DOUBLE CHOCOLATE SUPERFOOD BROWNIES | STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #41 | VEGAN, ORGANIC, PLANT-BASED, GLUTEN-FREE, NO PROCESSED SUGARsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1523.PNG

These brownies taste like a rich chocolate cake, but they’re only 200 calories and they're made up of superfoods and delicious organic ingredients.

The theme for this week's culinary challenge is monochrome, so I thought I would create a monochrome brownie recipe. From the walnuts, to the hemp hearts, to the cacao nibs, and chocolate ganache, these brownies have an array of brown tones.

FullSizeRender copy 2 copy.jpg

Okay so for those of your who have seen any of my previous posts, its pretty obvious that I'm obsessed with chocolate. But I also care a lot about eating healthy and organic ingredients that are honestly sourced. And therefore I really can't eat processed chocolate what with the chemical additives, excessive processed sugar, and hydrogenated oils (processed oils which are really bad for you). So I had to find a way around this, and that's why I've started making my own versions of all my favourite chocolate treats. The great thing is that once you take out all the above bad components of chocolate and put in superfoods and organic ingredients, chocolate is actually very good for you. And on top of that organic cacao is actually a very potent superfood in itself.

IMG_1347 copy 8.jpg

Health benefits of organic cacao (a.k.a cocoa)

Cacao has the highest amount of iron compared with other plant-based foods. It's also loaded with magnesium which contributes to heart health and brain function. It's a very high source of calcium, and has more calcium than in cow's milk. And because of the natural caffeine components in cacao it's actually a natural mood elevator and gives you a bit of an energy kick. And even though it's not as strong as some other caffeinated foods and drinks, it's a great source of organic caffeine.

For more about the health benefits of the other ingredients in this recipe you can click the links below from my previous posts about them:

Walnuts
Hemp Hearts
Avocados
Sweet Potatoes
Dates

FullSizeRender copy8.jpg

Here's how I did it

Ingredients

BROWNIES

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
1 cup mashed organic sweet potato
1/2 cup organic coconut flour
3 tbsp organic unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tbsp organic peanut butter
1/4 cup organic maple syrup
1/4 cup organic milk (use almond milk or coconut milk for vegan brownies)

GANACHE

20 dates (I used pitted sayer dates)
1 small avocado
1 very ripe organic banana
1 tbsp organic peanut butter
2 tbsp organic unsweetened cocoa powder
1/8 tsp sea salt

TOPPINGS

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
Hemp hearts
Organic unsweetened cacao nibs

*Nutrition information: 215 calories, 1.5 tsps maple syrup per brownie; this recipe makes 9 brownies.

Directions

Preheat your oven to 325 F. In a large mixing bowl combine all the ingredients for your brownies. Mix until well combined, and then fold in your walnut pieces. Next grease a square cake pan with oil (I used organic walnut oil). And add your batter to the pan, spreading it out evenly. Bake for 30 minutes.

IMG_1140 copy.jpg

Take your dates and boil with 1 cup of water for 7 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes. Then place dates in a blender with their liquid and blend until smooth. Next add your banana and avocado to the blender and blend until smooth. Next, empty out the contents of your blender into a large mixing bowl and combine all your ingredients for the ganache and mix well.

FullSizeRender copy 3 copy.jpg

Then once your brownies are done, spread your ganache on top of the brownies, and sprinkle on your walnuts, cacao nibs and hemp hearts. Store in the fridge and they will keep for about a week. Eh voila! Double chocolate superfood brownies!

IMG_1477 copy 8.jpg

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe. It's a great healthy indulgence for a celebration or just to have around the house. And though I wasn't expecting this, the brownies taste just like a rich chocolate cake, but without all the guilt. So if you're a chocolate fan, you will love this.

Much Love,

Natasha


All photos and recipe are mine and original.

For more about me check out my Introduceyourself

And you can also connect with me on Instagram

IMG_1081.jpg


And for more of my guilt-free sweet treats and other healthy recipes click the links below:

Vegan Healthy Banana Splits
Vegan Chocolate Chia Peanut Butter Cups
Vegan Poutine
Vegan Chocolate Chip Superfood Granola
Vegan Chocolate Date Truffles
Vegan Chickpea Curry
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cups
Vegan Chocolate Ginger Cookies
Vegan Pizza and Homemade Pesto
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

FullSizeRender copy.jpg

If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and resteem. And thank you for all your support!

Sort:  

You make me hungry @natshahall...;)

I second that!

Lol glad to hear it! :)

Your brownie looks amazing! This is one of my fav choco dessert. Now, I'm craving for some :-D

These sound simply delicious and guilt free I wish I had one to nibble on now :(!!! Got to give these a try!!!!

Another winner and what a nice touch with the maple syrup

Thank you @azfix! I really appreciate that :)

We love brownies. I'' give your beautiful recipe a try! Good luck. It looks like a winner to me ;)

Thank you @amy-goodrich! So glad you liked it! Let me know how it goes :)

Absolutely beautiful brown monochrome entry @natashahall, from deep to delicate these brownies have many tones and look fantastic! No need to tell me they taste just as good as they look... I am eating one in my head already!!! I love recipes like this, I don't mean because it makes me want to eat (!) but because it shows people how high-quality chocolately treats can be enjoyed as part of a healthy diet, rather than avoided as part of an unhealthy diet! I have no doubt both chocolate and super-food lovers will want to try this recipe out immediately, and surely @progressivechef will find these irresistible as well :-) Good luck!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback @woman-onthe-wing! That's exactly what I was going for. I'm really glad you liked them :)

Gorgeous food post, I love it!

Thanks @gringalicious! I appreciate that :)

The Aaaaao Chocolate wonderful taste, but I could not taste

The Aaaaao Chocolate wonderful taste, but I could not taste

Oh my god it looks so delicious!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72