Sort:  

Use the savings account feature and hacked account recovery will do email / phone verification. Steemit has the most secure hosted wallet on any blockchain.

Thanks @dan for your input. Other's are smart enough not to leave too much liquid steem or sbd on their account but others are still getting caught out. I guess you can't avoid that in any platform.

As @gyro said other mums and dads who uses the platform don't have a clue about the different type of keys and they just keep using the master password and probably leaving liquid steem and sbd in their wallet not in their savings account or not putting it in straight in SP.

I admit I am one of those mums and dads who keep using their master password until now. I dove in to this platform and learn as I go. I'm just lucky not to reveal my password somewhere else and making sure that I keep everything in SP rather than leaving it too long in liquid steem.

However, others are still get caught out. I just hope we all learn from their mistakes. We just need to raise awareness as this post is doing. Others, witnesses or members, are also doing a great job in raising awareness when someone gets hacked or make a mistake or other scams out there.

Thanks for the link @foovler, it is hard to understand how others leave their liquid steem and sbd in there for too long and not putting it in a savings or SP. But it did happen.

yeah i think 2FA is a great idea for more security ... If applicable

It would be great if 2FA or sms verification will be implemented but according to @gtg and @dan it might not be possible. We just hope they are looking at working for a solution for extra security.

It is a very safe platform if we make a habit of using our posting key rather that our master password as @gtg said.

We just keep on steeming and raising awareness if something or someones account is compromised or when hacker have new method of getting our account.

I appreciate your bringing up these issues, @webcoop. And you have received a lot of great feedback and information from a lot of people more knowledgeable and experienced in this platform. I have learned a lot from reading the replies that others have made here, so thanks everyone! I first learned about the difference between the signing keys from an article by @jerrybanfield as I was just getting started. If it wasn't for my stumbling across his article I don't know how long it would have been to figure it out. I think that there needs to be some kind of explanation of the keys on the initial sign up page to alert people to this issue right as they get started on Steemit because this is a first exposure to multiple signing keys and cryptowallets for many users. I have upvoted and followed you now, and am looking forward to more great content from you! I followed your link to this article from your submission on @enazwahsdarb 's contest #6. Cheers!

Thank you very much @mitneb. I made silly mistakes when I just started up but lucky enough not to put out my private keys or password out there in the open.

After posting this article I did some changes in the way I use my keys like @gtg says only use posting keys for daily use

@webcoop, I do the same thing, and I always double check that I am logged in using the correct key after I have logged in with my master key. I just don't trust that I will be logged in correctly until I have verified it. I have discovered a convenient way to be sure. I attempt to make a change to my profile, such as adding a word to my "about me" section, and attempting to update the change. If the system won't let me make the update then I know I am logged in with my posting key.

This post received a 3.64% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @webcoop! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Double authentification could work. Most of us use google authenticator or authy already when transacting with various exchanges anyway.

I don't really know how this decentralized platform works and why it can't have other safety features like email notification / verification, SMS notification or 2FA verification.

I have posted this hoping that some of the developers or people who have more knowledge on the platform can give us answers.

Obviously, I'm not a techy. What I meant was also 2FA. How it's called keeps slipping my mind. I personally used it only when I learned about it here on Steemit.😅☺
Anyway, I am with you in hoping the experts could introduce such security features.^

-((( This is bad, but you can change the password. -))

yes you can change the password. Unfortunately some beginners are using their password for their day to day log in so when that is lost that hacker or whoever saw that password could get in and change the password or can take full control of that account.

But as what @gtg replied, we might not have more security feature going to be build for the platform but he did mention great tips on making our accounts more secure.

Yes we need increased security, 2FA, I have been wondering why its not implemented and yet to find an answer from an actual developer on the topic, I am sure they are thinking about it. (I hope at least)

You have to give your mobile when you sign up so why not a txt verification to your mobile number? (yes I know costs to send txts but that could be worked around, Id be happy to pay for a txt to secure my account) When doing the important business of transfers etc.

Typing in any key, is totally insecure if some has put a keylogger on your PC bam your gone. HP laptops had the sound card firmware hacked and came from the factory with keyloggers built in, making it easy for any one to take your passwords.

So security is very basic at the moment and does need to be addressed thank you for this important article.

Even if Steemit.com has 2FA, hackers could still make transaction on the block chain if they have you password, owner or active key. Someone would need to invent a 2FA system for the blockchain. Think about bitcoin it doesn't have 2FA and people have millions there.

This post has received a 37.50 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @webcoop. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.59 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @webcoop. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45