What Are Handicrafts? - A Charlotte Mason Education - Schoolhouse Saturday by A Panama Mama

As I have shared before, we use Ambleside Online to homeschool our kids. It is based on the Charlotte Mason method which uses living books. There are also various additional parts that are considered the riches of their education. We really enjoy this method and there are so many reasons why.

Another integral and fun part of a Charlotte Mason education is handicrafts. Handicrafts are different than just cut and glue crafts you might have your kids do to keep busy. These are something that is useful and worth keeping, perhaps even something they could gift to another person or sell.

IMG_5073.JPG

A great place to see handicrafts put to good use is craft shows and Renaissance Fairs. Here children can see people weaving, blacksmithing, woodworking, glass blowing and so much more. They can attend the events and see a master at work and then buy some of their product to try to copy at home. We love attending these type of events with the kids. You never know what they are going to pick up on and fall in love with!
IMG_5074.JPG

Charlotte Mason wanted the students to put enough effort in to produce good, quality work. This wasn’t usually something they could complete in an afternoon, but was something that they would work on for a few days, weeks or even months depending on the project. This was a way of developing skills that the student would carry with them as they grow. It could also expose specific talents the student has.

"Making (and mending) real things like rugs, baskets, ceramic pots, doll furniture, and sewing on lost buttons, hemming pillowcases, cooking, woodworking, cross stitching and fixing plumbing were what she had in mind rather than worthless busy art projects that end up thrown away." Ambleside Online

IMG_5081.JPG

Some of the handicraft projects we have worked on that my kids enjoy have turned into Christmas gifts. They have traced their hands on fabric and then sewn around them. I then sewed them together to make pillows for the grandmothers. They have also made loom potholders. They have also tried knitting and finger knitting. One son is currently building a tree house and working on his carpentry skills. I have some wood carving and wood burning kits for future projects for the kids. I would also like to teach them to sew. They would like to build a suit of armor and have plans to make a go cart. These are some of the fun handicrafts that the kids enjoy during their time outside of school.
IMG_5080.JPG

What is a handicraft you would enjoy?

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Schoolhouse Saturday will be brought to you here every Saturday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for updates on school life, curriculum, our lending library and more.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

Those handprint cushions look like a wonderful idea, in fact I think the girl's grandmas would like them...

I love handicrafts. I do rather like to finger knit I must say - I made lots of eternity scarfs last year for Christmas. I need to try more crafts with the kids. I also like glass painting and pyrography.

Nice! Yeah, the grandmothers loved the pillows and they were relatively easy to make. :) My mom said she uses hers every day on her bed. My son likes to finger knit but I can't remember how to do it and we didn't know what to do with all the long strands he made last year - some ended up being belts, necklaces or bracelets. :) Lol! I need to watch a video to remember how to do it. Thanks for the comment. #theunmentionables

The best thing about teaching kids these crafts is you end up with keepsakes that they can pass down to their kids too!

That is so true! Love this thought! Thanks for sharing! :) My MIL is like that. She saved practically everything my husband did - ever scrap of paper he drew on and wrote how old he was. LOL! Some of it was cool stuff and some of it was cut and paste.

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wonderful if kids can learn handcraft at a young age lovely post thank you.

Thanks! Yes, I hope that the kids will all pick up some handicrafts that they enjoy. I hope to teach my daughter to sew soon and maybe my sons too! :)

Reminds me of quilts and patchworks. Art that is to me.

Yes, I love to make quilts and I hope at least one of my kids picks it up too. The pillow was going to be quilted but I ran out of time before Christmas. :)

So cool. Quilts reminds me of the movie little house by the pairie.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by apanamamama from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39