsoever about the ownership of the photograph, I reserve the right to disqualify the image. It is in your interest to provide any proof necessary. I would appreciate any help from the community in finding plagiarism where I might have missed it.

  • The photographs will be judged on how well they met the challenge, the quality of the image, the composition, lighting, exposure, creativity and the general aesthetics which means that yes, it is subjective.

Can I say one last thing here?

Please don't spam the steemitphotochallenge tag.. At least during the weekend (any other time, nobody is watching so.. it doesn't actually help you to use the tag) I have go through every single entry and it just makes it a hassle. If you happen to see something in the tag that blatantly isn't a submission, could you please ask them nicely to untag it before the first payout? I'd appreciate it.

Also, why not use steemimg.com to host your images? Created by fellow steemian @blueorgy


Get up close and personal with nature and stun us with some colourful closeups.

Most importantly, have fun.

Take a look at the previous winners here:

Steemit Photo Challenge Week 1 - Animal Portrait
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 2 - Shadows
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 3 - Desolation


Follow Me

Sort:  

And remember you can always go back and upvote previous winners original posts if you missed them the first time around - they will get their 1 month payout!

Part of the goal is to draw attention to their great work and get them rewarded!

Speaking of which, following my 1st place in last week's challenge on ‘Desolation’, I've just posted some more pictures from my day at the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone. Thanks again @jamtaylor

https://steemit.com/photography/@pkattera/more-photos-from-chernobyl-following-my-1st-place-entry-in-the-steemitphotochallenge

tiffjane, thank you very much for the tip. I made a new one - this time following the rules ^ ^!

The #SteemitPhotoChallenge is still in its infancy but has already blossomed into a great opportunity for new and current steemians to showcase thier work. The oppurtunity to have your photography seen by so many people is a very rare occurrence in the day and age. Many great artists have gone unseen simply due to the lack of a platform to be discovered. I believe that this challenge and others like it will help make this community great. Thank you and keep up the great work! This goes out to not just @jamtaylor & @berniesanders but anybody who has submitted to this awesome challenge!

Look forward to seeing the great work this weekend and beyond! Good luck to everyone!

Look out for a photograph by myself using my trusty iPhone 6 Plus with 15x macro add on ;)

I did not realize you could buy additional lenses for phone cameras. That's so cool that you can :)

Love macro shots, can't wait to see some of the work from the community.

For those who are a bit worried with not having the right equipment, just take a look at @jamtaylor 's posts from last week or so where he used a $10 (iirc) macro lens for his iPhone. Can't get any better for that price!

I'm excited, should be interesting to see what I can get with a cell phone vs some of the awesome camera and lens setups I've seen on here :)

I use my IPhone and you can buy some pretty inexpensive lenses for it , around $100 for a good one , so not too bad. Good luck look forward to seeing your photos!

I'm a cheap DIY guy I'll build a macro lens myself, then convince myself its way better then the $100 one ever dreamed of being!

Looks like these challenges are running full steem ahead! What an awesome project this is turning out to be. This gets me excited for my next giveaway :D

ah man, i need to organise me a new camera. My samsung is useless at macro shots

I'll join the challenge looks fun and I have some unpublished macro shots, btw where did you get the awesome follow button and is it "free for reuse"?

I made the follow button to stand out from the crowd haha, you can use it if you like but if it gets too popular we'll have to come up with something new :P

Ok, thank you for letting me use your work!
I'll see if I can change it up a bit! :)

I like the theme. This should be interesting.

This is a truly awesome example of a great Steemit community. I am not a photographer myself, but I really enjoy seeing the participation and excitement surrounding the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52