What Are the "Riches" of a Charlotte Mason Education - Homeschool - Schoolhouse Saturday by A Panama Mama

Last week, I introduced you to ”Living books” as part of a Charlotte Mason education. These are the basic building blocks of the CM method and one of the main reasons we love using Ambleside Online as part of our curriculum. Another great reason we follow this style of homeschooling is the “extras” which I recently heard them referred to as ”riches” and I love that!

The “riches” of a CM education include: artist study, composer study, nature study, hymns, and folk songs. Each of these add a uniqueness to the Charlotte Mason method. Each teacher will add her own creative way of teaching these “riches.”

Artist Study

Each term (3 month period) of the year, we have a different artist we study. There are 6 pieces that are chosen by the advisory team of Ambleside Online to be the ones that are focused on. One way that we study the artist and their art is by printing it out, hanging it on the wall or fridge and just looking at it throughout the day. At other times, we will try to draw some aspect of the painting or just talk about it in general. Maybe we will even come up with a story about the painting. This is a pretty fun way to add classics to the homeschool day.

IMG_4944.JPG

Composer Study

This is very similar to the artist study in that each term, there is one composer with six of their compositions. The selections are usually available on YouTube, so we just play them from there in the background while we do our day. Sometimes I play the songs for the kids at lunch or we listen to the Podcast “Classics for Kids.” They really love this! There is no formal study, but just introducing them to good, classical music and seeing if they can find some characteristic of each composer.

Nature Study

This is usually the one that most of us moms have a problem with in the AO community. I guess we try to make it more than it is. The point is to get the kids out into nature and have them make some observations. They should sketch something into a nature journal such as a bird, insect or plant they see. Just keeping a record of what is around them during each season is an interesting activity. The AO group has a suggested rotation to help you get through the Handbook of Nature Study but we don’t really stick with is. I honestly have a hard time getting this one done most weeks!

Hymns

Each month, there is a selected hymn that the students can learn. Charlotte Mason had her students learn and recite hymns as a regular part of their education. I love getting to sing along to some of the hymns I know and seeing my kids start to learn them. I usually just play these in the background while we are getting ready in the morning or getting some housework done. These can be found on YouTube as well.

IMG_4942.JPG

Folk Songs

This is the area where I probably fail the most! Each month, there is a different selected folk song for the students to learn. I am sure my kids would love it and I could play it in the background like I do with the others, but it just hasn’t really happened yet. Some of the songs I have never heard before! Maybe we will start playing them and see if the kids can act them out or draw a picture of what they hear.

As you can see, there are many parts to a Charlotte Mason education that make it unique and fun for the child. Which would be your favorite of the “riches” that are described above as a student? What about as a teacher? ** Can you think of a creative way to teach any of them?

<><><><><><><><><><><><>**

Schoolhouse Saturday will be brought to you here every Saturday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for updates on school life, curriculum, our lending library and more.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting!

Sort:  

This post just made me happy! A happy homeschooling mama!!! Great post! I've really slacked on my music and art this year. :( Good motivation to use your relaxed approach next year! Thanks @apanamamama

Thanks! They make it easy to throw it all in there...it just has to make it into the schedule. That's my problem most weeks. I need to do a better job. Monday art, Tuesday folk song, Wednesday hymn... ;)

Our family enjoyed using the book: Lives of the Musicians: Good Times, Bad Times (and What the Neighbors Thought) by Kathleen Krull , as a read-aloud and then listening to some of the songs by the composers on Amazon Prime, or You Tube. I like the book because it helps children relate to composers as real people, and it moves up through history ending with a music the children have likely heard (if they have seen any Star Wars). For folk songs I think more about what would be considered modern folk songs in the time and place we live in. I don't think the point was to teach children obscure songs that they had never heard of, but rather that they could join in singing that might happen in public places. We used a lot of songs by Wee Sing, which are booklets and CD's of children's songs with different themes. (Christmas, America, Nursery etc.) I felt this covered the spirit of intent in teaching children folk songs and was both fun and easy to incorporate. We often did singing in the car when they were young, since they had to sit anyways, and it was a good way to stave off boredom on car rides.

Great ideas! Thanks for sharing. The important thing is to introduce them to all different kinds of music and see what they like. :)

I love CM ! Good post ! Well
Done !

Wow. I wish I got schooling like that! I unfortunately got put through the horrible school system. Nice music studies. I love writing songs and playing just have not done it in awhile due to my hands being mangled by work. Real nice post!! Upvoted!

Thanks! I went to public school as well, so I'm glad I can provide this education for my kids.

You sound like a real good mom. I am sure your child will get a much better education at home, than at Public schools. :)
God bless!!

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67629.08
ETH 3788.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56