CHOCOLATE CHIP SUPERFOOD GRANOLA | Original Recipe and Photos | VEGAN, ORGANIC, GLUTEN-FREE, NO-BAKE, NO PROCESSED SUGARsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Happy Wednesday guys!

IMG_9137.PNG

I had so much fun making this, belting it out to my favourite songs and dancing around my kitchen. Because sometimes you just need those moments, right? Haha, well most of those moments for me are in the kitchen, concocting my next recipe. And this one in particular was very enjoyable because I literally just threw all the ingredients in a bowl and I was done. And the result was this tasty, nutritious medley loaded with protein and a ton of superfoods.

This is my kind of comfort food because I can eat it whenever, and it literally makes me feel good, as comfort food should.

IMG_8648 copy.jpg

Why add quinoa to granola?

You might think quinoa is a strange ingredient for granola. And I was definitely hesitant at first about the flavour it would add. But after trying it, I really enjoyed the nutty bite that it gave this recipe.

And on top of that quinoa has an array of health benefits that make it a worthwhile addition to any meal. It's a whole grain (or super grain as some call it) that is rich in antioxidants. It's high in protein, with 8 grams of protein in one cup. It's very high in iron, which is important for the circulation of oxygen in the body. It also contains lysine, a property that contributes to the growth and repair of tissues in the body, like skin, thereby helping to prevent aging. It's very high in the mineral magnesium, which contributes to energy production, healthy teeth and bones, and detoxification processes within the body.

IMG_8771 copy copy.jpg

Walnuts, the superfood that helps you sleep

Walnuts contain a hormone called melatonin, which regulates your body's natural sleep and wake cycles. Eating walnuts before bed is actually a recommended aid for a good night’s sleep.

Additionally, walnuts are high in antioxidants like vitamin E, which helps prevent heart disease. Walnuts also help reduce the risk of diabetes, improve bone health, prevent cancerous cells from forming and improve metabolism.

FullSizeRender copy copy.jpg

Baking or cooking can reduce nutrients in food

There are certain nutrients that are reduced when we bake or apply various forms of heat to our food. Some examples of the nutrients that are diminished are vitamins C, A, D, K, E, B1, potassium, magnesium, sodium and calcium. Moreover, many phytonutrients and other antioxidants present in foods will be completely destroyed if very high heat is applied during cooking. This is also one of the main reasons for eating raw foods.

Why this is a no-bake recipe

I tried this recipe by baking the granola for 10 minutes, and I tried it by not baking at all. And I found that by not baking the granola, I felt much better after eating it. So I let my body be the judge of which I preferred, and I decided that this should be a no-bake recipe for maximum vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.

IMG_8801 copy.jpg

Here's how I did it

Ingredients

1 cup gluten-free rolled oats
1/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1/4 cup walnuts, almonds and pecans, chopped
2 tbsp sunflower seeds
2 tbsp hemp hearts
2 tbsp dried cranberries
2 tbsp cacao nibs
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1-3 tbsp organic maple syrup
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/8 tsp sea salt

IMG_7865 copy 2.jpg

Directions

In a large mixing bowl combine all your dry ingredients.

IMG_7891 copy.jpg

Then melt your coconut oil and let cool. Then add in your liquid ingredients and mix well, tossing to coat as necessary until everything is mixed in and fully coated. Eh voila! You can eat it by itself, with yogurt or a smoothie, or however you want.

This recipe serves 8, at 132 calories per 1/4 cup serving. Store in the fridge in a glass container for up to a week.

FullSizeRender copy copy 2.jpg


And in case you missed it, here's my recipe for Chocolate Date Truffles filled with juicy dates, covered in creamy peanut butter, and dipped in rich vegan "milk" chocolate...

FullSizeRender copy copy resized.jpg


Sources:
https://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4994/7-Benefits-of-Quinoa-The-Supergrain-of-the-Future.html
https://authoritynutrition.com/cooking-nutrient-content/
https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/seed-and-nut/health-benefits-of-walnuts.html

Recipe and photos are mine and original.

You can also connect with me on Instagram

FullSizeRender copy.jpg

If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and resteem. And thank you for all your continued support!

Sort:  

This is so amazing. I am always struggling to find my way to healthy diet. Upvoted and following :D

I see you are from Ontario. I am from toronto :)

Oh wow glad you find it useful! I'm from Toronto, too! Just moved out to the country last year :D I've followed you too. I really like your travel blog series about India. My great grandparents are from India and I've always wanted to visit. Looks beautiful :)

That's amazing @natashahall which part of Toronto ? I am glad you liked them. Even I moved to the country last year haha from India. Where are you from ?
You should visit India its so beautiful ! so many unexplored places. Infact il be going back in couple of weeks!! Excited ! :D

I'm from the annex (downtown) :) I really want to visit! Actually I'm getting together with my great-aunt soon and she's going to show me how to cook some authentic Indian food, like homemade roti. I'm really excited about that. That's awesome that you're going back to India! I look forward to reading about it in your blog :D

Wao, so lucky I wished to live in DT!! because of my college i am staying in scarborough. You should, Let me when ever you make a plan. I would suggest you good places.
Thanks so amazing !! I love roti and Indian home cooked food, been a long time i had tough. Are you born and brought up here ?

@natashahall Thank you for providing awareness on more conscious food choices. Continue to share this precious knowledge and be a positive influence on the vegan community. Much love, Namaste :)

Nice recipe..Dear👌
Followed you ,
Please visit my profile ,hope you like my post and follow me...@saan

keep it coming

looks healthy and should be delicious as well

Yumi, this granola looks great!
I love your blog! :)
Followed

Thanks @tantra! Appreciate the feedback :)

Wow I'm so glad to read your amazing recipe @natashahall! Been quite some days! Hope all fine on your side!
Thanks for your usual great tips!
@progressivechef

Thanks @progressivechef! You're welcome! Oh yeah, nothing to worry about. I've been working on a big surprise I have planned, stay tuned! :D

That's sound really interesting @natashahall! Will surely wait for it!

Looks really good. Nice photos.

Thanks so much @gustoo :)

Wonderful post , Upvoted

Thanks @machhour! Appreciate it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64622.42
ETH 3518.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46