The Name Game - by the grumpy old fart known as Catweasel

It seems I have to talk about my steemit name in some silly challenge created by @felobtc. I'm coming for you, Felipe, you'll get yours.

To quote @crazybgadventure, the bastard who nominated me for this nonsense:

The rules, there have to be rules.

So the rules are as follows.

The Rules:
▪️ Tell us in your post how you chose the current Steemit username you have, the story behind it.
▪️ Tell us your real name!
▪️ If you could change your current Steemit username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
▪️ Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that I can track all the posts and check them out
▪️ Nominate 5 people for this challenge

Oh good grief, I need to write faster. I've just been nominated again.

The Story Behind the Name

I have had a few names down through the centuries, amongst them The Assistant Kid and Robbin. The Assistant Kid came about because... Okay, picture the gang in Oliver Twist. No very young kids though, and tone Fagin down a lot. Now make the gang less about picking pockets and more about getting along and getting stoned. The youngest and newest member was known as The Kid. I'm guessing that was because he was way younger than the others. Anyhoo, when I came along I was younger and obviously newer, so some wag figured I should be The Assistant Kid.

Hey, down in front! Calm down, I'm getting there. If you don't like the way I'm telling this you can leave, but you can't have your money back.

Okay, so one day I'm crossing the street with a raincoat draped over my shoulders and a pair of wraparound sunglasses when a friend crossing the other way says "Hey, you look just like Robin, Boy Wonder." It caught on. A few days later a young lady with whom I was making the beast with two backs said I should spell it with two Bs. I didn't ask why, I think I may have had my mouth full of one of her two Cs at the time. For several years I took her advice and was Robbin.

Somewhere in the 70s I was working as a temp in a cold store distribution centre. One of the foremen said I looked just like Catweazle. Only problem was, I had no idea how to spell it. So when for some reason I needed to write it down I had to make an on the spot decision. "I know my own name, dammit. Oh wait, I don't" does not make a good impression. Okay, Cat, well that's a no-brainer, wee, hmm, I think not, wea is better, um s, quick, everyone is watching, el. Okay, so who am I? Catweasel. Looks good. If I spelt it right (oh how I hope I spelt it right) I'm part cat and part weasel. I love cats, and weasels are fierce and brave and can survive anything. Okay, I can survive anything, one out of three ain't bad.

Occasionally I will use variants like Catweasel9 if I've forgotten my password or the other, German Catweasel got there first, but mostly I've been Catweasel since long before Al Gore invented the internet.

I will answer to Cat but I prefer Cw. My wife often refers to me as the Weasel in the third person but don't.

Tell us your real name!

After more than 40 years I feel entitled to claim Catweasel as my real name, but if you really must know, ask my wife. She'll probably tell you if only because she knows it annoys me.

If you could change your current Steemit username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!

Ha!!!!!!!!

Nominate 5 people for this challenge

A lot of the people I would like to nominate have already been nominated, some have even responded. So, I'm just going to list a whole bunch I might seriously consider nominating. If you have already done one, up to you; do another one or ignore me. If you have already been nominated consider this a strongly worded reminder. Get on with it. If I can do this, so can you. If you have not previously been nominated: Tag, you're it.

@mountainwashere @enginewitty @shadowspub @ethandsmith @leapingkoala @arbitrarykitten @sapphic @gtg @sychochica @mental-extract @allasyummyfood @armshippie @carrieallen @fireawaymarmot @holothewise @topkpop @spiritualmax @snook @papa-pepper @moderndayhippie @thekittygirl @stellabelle

Catweasel.gif

Trust me, I'm a doctor.
Catweasel

It's only a hobby ... only a hobby ... only a

cws.gif

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

cws.gif

The Alliance

cws.gif

SteemUSA

cws.gif

Isle of Write

cws.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite

cws.gif

Sort:  

I refer to you as The Weasel for excellent reasons. Anyone who gets to know you agrees. You'd be surprised how quick.

("Man, that guy really is a weasel." I hear it all the time.)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.16$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

That sure is one heck of a story behind the name my friend. I think we all know why your wife calls you weasel more than Catweasel. lol

You sure are brave after sharing that one story which I was blinded for 3 days after reading. If your lovely wife did not kill you after that post I am convinced you can survive it all. lol

"I will survive."

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Names are better than numbers, choosing is better than having them assigned for sure. #74279974511 .
I will not participate in this challenge if nominated, the witness relocation program just doesn't allow it.

I think you'll find you are allowed to discuss your nom de plume unless it somehow connects you to your original name, but I do not believe for a moment that you would be that dumb. You do not need to give your real name, either original or assigned. Several respondents opted out of that clause.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

In that case, my name I use here comes from the way I pronounce salt and pepper. Glad I am able to get that out of the way, without any problems. Thanks.

Bwhahahahah!

I looked up Catweazle.
You, sir, are VERY pretty. 😍

Also, I hate to brag( no I don't), but I have the BEST name.

For proof go HERE. 😎

I have to agree, I am a handsome devil.

Admit it, you don't think it's bragging you think it's just stating a fact. You are, however, wrong. I will concede that your name is as good as mine, but not better. Ergo, WE have the best names. The only difference is I had to wait for mine, but it was worth the wait.

Trust me, I'm a pretty doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I will take that compromise, doctor. Mostly because I now swoon when picturing you. 😍

I'm a little disturbed by the image of all of this.

As you probably should be.

But stands to reason we should trust him... He's a pretty doctor.

Of all the cat things I know, cw is my favorite cat thing.

To quote @crazybgadventure, the bastard who nominated me for this nonsense:

You're welcome :D

:~~~~~~~~

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You forgot to include this picture of your parents, Catweasel...

Thank you so much, good @SirCork. I did not know there were pictures of my parents still in existence.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.21$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.21$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

So cool to read how your name came about and it’s history

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #91 (4/1/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66697.56
ETH 3490.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17