The Dark Side Of Steemit And The Importance Perception

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

With all the new growth on Steemit in the last 50 days, a dark side of Steemit is growing and it can't be helped. 

When new people hear about Steemit it is on the back of the largest bump in crypto history and they are probably being told they can make a lot of money just blogging.  When people come with the attitude that they are going to get rich, and get rich quick, they will be disappointed.  

Regardless of what you have been told, it still takes skill and hard work to grow and make money on Steemit.  There is a dark side growing that is full of people that are mad that whales don't look at their stuff and complain that they are not getting views. 

Most of these people are not putting in the work or just don't have the skill. The biggest problem is also one that we are seeing in our society right now, and that is some people don't understand how the world works. You can't just do stuff and expect to get paid. You can't just open a restaurant and expect to make money. It takes strategy. It takes skill and it takes hard work. 

The same can be said on Steemit. Just because you write a long blog, doesn't mean that you should get paid. It means you wrote a long blog. Only when people see value in it will you start to make money.  The more skill you have in writing and designing your strategy to get people to look at your work then the better chance you have to succeed.  

When you are focused so much on what you get out of Steemit, you won't be successful here. Only when you focus on what value you can provide the Steemit community will you start to be successful. The rewards should be an after thought. Each blog you should be proud of, regardless of how much you make. It takes time, effort and skill.

There is a dark side growing and it is full of people upset that Steemit didn't work for them. Well you know what, the truth is, they didn't work for Steemit and they are not alone. For example.

@GrantCardone

Grant Cardone is a badass. He is smart and he hustles his ass off to make his money. He teaches people how to sell and is great at what he does. He has a huge presence on social media and when he came to Steemit he thought he was going to dominate. Well, the same thing happened to him... I guarantee it.

His perception of Steemit wasn't realistic. He didn't realize that this isn't like most social media, here you actually have to interact with people one on one and provide unique content to this platform. It isn't something you can get one of your interns to do.  That is why he hasn't posted here in a week. I love Grant Cardone, and still watch his YouTube stuff, but not on Steemit. He doesn't value the platform, he is just trying to profit from it and it is evident to the real Steemonians. I hope he makes an effort one day.

The point is, you can't expect to get rich and you definitely can't expect to do it quickly. You have to keep your focus on adding value to Steemit and its users. When you focus on adding value, then you will start to become more valuable. If your focus is on making yourself money, then you are missing out on the best part of Steemit. The community. Don't join the dark side. Be a force for the light.

Blog inspired by Yoda - https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/re-if-steemit-is-to-survive-and-thrive-it-needs-to-get-fairer#@walkingkeys/re-yoda1917-re-walkingkeys-re-yoda1917-re-if-steemit-is-to-survive-and-thrive-it-needs-to-get-fairer-20170628t145628959z

I hope you found value in this blog. If you are new here, you might like some of these other blogs. 

Thank you for reading and please continue the discussion in the comments below. Also resteem to help bring more people to the discussion


Sort:  

This is great, I love the fact that the top producers here on Steemit are those that really dedicate themselves to it, interact with the community, and don't just copy/paste their content from other platforms(or others content which is becoming a problem!). This is a special place and I'm looking forward to seeing it continue to grow over the years!

Great post! I think your content needs to be more visible so I re-steemed. Looking forward to reading more. Cheerz

Thank you so much @bitminter. I really appreciate it. Thank you for the support!

Well said, its hard to make a following here, but the follow for follows crowd arent helping themselves, they have loads of followers, none of whom want to read any of their content. They are then suprised they have loads of followers but arent making money.

It is hard. I have found the most success by following every person that comments on my blogs. I tell them I am doing it to. lol, I find that is working for me. I also reply to everyone that posts on my stuff. Thanks so much for reading. I really appreciate the ongoing support.

I upvote most comments that arent junk, and I like to comment on stuff that I found engaging, because it ususally made me want to say something back :)

And that is how it should be in my opinion. Just because people write stuff doesn't mean it is valuable. lol I really appreciate your support. I think people like you and me are going to do fine on Steemit. We'll be whales one day.

Interesting, I've got surprised when you mentioned @grantcardone here lol... I followed him the same day that he did his first post @steemit. I like this steemit site the first time I did my first post, I got one upvote and that's it enough motivation to create more and more!, I don't see that Dark Side like a bad side of @steemit, I love it! because there are no easy money and it means a sustainability of the platform and a great opportunity of the creators, enterpreneurs, others.

I think @grantcardone have a system that works excellent for him in other networks of course, I think he is probably just testing the platform, Steemit doesn't have a LIVE option isn't? to share with all the community like Facebook and Youtube does, @grantcardone is doing his thing in live lately, I think it is just the begining @steemit

It is valid that you said that about @grantcardone in comparation of people like @dollarvigilante that earn more than $15000 in his first post Dollar vigilante is now on steemit 11 monts ago, that was one simple post but he is a big influencer too, not a super great post but he got that reward lol and he is continuosly making content with value @Steemit.
Thanks for your post, this is an amazing site and growing with value
Pd: Excuse me if my english isn't too good for you
Treinor

I love Grant Cardon and I support him, but Steemit isn't the right fit for him. I was actually happy that what he was trying didn't work. It proves that Steemit is a wise audience and is picky with what they upvote. That is good. That means that Steemit focused and Steemit only content will do best.
I really appreciate you reading and your english is great. Thanks for your reply and you picked up a new follower to help you on your steemit journey.

No problem :)
I'm following you too

Well said! Why you do something will determine how you do it.

YES!!! Very true. Thank you so much for reading. I really appreciate it.

Lol! We were obviously inspired by the same blog post this morning. Glad to see like-minded people here.

lol, I will check that out. You picked up a new follower. Thanks for reading and stopping by. I bet we were inspired by the same post. lol I hope there are not more like that circling around.

Awesome! Followed you too

Thank you!!! BTW I was once a magic player. Long time ago in the late 90's lol

So, I'm 100% sure that you and I were typing our posts on this topic at the same time...have any of your followers picked up on the popularity of your post and regurgitated the same opinion in their own words with different stock photos? That's the kind of stuff that really turns me off of the platform. Everyone wants to bitch about the whales, but it's the minnows who will eat you alive.

Another great post! I think it's really important that those of us who are here for more than just money continue to write, and promote quality content. That's how this platform will grow!

Thanks for the continued support. I agree with you 100%. Thank you!

Great post! I did not come here to get rich, but to be free in what I post. Youtube has become a Nazi State and censors way to much content.

Thank you so much for reading. I really appreciate it. This is a very freeing place. You have the right attitude, and the money is just a bonus! Thank you. You picked up a new follower.

Excellent post and spot on advice. The Steem is strong with this one.

Interesting insight. I'd like to belive that Steemit will remain a platform of good content simply because it needs an effort to make the content widely recognizable. I'm still walking in the darkness a little bit but hope to get some real profit (both financial and personal ;) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21