Free Reads - One Amazing Part Of Our Charlotte Mason Education - Schoolhouse Saturday by A Panama Mama

Our Charlotte Mason education, which we follow closely to the Ambleside Online curriculum, is something that we really enjoy. It not only is great for me, the teacher, but my kids also really enjoy the rich education they receive.

IMG_5282.JPG

We are able to read together many children's classic books, most of which I missed out on growing up in public school! Thankfully, I was a part of schooling that still did some read alouds. I have fond memories of my favorite elementary teacher reading us Where the Red Fern Grows as a class, and all of us, including Mrs. Bramsway, crying through it. This is something I get to do with my kids every day (minus the crying part).
IMG_5283.JPG

Part of our curriculum includes "Free Reads" which are books that are great, but don't necessarily fit into the scheduled curriculum. These are then read outside of class time. We usually read ours before bed at night. The lists on Ambleside Online are amazing. Every time I read a book, I am sucked in to the plot and characters and I end up wanting to read more - just like the kids. I will read a few pages and they will beg for "a little more please!" I love it!
IMG_5284.JPG

You can check the free reads under each year on the Ambleside Online website. Some of our favorites we've enjoyed include Little House in the Big Woods, Farmer Boy, Five Little Peppers and How They Grew, A Door in the Wall, Winnie the Pooh, and many more. The Living Book free reads are a great addition, since they should be read to all children, and having them in one location like on this list are great!

Be sure to check it out and see how many you've read!

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Schoolhouse Saturday will be brought to you here every Saturday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for updates on school life, curriculum, our lending library and more.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!

My Other Charlotte Mason Education posts:
Ambleside Online
Living Books
Riches
Handicrafts

Sort:  

@tamimiqbal has upvoted on this post with a reply. If you want to receive upvoting on your all post, just simply follow @tamimiqbal

Best regards
Tamim Iqbal

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by apanamamama from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

You're such a good mom

Sometimes it takes us months to get through a book. It is much easier to watch a show at bedtime than sit and read a book with the kids and I'm usually so tired. Need to change up when we do free reads! :)

My Grandpa taught me how to read very young, and I was halfway thru the Little House series when I began US Kindergarten.

Needless to say I had a rough time in school, lol.

I LOVE that series so much I have read it as an adult :) That and Red Fern Grows were also read aloud to my children :)

Wonderful share, and good job <3

That is really cool that you learned to read so early and loved it. I bet school was pretty boring for you because of that! I love getting to read back through Little House with my kids. I remember it being my favorite when I was little. I missed so many other great books, I just really love that our curriculum encourages us to read them. :)

School was difficult because I was raised with a love of learning so I learned everything on my own before the next year...

And, kids are cruel ;)

Yes true, kids are cruel!! So amazing that you'd teach yourself since you loved to learn. I bet the teachers did not love that...

Once I hit middle school I would ditch class to go to the bookstore or library and learn ;) But I still made straight A's.

The teachers were not impressed :)

Lol! That's awesome and impressive that you could keep straight A's (and actually cared to do so).

It is sometimes necessary for adults like us to read these books because the life lessons which we get from these books (sometimes we forget that in adult) can help you tackle any obstruction in life :)

True. I'm glad I'm going back through them as an adult. I get to pick up on so much more than I paid attention to as a kid!

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43