Second language learning and spicy curry

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Image source

As a Malaysian, spicy curry seems like something as common as bread from where I am from, but I remember the fear in my friends' eyes when faced with the prospect of trying curry for the first time. If you have tried curry before, you will know, it's not that bad and the experience was quite fun.

This brings to mind the issue with learning a second language. To avoid confusion, we will talk about learning English as a second language. Second language teachers face a problem when it comes to teaching, for me , the issue is if I should use the students' first language or just teach in the second language.

To that end, I believe that to conceptualize the issue, there are several similarities when it comes to teaching a second language and trying curry for the first time. These are two completely different issues, but I am sure no one wants to hear me ranting over second language learning, thus allow me to spice up the topic. See what I did there?

Translate? Immerse? Or drink the curry?


Image source

Many teachers will be tempted to translate when teaching English to second language learners. The reason is similar to being the only person eating curry for lunch. If you have never seen that before, imagine everyone eating sandwich and someone walks in with a container of curry. The entire room is soaked in that very smell and people will stare, have an awkward look on their face and will start whispering about the weird person who just brought curry for lunch.

That is exactly how I feel teaching English to second language speakers. I started by introducing myself in English, I spoke in English and I asked questions in English. My students stared at me, like all good students do, they had an awkward look (the 'I have no idea what you are talking about but I am going to stare' look), and 30 minutes into the class, they started whispering about me in their mother tongue.

I am sure you would be able to identify with either of the situations above. The teaching method of speaking completely in English is called immersion. It is the same reason many students go to English speaking countries to learn English. It is not because the level of English spoken there is any better, but immersing oneself int he culture and language will speed up the learning process. However, many students may not have the luxury to travel overseas to learn English and it gets rather awkward being in front of the class. The judging eyes, the whispers, not long after that, there will be a voice that whispers in the teacher's head.

Just translate, just one phrase, it is ok.

Immediate results


Image source

That is the voice of the devil. Do not heed it, persevere my fellow second language teacher for it is the same as trying curry for the first time. A friend of mine tried curry for the first time and the results were immediate. If a face had a tap or a flush, curry would be the trigger. As soon as she took the first bite of curry, she flushed, sweat appeared on her forehead and tears started rolling down her eyes. It was as if the fire suppression system of her face had just switched on and it had to put out a certain fire.

That same immediate results is a little different from teaching students English. See, when a teacher desires immediate results, it becomes rather tempting to translate. After all, the students would understand certain terms and concepts better and faster. The thing is, even if the students do understand certain portions of the language, they will not apply the language because they do not have to. Not long after translating for the first time, they will start to expect the teacher to translate all the time and in the end, they may never learn the language.

As such, why not just power through the awkwardness? Teach them, speak to them completely in English or the language that you are teaching. After all, spicy curry only hurts the first time around, once you persevere, pick up that bowl of curry and drink it! Drink it like you mean it! I am sure the next time you go for another curry meal, no curry will ever be too spicy ever again.

Although, I should warn, many people react to curry differently, some may just get to see immediate results coming out the opposite end of the body. What do I mean? Well, I leave it to your imagination.


Image source

Peer pressure

Ultimately, why do we even try curry in the first place? A sense of curiosity or perhaps just to prove to your date that you are strong? Maybe, but many people I know try it out of peer pressure. If everyone is enjoying curry, you do not want to be the only one enjoying plain rice. No, you are cool too and you can handle a little spicy treat, you will do it because society dictates you to and you shall endure that burning sensation in your mouth!

The same goes for teaching English without translating. The thing is if a teacher manages to influence a group of students to start speaking in English, very soon, the whole class will follow. It takes time, but peer pressure always wins in the end and it would not be long that the whole class starts speaking like native English speakers. Although I know, the moment I leave the class, they will start speaking in their mother tongue again.

So do I mean that translating in the class is bad? Not really, I think there is always a time and place for that. However, the reason I am advocating immersing the students in the language first is because if a teacher convinces the class to speak in the language that is being taught, they tend to master it faster.

I hope you enjoy the spicy post today, do let me know your experiences in learning a second language in the comments below.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

First of all, I remember that Unger comic!

Now, I have learned a number of languages, and the teaching method varied from one class to the next. I think it depends on too many factors, including level of proficiency in the language on the part of the students.

The reason you learn a language best in a country where everyone speaks it is because you are put in a situation where you learn the words in context and concept instead of translating them over from language to another. Words have subtly different meanings than the ones you find in direct translation. You end up with a deeper understanding of the language and the words you're using.

I learned some languages on my feet in the country, and some in classes. The importance in classes is that the teacher be a native speaker, and not just a native speaker, but one who really knows the language's grammar and structure. Some native speakers can barely write it, or speak it, for that matter... "Like, then he goes.... and I says to her... " Just an example.

That's right, but sometimes we lack that luxury in terms of native speakers and it can be difficult to define native speakers. For example, I speak English as my native language but it took me two weeks to understand what an aussie or a kiwi was saying when I was studying abroad.

Ahh language..

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Very good post, @alvinauh!

As a former TEFL teacher I completely agree with you.
Although, I have to admit, it does slightly depend on the education level of the class in front of you. For low level classes (not low level English, but low level in general) I learned that it can also help to turn the tables and have the students teach you their language. For they will need to use English to teach you ;-) Worked like a charm!

That's true! I tried that once and they found out I could speak their language haha. My respect goes to tefl teachers, it's not easy especially if the whole class decides to not listen and speak only in their mother tongue

I love how you approached this!! Brilliant piece!

Thanks! Gonna think of other foods to mix with my teaching experience

Never thought of relating learning/teaching English to curry... But the way you put it, it sure does make sense...

So I guess butot next? Hehe

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.78$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I generally use a nuanced approach. Suggestions:

(1) figure which words and constructions most people know (various techniques)

(2) introduce an interesting activity/game that uses many of these words, with some kind of reward for participation in English

(3) give examples of how to use simple English to paraphrase unknown words, then give massive praise each time students do so

nice comparision. Do you think teaching languages in VR could work? We've started working on this: https://steemit.com/vr/@astralship/is-language-learning-a-killer-app-for-vr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75