You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Second language learning and spicy curry

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

First of all, I remember that Unger comic!

Now, I have learned a number of languages, and the teaching method varied from one class to the next. I think it depends on too many factors, including level of proficiency in the language on the part of the students.

The reason you learn a language best in a country where everyone speaks it is because you are put in a situation where you learn the words in context and concept instead of translating them over from language to another. Words have subtly different meanings than the ones you find in direct translation. You end up with a deeper understanding of the language and the words you're using.

I learned some languages on my feet in the country, and some in classes. The importance in classes is that the teacher be a native speaker, and not just a native speaker, but one who really knows the language's grammar and structure. Some native speakers can barely write it, or speak it, for that matter... "Like, then he goes.... and I says to her... " Just an example.

Sort:  

That's right, but sometimes we lack that luxury in terms of native speakers and it can be difficult to define native speakers. For example, I speak English as my native language but it took me two weeks to understand what an aussie or a kiwi was saying when I was studying abroad.

Ahh language..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47