Curation Rewards Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

blogtitle_curation_part1.png

Imgur

In one of my previous post I wrote about the fact that I changed my voting strategy. This change has lead to a very positive impact on my curation rewards.

This article about curation will consist of two parts. In the first post I will explain my strategy and in the second post I will crunch the numbers for you.

Imgur


votingpart_header.png

If you missed my post about how to earn higher curation awards check it out here.

It basically comes down to voting on minnows who post great content instead of upvoting the authors who are regulars on the trending pages.
This change in voting behaviour has led to 2 interesting developments.

The first thing that happened is that I made it into the Top 200 of effective Steemit curators who actively support newcomers. I was ranked #186 two weeks ago and in quite good company I might add. You can find the list here.

The second thing is that I was ranked 2nd on a list that compared the % of curation rewarded Steem Power in relation to amount of Steem Power owned. It basically means that the my voting strategy is quite effective. You can find the great post about curation by @abh12345 here.

The fact that I am relatively high ranked as a supporter of my fellow minnows and the high ranking on the rewarded Steem Power list is not a coincidence but a direct result of my new voting strategy.


part_of_the_gameplan_banner.png

Imgur


The_How.png

It takes time to curate posts and to get good curation rewards you need to find those rare gems and get those votes in early. Since HF19 (that's Hard Fork 19 or software update 19 for those who are not familiar with the terminology) your voting power allows you to get 10 votes in (at 100%). Remember to spread those votes around or your voting power will decrease. If you have a slider it might be a good idea to split those votes into 30 votes at 30%.

Next thing to do is find some great authors. My advise is to join a minnow project that focuses on promoting good authors. A couple of examples are Qurator, Make-a-whale, circle of friends and Eco train.
Find those quality posts and check out all of the author's other posts.
There are a couple of things to take into consideration:

  • Is the author consistently putting out quality posts?
  • Is the author engaged with the community?
  • Is this a author you see getting high rewards in the future based on the material he or she is posting?
  • Is the author posting regularly?
  • Most important, do you like what the author is posting?

If the answers to these questions are all yes then you have a winner.
If you have selected your favorite authors it is time to get your votin' on.
Decide on how you want to spread your votes.
For example I spread my votes around at 30% but keep 2-3 100% for quality posts I might happen to stumble on. So around 25 of my votes go to my fellow minnow authors I feel are putting out quality posts. The rest goes to other authors who are not on my list (and the occasional dolphin).
Because I am not able to access Steemit during working hours I use Steemvoter to automate my voting.

I do make it a habit to visit the posts I voted on afterwards though (if time allows).


dayjob_banner2.png

Imgur


the_results.png

In the upcoming second part of my Curation Strategy, I will break down the numbers. I will analyze one week of curation and list the names of the Steemians I upvoted and the rewards I received.
I will share the total amount of the payout I received from curation to show how profitable this upvoting strategy really is.

Stay tuned for part 2 of my Curation Strategy


dont_forget_to_leave_a_comment_darkerblue_banner.png

Imgur


newbrandsignaturefinalscaled2.png


Imgur


recommendedpostsbannerdarkerblue.png

tools_of_the_trade_banner.png

unappreciatedposts_banner.png

anime_morals_banner.png


recommended_header_darkerblue.png

new_whypowerupbanner.png

Imgur

Sort:  

I 'll go through that once again....But what if you would just like your article to be seen by more people. Usually that is the biggest problem. You take few hours to find good material, write it down, and in the end your article is seen by less than 20 people

My man, I got your back. The solution is to join a minnow support group or project. Qurator, Make-a-whale, circle of friends and Eco train are all good initiatives to help you build a network and get your posts some extra attention.

I'm not too fond (hate :-s) the ones that require to resteem their posts. I feel like I'm advertising them to my own followers. I do not intend to grow by spreading 'spam' which doesn't bring much value to my followers.

Ok, I now for a fact that with Qurator you are not required to resteem.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @xervantes
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @xervantes to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Xervantes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

With the amount of time I spend upvoting I should be following these tips.. but I’m pretty lazy and just stick with those I appreciate.

The strategy is really more about upvoting authors than posts. If the authors are consistent in their quality of posts then you can reap the benefits and use a small portion of your voting power for those posts that you come across while cruisin' the Steemit site.

Thanks for the information about your strategy. I'm still learning about all of this.

Don't worry, everyone here is still learning. Nobody has all the answers, only by researching and experimenting are we finding some answers to unanswered questions.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 11.06 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @xervantes. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Keep up the great work (-: Upvoted

Thanks, @clumsysilverdad. Stay tuned for part 2, I will present graphs and numbers to back up my strategy.

And another nice post. I just did the math for myself. I don't understand the math of 1.33 curation rewards / 170 SP = 0.78% effectiveness. Not too bad I guess.

I don't get that at all. What is the formula to calculate?

Very helpful to get a sense what works best on Steemit. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34