The 10 Ways I Got 300 Followers & Generated Over $500 In My First 2 Weeks On Steemit. You Can Too.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This blog is less about me and more about how you can replicate my success and learn how to make money on Steemit quick. I joined Steemit two weeks ago and since then, I've been able to build up a decent amount of awesome followers, generate over $500 from my activity and figured out how to really take the next step. 

This blog is less about me, and more about teaching you some tips about how to be successful. I hope you learn something from this. If you do, please resteem it and help other awesome Steemonians.


1. Find your voice

There are a lot of things that I like to talk about and things that I like to share. I'm interested in just about anything and wanted to share the world with Steemit when I got here. I quickly learned that the Steemit world didn't want to see that kind of stuff. lol.

It took me about 50 posts on my blog and almost two weeks before I figured out what worked for me. So far I have found that my humor and my desire to help people are the two things that resonate the best with my followers and fellow Steemonians. 

I wouldn't have known if I didn't test different ideas and put in the work to find out. Try different things when getting started and work to find your voice. When people start really commenting and voting on your post, then you know you have something. Find ways to expand on that.


2. Actually read blogs and reply

Of course you can fake it, and make someone think you read their stuff to get that follow, but you are really missing out. There is a lot of great content on here and people spend a lot of time on them. When you really take the time to read and engage, not only will you learn something probably, but you will pick up a higher quality follow. Somebody that will go to your page and return the favor.

Reading the blogs could also spark a conversation that could generate you some extra rewards.  Think about it, when you take the time to write something that is good, you want people to read it. Do the same and respond. Be gracious and thought provoking or witty in your comment and you could see several upvotes netting you a few bucks.


3.  Mindset

If you think pennies you get pennies. If you think dollars, you get STEEM dollars. Here's the deal. From the beginning, you have to start with the mindset that every vote, every reply and every follower is important and valuable. I make an honest effort to reply to every single comment on my posts. I don't do it to get more of the payout, but to interact with the people most likely to become fans of mine. 

For the first week almost 60% of my revenue came from comments. Why? It was my mindset. Treat every person like a whale and you will succeed. It reminds me of this clip from the movie Ray.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Don't think pennies, think dollars. Treat every person like they are worth a million bucks. Reply to everyone, thank everyone and treat everyone like a whale. 


4. Go whale hunting

It is ok to search out some whales that post in your topics, but don't spend all your time doing it. You'll get a bad rep. I spend about 30% of my time looking for some of the big fish to follow and interact with. I only follow the ones that are posting content that I like, but it just happens their ratings are over 70. lol

Don't be annoying, just be yourself. If you are treating everyone like a million bucks like we discussed, just keep doing that and you will get some of them to notice you. Don't ask for anything. Just support their work. I promise, they'll notice and then one day you will check your blog post and it will go from $1.24 to $69.33 with one vote. 


5. Understanding Topics and Trending

If you only blog about one thing on Steemit, then you will want to limit the number of blogs you post in a day. You don't want to cut off the legs of a previous blog before it has the time to grow.  

But, if you target different topics and types of content, then you can post a lot more and not over saturate any single topic. For example: I like posting GIF blogs but I try to target different key words with some of them. By targeting different key words with different content you can be on the hot or trending list on multiple key words. It also allows each one to gain some steam and pick up traction. 


6. First line of your blog is key

The title is very important, but so is the first line of your blog. Make sure it is captivating and really expands on the title. Get readers hooked. Typically the first line of your blog appears in the preview and that is another opportunity to sell you content. 

Look for opportunities to grab the attention of readers. You only get so much space, use it wisely.


7. Picture is very important

I would say your title is most important, but the picture will often depend on if they will click. You want to have good pictures that cast a wide net. You want to attract as many people as possible to your post. Make the pictures eye catching, nostalgic or funny. 

If you can create your own custom images and place them first in your blog with a simple title on them, those are probably the best way. It is a step up of professionalism and if people see that, they generally will believe you spent more time on them. Prove them right! 


8. Put in the work

You have to put in the work if you want to succeed. I started with zero followers and the same Steem Power as everyone else. Every day I posted and commented and followed everyone that replied to me. I spent hours reading and viewing the content from so many awesome Steemonians. I spend hours making these blogs. You have to put in the work.

I've posted over 800 times in two weeks. Each one a thought out response, well maybe a few that were done quick, but you get the point. If you want to succeed at anything in life, you have to put in the work.


9. Understand the voting and timing

The voting and timing of votes and resteems is something that I am still getting used to, but basically the author of a post receives more of the rewards in the first 30 minutes a post. If you post real early, you could lose out on some of the rewards. 

This doesn't really matter too much when you are just getting started, but it is something that you want to keep in mind. You can find more details about this in the FAQ for Steemit. It really could mean the difference between several bucks when you grow your sp up.

 


10. Patience

First of all this site is still in beta, so we are really early. You have time to figure out what your voice is and then work on developing it. Take your time. Let things happen. A viral post will happen and it will happen when you least expect it. Trust your content and put it out there. Eventually it will pick up.

Believe in yourself, and others will start doing the same.


BONUS - If you are new to Steemit and would like to learn about some of the tools that I used to succeed, check out this blog post. Top 5 Steemit Tools - https://steemit.com/steemit/@walkingkeys/the-top-5-steemit-tools-to-help-you-become-a-better-steemonian


BONUS BONUS - I earned a few extra bucks playing some games. Check them out here. https://steemit.com/steemit/@walkingkeys/3-awesome-ways-to-play-games-and-win-usdusdusdusdusd-on-steemit


Thank you for reading and if found value in this post, I greatly appreciate every vote and resteem. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below and I will respond. 

Steem on Steemonians

WalkingKeys


Sort:  

I am here for like 2 weeks and i think that posting "how you reaction to everyday situation" with a gif is my way to go. At least i can offer someone my mem experience, not to mention that i also try to commence with meme what happened in last day on my country tag

Go for it! It is a lot of fun and I enjoy it. I like searching through them to find the exact one that hits on my point. I also appreciate that you keep coming back and checking them out! Thank you

@ walkingkeys thank you for taking the time uploading this engaging post. I started about 4 weeks ago and Im still trying to find my voice for this platform. Your list of tools I'm sure will be a big help. I haven't checked them yet because I wanted to get this comment out before it gets buried.

I will Resteem, upvote and follow.

Thanks again.

Thank you very much for the kind words. I would love to help in any way I can. Hit me up if you have any questions. I'm following you back. The tools that I mentioned helped me understand the importance of what I was doing and where to spend my time. Come up with a strategy and test different things. Your voice will come. I'm following you so I can be there when you find it. Good luck, man.

Wow, thats is so encouraging thanks alot . I need all the help I can get so I may take you up on that. I'm reading through your other post now. Good stuff.

No problem. Hit me up anytime. We all need some help from time to time. I really appreciate you taking the time to check out my stuff. I'll do the same for you.

of course bro your stuff is great.

Great tips and recap of the important points! A useful and friendly reminder. Thanks for posting!

Thank you very much. I started following you as a way to say thanks for checking out my stuff. I appreciate it.

Thank you, I appreciate it and followed you as well. Keep the good stuff coming!

nice post! Where do you get those gif images? Is it worth of following whales? Thanks..I'll follow you.

I get the gifs from www.giphy.com - learn more here... https://steemit.com/steemit/@walkingkeys/the-top-5-steemit-tools-to-help-you-become-a-better-steemonian

It is worth following whales because they teach a lot. If you follow and give good feedback without asking for anything, you will see a reward. True story, I followed this one poet I liked who's votes were worth like $1.50. I post on her poems and giving good feedback for a week strait and she only upvoted on of my comments. Then one day, she went to my page and voted on like five or six of my posts. It was awesome. It has to be authentic, but if you are real with them, they will help you out.
Hope that helps. I'll follow you too.

Great advice! I've found some of these out myself too, but having someone else agree with them makes me feel better lol. Nice job!

lol, it makes me feel better that they make you feel better. I am glad I could help. You picked up a new follower. Good luck!

ha! Thanks. Good luck to you as well.

Thanks man, it was hard getting started on here but there's so many people out here helping out! It's great! I'm gonna follow you

Thanks! I appreciate it, I really do. It is tough. I never said it was easy, but if you have a strategy and put in the work, it will pay off.
I'm following you too. I appreciate you stopping by.

Great post. Finding your voice is something that I think more users need to focus on. It's not about putting on some show and being something you're not, most of us are here for genuine interactions so just be you! :)

I agree 100%. That is why I put it as number one. It wasn't until I found my Steemit voice did the rewards really start. Thanks for reading. I really appreciate it.

I've had the same experience. People aren't here for cookie-cutter posts, we're looking for personality!

Yes!!! You have the right mindset. I couldn't agree more. I think there is some real talent on here. It's exciting to be here so early.

Thank you for the post, everything is beneficial!

You're welcome. I am very glad you found it helpful. Welcome to Steemit. There is a lot of opportunity out there, you just got to get it. Good luck.

Great article -- I'm a newbie here, so this helps! Thanks :)

Thank you very much. Today is my two week anniversary, so I'm new too! I really hope you find the success I'm finding here. Good luck on your journey and thank you for taking the time to read my post!

Great tips. You're going to do very well on Steemit with this approach and mindset. Steem on.

Awesome! Thank you so much. I really appreciate you taking the time to read through. I love it on Steemit. It is a very real and authentic place. Something that no other social media can claim. Thanks for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56