Red String. Day 15 of the Total Writer Transformation

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

The Japanese are a people rich in history and culture. They believe human life is precious and something to be cherished without a moment wasted, and their level of dedication to whatever they are doing at the moment is unparalleled. They believe that human relations are predestined and linked by a red string that the Gods tie to the pinky fingers of those who will find each other in life. Legend tells that the two humans who are connected by the thread will share an important moment in history. A story which will play out regardless of when, where or circumstance. The thread connecting them might get stretched or tangled, but it will never break.

This belief of the Japanese is not limited to couples or that "one" single individual a person is destined to find. The red string is linked finger to finger with all those whom we will make history with and all who we will help in some way.

The myth of the red string helps us to understand the whole of human experiences; romantic relationships, chance meetings with someone, and the small stories which flitter by during our days are neither accidents nor random happenings, but rather part of the whole human experience which we weave each and every day in each and ever seemingly random encounter.

According to this legend, you and I are linked by a scarlet thread. I found it important to share these words with you, and you found it important to read. Pinky to pinky you are linked to every one of your readers.

Do not fret over your writing. Never worry if it's "good enough" or if anyone will ever read it. The ones who need it will- they are connected to you, and thus your story- by the red string. Your audience is there, and they will reach you when the time is right.

Todays Challenge

Write something for you today. Not for pay, or fame, or your job. Just for you. Write what makes you happy. And write it with all the passion and beauty that it deserves.




Images via Creative Commons

Be a Better Writer in Just One Month! Join the 31 Day Writing Challenge to transform your writing and your life!

Day 1 The Truth About Making Time For Writing
Day 2 How to Incorporate Ideas From Life in Your Writing
Day 3 Master the Art of Captivating Your Readers
Day 4 Banishing Distractions
Day 5 Get Your Writing Noticed!
Day 6 The Importance of Morning Pages
Day 7 Why You Should Write Even if You're Not a Writer
Day 8 How to Personify an Object
Day 9 How to Use Writing Prompts to Improve Your Skills
Day 10 Why You Need an Email List
Day 11 There is a Best Time to Write!
Day 12 Your Future Path
Day 13 Do You Know How to Eat an Elephant?
Day 14 Soliloquy Speaking: Bring Depth to Your Characters



I appreciate your support :)





If you find this article after day 7, please consider upvoting a recent article.


Sort:  

This is a good challenge.
Keep writing for yourself, that's what matters.
Even if you aren't good at it, you'll be if you keep trying

Exactly! Writing is just like anything else- you must practice if you wish to be good at it! Nothing great was built overnight :)

I remember reading a book ( I don't know the title) which defined it perfectly.
Writing is not like some other arts which you're either born with or not.
Writing is a craft which anybody can learn if they try hard enough.

This is so true.

And that brings me to another point- the best writers read. A lot :)

Yup i totally agree..we should live free and enjoy every moment of it..life is much precious.

It is interesting how you turn a relationship cultural believe, the red string fate , into a twist how you relate yourself (as a writer) to readers.

A nice different angle to look into. That's refreshing!

upvoted

I'm happy you enjoyed that ;) Thank you <3

The red string of fate always reminds me that we are meant to meet whom we have met. Thus why it isn't really all that hard for me to move on when I lose a friend or a partner. Maybe fate meant for it to. Who knows what life has got in store for us? This just makes me even more excited to live and see who I will be crossing paths with in the future. I've learned from the people I've met and I believe I will be learning more from the people I will meet.

And maybe we are also linked with a scarlet thread, ever since I joined steemit, your writing has always seemed to stand out for me and I've taken an interest to your works, since then. Yup, red string of fate, indubitably.

As for the writing challenge, do we get to decide to the themes we write everyday or do we follow a certain format, because I would love to participate!

I do believe we are linked by a scarlet thread :)

For the challenge, I recommend at least 10 minutes of writing toward your goal per day. There is great info in Day1: The Truth About MAking Time For Writing. Then every day there is a task to complete that will help strengthen your writing skills.

Welcome to the Total Writer Transformation! And please keep me updated- I would love to hear how you are growing as a writer!

I'll make sure to do just that then! Do I use the same titles or I can decide on my own for each task?

If you're trying to write a novel I suggest working on that. Ten minutes a day may not seem like much, but it adds up:

The average person types 40 words per minute. If you dedicate 10 minutes a day thats about 400 words a day. At that rate you have a novel (50,000 words) in four months.

However, many times you will find yourself writing past the ten minute mark :)

If you are not writing a book, you can work on a Steemit article or even a #freewrite with a prompt from @mariannewest.

😘 You know what has happened lately? A bunch of freewriters have started to write ongoing stories using the prompt. Books are being written!

I saw that!

You know, I was so mad. I had a daily alarm set for the freewritehouse party. I came back that final day from seeing David Blaine (check out his tour- his show is amazing!) and logged in. 503 error. Tried again. 503 error. So I made a snack. Came back half an hour later. 503 error.

I finally fell asleep. I was so mad!

I started with a quick write-up, I think it took me about 30 minutes to finish it instead of 10 hahahaha, I hope you check it out and see :D

https://steemit.com/writing/@pizzanniza/day-1-of-the-31-day-writing-challenge-living-by-the-words-of-haruki-murakami

The red string idea is pretty cool; hadn't exactly thought of it like that, before.

My "problem" is often the reverse; I have no problem writing for myself and do it all the time. It's the "writing for public consumption" that presents the challenge. Luckily, I am just a CAT, not a professional writer!

=^..^=

Ah, yes. But lucky for you cats rule the interwebz ;)

Good challenge, although since I really haven't figured out how to make money from writing, I pretty much always write for myself thus far. :) I'm hoping to change that soon... but for now, I just write because the challenge makes me happy and I feel like it's something that I am good at.

If you're not writing for yourself first and foremost, you're writing for all the wrong reasons ;)

Just as with anything else in life- you gotta have a passion for what you do. Otherwise it's all for nothing. And that shows!

Good write @arbitrarykitten
Japanese are the most hard worker i ever notice .

And thanks for the challenge . its a good way to learn from our own mistakes .
So i also want to be the part of this . hope it will be beneficial and also fun for us..

But every one want some reward from steemit . first i want to get reward of my hard work on steemit . but its not easy . you do hard work but not getting good response on it . breakable moment . but the best thing is time will change . may be it will change for me also.

I am happy you are joining!

I believe you get from Steemit exactly what you put into it, as with anything else. Nothing great was built in a day :)

I agree with you about the Japanese who believe in the red thread of life.and you have given an interesting challenge. We will pay attention to it.
Thanks @arbitrarykitten

Awesome! I look forward to seeing you at the next one :) Posted daily

I very much agree with you about the history of Japan.
They are people who have their beliefs very marked.
I did not know much about the connection.
It is interesting, although somewhat confusing.

If I have to write something for myself about what I'm passionate about.
Is that I like to travel and know paices, monuments, cultures and landscapes.
My dream is to travel the world, and I know that one day I will achieve it.
I want to live doing what I like, and through this platform and others.
The day will come with the support of the people,
in my publications.
I will be able to achieve those goals.

You are absolutely correct :) If you take at least one step toward your dreams every day, you will achieve them!

@arbitrarykitten I am just into the Silly GIFs Lately.......................
It's Just a Phase I am sure that it will end soon.

Hmmmm..... And if it doesn't, random is the spice of life ;)

Does that mean that no matter how short the experience with any person, I will never cut the thread that connects me to it?

According to the Japanese legend no, the thread will never break and cannot be cut. Now, I am not sure if the thread disappears after the experience if it is the last or only one... I need an expert on Japanese legends for that :)

It's really interesting, thanks for the clarification ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56