What Are "Living Books" and How Do We Use Them In Our Homeschool? - Schoolhouse Satruday by A Panama Mama

Last Saturday, I introduced you to our homeschool briefly. You were able to read that we use Ambleside Online as our curriculum, and today I’d like to talk a little bit more about the type of books we use with this curriculum.

If you have never looked into homeschooling, there are many methods. A few homeschooling methods include unschooling, classical education, and the one we have chosen, the Charlotte Mason method. In the CM method, “living books” are encouraged as the reading material to do as much of the teaching as possible.

IMG_4801.JPG

What exactly are living books?

These are books written in a conversation or narrative style. The books involve your emotions, drag you into the story and get you involved in a personal way. It is easier to remember the information and details of the story this way. They appear to make the subject “come alive” to the learner. Who wouldn’t want that?

On the contrary, think of the last thing you read about in an encyclopedia or textbook. Did you feel connected to the information and easily recall details? These are not considered living books and are dry and just present the information with nothing to really draw the reader in. In a CM education, these, as well as many other books, are referred to as "twaddle."

IMG_4800.JPG

Have you read any of these “living books”?

Lord of the Rings, Little House on the Prairie, Anne of Green Gables, The Boxcar Children, and many more. If you have read them, I’m sure you have fond memories and can remember some details, even years later. On Amy Lynn Andrews's website, you can find a list she made with many living books, their summary and more information about them. These are great books to read, or to read to your kids! Many of the "classics" are on this list.

My children enjoy this way of learning because it creates a conversation. Part of the CM method is using something called “narrating,” which just means telling back what you have heard. After I read a short bit of the book, I ask the kids what they have heard and they tell me what happened in the story. They are then creating a memory of what we are learning that will last far into the future. I can ask them about stories we have read in the last few years and they are usually able to tell me at least something about it. Ask them about Robin Hood, Damocles and his sword, Burgess Animal Book, Joseph and his brothers, or Paddle to the Sea. They love the books we use with this curriculum because they are great, living books.

IMG_4799.JPG

Tell me in the comments which is the last living book you have read or one that sounds interesting to you!

Next week, check back to find out about what the “riches” of a CM education include.

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Schoolhouse Saturday will be brought to you here every Saturday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for updates on school life, curriculum, our lending library and more.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

i liked it..keep it up man

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Very Good information you shared with us.

I didnt know about living books.. thank you for sharing it with us :)

beautiful and interesting

My husband and I are book fiends as are our children and grandchildren. Our youngest grandchild is just two and already carrying books around. Yesterday I saw her heading towards the bathroom with her favourite book in hand and asked her what she was doing. She politely told me that she was going to the potty and read her book just as Daddy does! lol

Lol! Too funny. The love of good books is a great thing.

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...


Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

I really got into Charlotte Mason when I was homeschooling. The living books concept is a great way to teach anything. After reading, I would have them tell or write their account of what was read.

Exactly it! :) My kids are too young to write their account, so they just tell me. I really like the CM method. What type of curriculum were you using? We use Ambleside Online.

I just kind of made it up as I went along. For math we used Saxon. Other than that, I just got a lot of science experiment books and Historical fiction and biographies and then just life. My kids are 31 and 34 so that was a long time ago.

Oh nice! Thanks for getting back to me. :)

But "Twaddle" is so fun to say??! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60514.11
ETH 3335.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48