You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Desperate Plea For A Better Security For Steemit Wallet.

in #steemit7 years ago

I appreciate your bringing up these issues, @webcoop. And you have received a lot of great feedback and information from a lot of people more knowledgeable and experienced in this platform. I have learned a lot from reading the replies that others have made here, so thanks everyone! I first learned about the difference between the signing keys from an article by @jerrybanfield as I was just getting started. If it wasn't for my stumbling across his article I don't know how long it would have been to figure it out. I think that there needs to be some kind of explanation of the keys on the initial sign up page to alert people to this issue right as they get started on Steemit because this is a first exposure to multiple signing keys and cryptowallets for many users. I have upvoted and followed you now, and am looking forward to more great content from you! I followed your link to this article from your submission on @enazwahsdarb 's contest #6. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thank you very much @mitneb. I made silly mistakes when I just started up but lucky enough not to put out my private keys or password out there in the open.

After posting this article I did some changes in the way I use my keys like @gtg says only use posting keys for daily use

@webcoop, I do the same thing, and I always double check that I am logged in using the correct key after I have logged in with my master key. I just don't trust that I will be logged in correctly until I have verified it. I have discovered a convenient way to be sure. I attempt to make a change to my profile, such as adding a word to my "about me" section, and attempting to update the change. If the system won't let me make the update then I know I am logged in with my posting key.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50