My scientific approach to the most feared question of them all - "What's your favorite song?" (Steemitbloggers contest)

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago (edited)

Sooo the first warmup round of drinking after my thesis is done and I actually don't even have a hangover. I guess I'll have to go harder tonight :D But before I put it all on the line in the bar, I have to take care of #steemibloggers contest organized by @zord189. And what a torture this dude came up with. YOUR FAVORITE SONG! You can't even come up with a worse question, can you?!

text10.png

We forget so fast...

Hm...when I was thinking how to do this. I had no idea really. Thousands and thousands of such amazing songs..And then, all of a sudden, I knew how. My academic journey ended just yesterday with my thesis presentation (PLUG: I've hidden 10 Steemit logos in each slide ;)) and I've already almsot forgotten what did I learn there.

If you don't know what to do, choose science to decide for you

Soo yeah, let's conquer this challenge with measurable, reproducable and reasonable steps.

Study methodology

I'm gonna go through 3 steps. These are:

  1. Define criteria which a favorite song should excel at
  2. Select candidates for the title
  3. Add scores to every song, aggregate the results and see what "science" says my favorite song is :)

Step #1: Song criteria

I guess the favorite song should definitely be something more than just a song. It should definitely bind on some life milestone and moment. It should also totally effect your future music choices as well, maybe even steer you to start listening the whole new genre. Another must-have is sparking up an emotion within you - be it sadness, laughter or goosebumps. Just something.

Soo yeah, the scoring criteria to consider are:

  1. Connection to important life milestone
  2. Effect on future music choices
  3. Emotions the song triggers

Step 2: Candidates

Oh poor me :/ Even this on it's own is already a crazy task. My heart bleeds skipping soo many amazing songs. But let's stay strong and go for it..I nominate:

Hahha I swear this took me 40 minutes.. To just choose these. So many left behind. Pink floyd, 2pac, Marleys....man, @zord189 I totally hate you right now, killing my Saturday morning :D No joke! It's also funny that I've submitted mostly sad/emotional songs altho at least 50% ofmusic I listen to is pretty hard/non-emotional rap music ideal for workouts :D Or then loads of dancehall and reggae ideal for partying :D


Like here for exaple :D

Step 3: Evaluation

Ok, let's continue this torture. I'll write a short text to each song and then sum it all up in the tabular form. In the Uni, professors always liked tables haha :D

  • Jolene (Miley Cyrus/Dolly Parton)- Well this one brings many many memories. I've got to know this song in Pakistan and it became our anthem with other interns who where there with me in 2014. So many lasting friendships formed. We sang this one all over the country, every trip, every hotel. And most of the evening in the dorms. It didn't really effect my music choices tho as I havent heard any other song from Miley or Dolly ever. And emotions. It deffo brings emotions, they might be connected with those life milestones tho.
  • DSC_0191.JPG
    Joleeene, Joleeene, Joleene-Joleeeeneee :))

  • Zombie (The Cranberries) - Hm. Zombie has been present in my playlists since my basic school. I remember my mum listening to it when I was really small. But that brings up some bad childhood memories as well soo not that many points here. This song made me listen to the Cranberries in general, but also didn't really steer me that much. But the song is just amazing, that's why I've been listening to it for years.
  • Motivacia (Moja Rec) - Haha this one is an ace! I smoked my first joint listening to this. And then in the evening back home, I discovered the whole new world of Slovak rap music. It was literally lifechanging for me because I've been listening to slovak rap ever since. There are no big emotions connected to the song tho as it's kinda layed back a bit

  • Little did I know while smoking that first one listening to this song, that couple of years later, I'll be doing the same thing in front of all the parents during my graduation party :D

  • Sun Raha Hai Na Tu (Aashiqui 2 soundtrack) - Oh. This one connects to 3 big moments in my life. Got to know it in Pakistan, driving through the poorest villages I've ever seen. While this was playing, I was literally touching uncharted territory of my emotions :D Sounds funny but true. I couldn't believe my eyes. Then I've finally seen the film when the girl I fell in love in Pakistan visited me in Innsbruck. And then I've been listening to the song in India, sleepers class trains during the loong nights, looking out of the window. It also made me look up more indian music and especially Aashiqui 2 songs. But on the other side, I liked such music before already. And regarding emotions. There's an endless spring of emotions it creates in me. I feel we got a pretty strong candidate here :)
  • Vsetko ma svoj koniec (Kontrafakt) Haha this one right here has literally zero chance to win. But yet, it's funny that I had to put it here. If the contest would be my favorite band, I guess Kontrafakt would be it. I know their every album by heart. There's just not this big one song from them to submit here. But all those songs are around 8/10 which adds up for my favorite band I guess. Also this one made me accept new direction Kontrafakt decided to go - from underground more into mainstream.
  • Mockingbird (Eminem) - This one has been a go to song for some tough times hah. Funny thing is, I don't actually remember them. I just know that when something hits me, I put on this song. Despite being melancholical, it sooths me and makes my thoughts clearer. I liked Em before this one already soo no big changes caused by this one. Emotions from this one are big. And it's exactly these emotions which actually sooth my other emotions down. So they kind of eliminate each other. Dunno what I'm writing right now :D

Sooo the scores are

I hope I'll be able to count correctly with the hangover I have right now hah :D

SongLife milestonesFuture music choicesEmotionsSum
Jolene104923
Zombie 76821
Motivacia 610521
Sun Raha Hai Na Tu 1071027
Vsetko ma svoj koniec37616
Mockingbird64818

Ladies and gentlemen..and the winner is....

Sun Raha Hai Na Tu!!! There are actually 2 versions of the song, male and female. I deffo like the female version more. Here's the link and enjoy :)

Ok, before I go, I want to once again say that I hate @zord189 for this! And now, after the research has been conducted..

I can proudly say, that my favorite song is a Bollywood soundtrack I don't understand a word from hahaha :D Kinda embarrasing but I just love that song...it shows music really is about emotions :)

Thanks for reading! Matko.

You can find my latest posts here:

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Ty tvoje "poklady z mládí" mě vždycky dostanou :D It takes some balls to bring them to the public :D

Haha ktore teraz? :D sak ved tam nie je nic take hrozne ci? :D

To žlutomodré s červenou beranicí na první fotce nejsi ty? :D

Jaaj :D No...mozno som :D

Hahahah, I wouldn't think you are a rapper boy.. I don't know why :D

I've just noticed that I missed to comment on this one..

Ahaha I know why. Cuz you think of rap music being stupid/primitive and find me an intelligent boy :D I can't complain about that tho :D But yeah, rap is quite a big part of my memory card :D

Hahahahaha, no, you look like a guy listening to funk music :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thankssss! :)

Hahaha love the scientific approach to the contest and how you picked a song you don't know the words to - it is true though, sometimes, it's just the emotion and feeling of a song that comes through regardless. Definitely blame @zord189, it's what everyone else is doing... nothing to do with me whatsoever :D

Thanks for entering the contest :)

Yepp it's the weird thing about the music which comes from somewhere more deep :) That you just freaking love it and can't even say why haha :D

You just planted 0.08 tree(s)!


Thanks to @mofo-hunter

We have planted already 6230.71 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 29486.07
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Great article! Maybe sometimes the scientific method needs a little refinement :)
Came from @edje's curation blog.

Oh nice, I didn't even know there's some @edje who curated me hah :) Going there now :)

WHAAATTTT !!

You reminded me of that epic movie 😂😃 I used to collect all the songs. I really like the movie and it has a very sad ending.... spoiler alert

Also mockingbird used to be one of my favorite song back in the day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhh hahaha you're the worst spoiler alerter in this world :D You first say the what happens and then add the alert haha :D Thx god I've seen the movie already :D

Waaa that’s hard decisions 😩 to much songs in my head 😩But jeah, zombie and jolene ❤️❤️ Do you know soundgarden - black hole sun ? Amazing sooong !! 😊😊

Oh you know Jolene as well? I totally love that songgggg :) Nope, I'm going to give it a chance right now

Jeah and and original is still rocking :) and perfect Sunday morning song for me today: three little birds - bob marley ☺️😊 always gets me in the good mood, especially in this weather 😊

That was a fun read. Science is great for things like this. AAAANNNNDDD I've discovered a new genre of music thanks to you. :-)

That is? Bollywood music? :D

Yup, Bollywood. It's got a fun, happy beat!

The scientific approch is approved 😉 you PASSED this exam to! Did you Hide any logo here to?
Love jolene too and @zord189 hahaha he is going to have a bad weekend ohh and dont forget judge @nickyhavey

: ) ngehehhe

Oh he's the judge? Shit, just talked to him on Discord haha, I should have blow some smoke up his ass so he chooses me hahahha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86