STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #6 : Grilled Italian Peppers Stuffed with Weeds and Smoked FishsteemCreated with Sketch.

Homegrown Italian Roasting peppers are substantial and sweet. Perfect for the grill, stuffed with what? Weeds from my yard, of course!

GC8472a8.jpg


A few weeks ago, I picked the last harvest from my pepper patch. There were some big, sweet, mature Italian Roasting peppers in there. I've kept them in the cool Oregon humidity on my open back porch since then, waiting for something special. And there you go - culinary challenge #6 and who is the judge - who? None other than @papa-pepper. How could I not grill these peppers?

GC71fec4.jpg

It's hard taking proper pepper photos when a cat is demanding attention! Can you say "proper pepper photos" ten times real fast?



So I wanted to make Stuffed Grilled Peppers. The question, is what will I stuff them with? Of course, the answer is weeds! The grilled peppers will have a sweet, smoky flavor, so I wanted some weeds that would stand up well to that. My choice? Wild chives, wild field mustard, and garden escape artist Jerusalem artichokes. Neither chives nor field mustard are hot, but they do have substantial flavor. The Jerusalem artichokes, when lightly cooked so they are still crisp, have a wonderful substantial smoky flavor themselves.

GC1404b5.jpg

Left to right: The weeds I picked - wild chives, wild field mustard, and the tubers of Jerusalem artichoke. Note: the leaves around the tubers are a different plant that is not edible.



The challenge said this was supposed to be a main course. So I added two tins of Golden Smoked Herring to my weeds. I chopped the chives and field mustard very fine. I chopped the Jerusalem artichokes into small pieces, too. I used the smaller tubers that I found, because I didn't need to peel them for this recipe. I will tell you that those 4 ingredients mixed together, with the liquid form the tins of fish, is wonderful! Uncooked, by itself, that would make a great salad!

GC253d06.jpg

Recipe ingredients: Italian roasting peppers, wild field mustard, Jerusalem artichokes, Golden Smoked herring, and wild chives. That's all.



So then I just carefully cut the tops off the peppers and took out the seeds. Because the peppers are fully ripe, I am saving these seeds for planting next year. These are great peppers and I want to keep growing them.

I stuffed the peppers with my weed mix. I made sure to get the stuffing all the way to the bottom of the peppers. And I packed those peppers tight. I ended up using all of the stuffing. Then I put the caps back on the peppers and stuffed my peppers into some grill cages that were just the right size. If these peppers had been a half-inch longer, they wouldn't have fit. But fit they did - just right!

GC3a7813.jpg



While I was preparing my peppers, I was also getting a good bed of coals in one of my outdoor fire areas. This is an old freestanding metal fireplace that I have on a stand. It's great this time of year, because the fire is higher off the ground. So the heat it throws out is higher, too - just right for sitting around the fire when it's cold.

Once the coals were set, I propped the grill cages on top of a couple fire-bricks in the fireplace. And let them cook. The goal is to cook the peppers slow enough to cook the stuffing, but to also char the outside skin of the pepper. I hung out by the fire and turned the grill cages, so that all four sides got charred by the coals. It took less than 20 minutes. I was glad it wasn't raining, like it has for about 90% of the days since October 1st, here in Oregon's Willamette Valley.

GC5fc92c.jpg

It was hard to get a good picture of the peppers grilling over the coals, in the natural fire light, as you can see in the upper right. So I used a flash for the picture in the lower right. The fire isn't a pretty, but you can see the peppers cooking.



Once the peppers were cooked through, I brought the cages back into the kitchen and covered them with a towel. That lets the heat and moisture of the hot peppers loosen the charred skin on the peppers. While I was waiting, I grilled some polenta over the coals, too. And made a simple salad of chopped dandelion greens and an elephant garlic vinaigrette.

It only takes about 5 minutes under the towel for the pepper skins to loosen up. Then I removed the peppers from the grill cages and peeled off the charred skin, which was now loose. That leaves a soft, sweet pepper with a wonderful smoky char flavor. It really gets the best flavor out of these Italian roasters.

GC4b678b.jpg

Upper left: the grilled peppers. Upper right: tucked under a towel. Bottom: removing the skin of the peppers is easy now. The ones on the left have been done, the ones on the right are still waiting.



Then I had a great dinner, an absolutely great dinner. The Jerusalem artichokes were just right - still a little crispy, with their smoky flavor fully developed. The smoky flavors of the herring and the grilled peppers went together perfectly - and the greens inside had enough flavor to come through, too. With a little cabernet and dried homegrown figs, this was a meal good enough to serve company. If I had this at restaurant, I'd be really happy. Highly, highly recommended!

GC6d519c.jpg

As usual, I got so involved in my food, I forgot to put my Steemit note beside it before I ate it. But at least I remembered when I was done. So I have put my name of each image, like the rules require.


What Do You Think?

Have you grown or used this kind of large Italian Roasting Pepper? Do you like grilled peppers? Would you eat this dinner, even with weeds in it? Do you eat wild field mustard or dandelion greens? I want to hear from you!

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent entry, we will see what the judge thinks....

I'm hoping for the best... They are peppers. They are red peppers. They are long red peppers. They are grilled, long, red peppers. Over a fire. They have weeds in them. They are delicious!

A former coworker of mine used to hate it when I'd eat that exact brand of canned fish for lunch in the work van.

haha - Long ago, I learned not to eat sardines or hard-boiled eggs crowded on an airplane. I did not think of it myself. My manners have gotten much better, lol. I like those Brunswick Herrings, what can I say? They are low on the oceanic food chain and a sustainable fisheries. They are Canadian, so the oversight on their catch and by-catch is decent. And they are delicious! I'm glad to hear someone else likes them, too. As a Canadian, they are your heritage! :D

Wow! Thanks, @englishtchrivy! It sure looks nice on the red background, too. I was glad to still have those peppers from my garden. They are such a perfect variety for grilling. Thanks for your work to keep the culinary challenge going - I know it's a lot of effort.

@haphazard-hstead thanks
I didn't have anything to do with the result - they're really @papa-pepper's choice, I have shared it to you once, I guess, I really dislike judging :D

That's the trouble with contests, isn't it -- the judging! It's great that in this challenge that everyone got something!

@haphazard-hstead you should try ;) - wanna experience it, too? kidding :D

hahahahahahahahahaha ; )

@haphazard creative !
good luck!

Thanks! I don't use recipes much. I just look at what I've got from my garden and what weeds are out in my yard, lol. I've got a lot of weeds. :O

@haphazard-hstead haha - maybe I should let some grow - they don't stand a chance in mine :D OC hahah

haha -- This is the "haphazard" homestead here, so the weeds have a lot of freedom, lol. :D

Very nicely chronicled. Did you have some nice Italian red wine with that?Perhaps a bottle of Montepulciano d'Abruzzo. I'm sure that @papa-pepper will find this hard to resist!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks. I'm on the US West Coast. I should have had a local Willamette Valley wine. But it was a coastal California Cabernet Sauvignon. I'm hoping these Red Peppers do the trick, even though they aren't one of the super-hot varieties he favors.

Perhaps.... Perhaps...

You have just become my role-model! This is fantastic, I'm too excited right now to reply properly (my mind is going too fast to keep up), but thank you so, so much for sharing and inspiring!! :D

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed my post. I rely on my yard for a lot of my food. I have a lot of weeds, lol. It's amazing how many of them are really good to eat. And if you garden, these peppers are a great variety to grow. Thanks for commenting!

My overall goal is to get where you seem to be. I will definitely keep my eyes on your posts, seriously inspirational AND informative - Thanks again!

You will get there - the weeds and other plants are just waiting for you to get to know them! They are all around you. : )

Absolutely right, I appreciate your words 8)

Beautiful @haphazard-hstead! I"m in love with your out-door fireplace/hearth.
Is it vintage 1970's?

Oh yes, vintage all the way. Probably 1970s, although that style has been around longer. I've got it raised up on an sturdy old metal file-cabinet. You can't tell what the base is, but it's fireproof and sturdy. Just right. I've got a removable stove-pipe for it, so I can easily cover the whole thing up against the weather. It's really nice to have.

I love it! So nice that the opening is wide so that it fits a grilling basket. Very versatile.

It's good for roasting marshmallows, too. : )

That is true with the wide opening! I'm still working on a marshmallow recipe, involving marshmallow root. Do you have marshmallow growing at your place?

No, I don't. I have common mallow, but not the real-deal marsh mallow. would love to see somebody actually use the marsh mallow root to make marshmallows. So cool.

these are beautiful, fantastic execution. Good luck, so glad I am not the judge.

Thanks. There are always so many good entries in the culinary challenge. I was glad to think of a way to get some weeds in here, lol. I have a lot of weeds in my yard. I'm glad so many of them are very good to eat, too. :D

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Congrats on first place. I am so glad I was not the judge.

Thanks, @gringalicious! I just found out - what a nice surprise. I think it would be hard to judge these culinary challenges. It's always fun to try, though. We at least get good food out of the effort, lol! :D

Thanks! Those Italian Roasters are a great pepper variety.
I'll have to go look at your post - I haven't seen it yet. Thanks for putting the link here. I think I miss too many good posts!

This one was written because I found info on Phytophtora after our coonversation and decide to post...so I wouldn't forget!

That's a good approach for creating Steemit posts! I enjoyed reading that - even though the subject is not pleasant. I wouldn't mind genetic engineering to deal with the Phytophtora!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57