"Welcome to Steemit" Banner Submisions - Community Review!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The "Welcome to Steemit" page is the first thing that new users will see after they signup for an account via Steemit.com. We want the page to look awesome and inviting!

@bitcoiner and I posted a $50 SBD bounty to get submissions from the community for the banner that will go at the top of the page.

After we receive feedback from the community (via this post), we will review the submissions with Steemit, Inc. and see which ones qualify for the site. Assuming we find at least one that works - we will chose one winner and update the "Welcome to Steemit" page to have the new banner at the top!!

Important note - The raw images (without the text) are what will get used on the site. We will overlay HTML text over the top, but it will not be in the same format as the text in the image. We will do our best to make it look similar, but it will look different than what is shown. The images that are shown with text on them are a SAMPLE of what the banner could look like with text.

Here are the entries!

Entry 1 ( @rigaronib ):

Entry 2 ( @son-of-satire ):

Artist vision post: here

Entry 3 [Animated Version] ( @son-of-satire ):

Artist vision post: here

(I'm not sure if we will be able to make the animated version work, but we will try.)

Entry 4 ( @elewarne ):

Artist vision post: here

Entry 5 ( @rigaronib ):

Entry 6 [Animated Version] ( @son-of-satire ):

Artist vision post: here

(I'm not sure if we will be able to make the animated version work, but we will try.)

Entry 7 ( @son-of-satire ):

Artist vision post: here

Entry 8 [Tiled] ( @oceansoul13 ):

Artist vision post: here

Entry 9 ( @oceansoul13 ):

Artist vision post: here

Please post your feedback in the comments below!

Sort:  

I like the idea of the pencil, writing, in the first one, but the font bevel effect doesn't look good.

The second one has a nicer, simpler font and look, but a bit too many trees... and I dunno... why trees? Maybe that could be explained more. It just doesn't seem to fit.

Good job everyone, thanks for the work!

When approaching this design challenge, my main point of focus was how best to portray the decentralized nature of Steemit in an abstract way. I decided that tree branches were an excellent way to symbolize this, so I found some royalty free images and developed a design.

That makes sense :)

Agreed about the bevel. Regardless I think it is my favorite as it best matches the site.

i like entry 1 with text format of entry 2! 😉 entry 2 animation is also neat...

Entry 1 - I saw the day it was done and posted and I liked it right away.

Entry 3 - 2nd choice - input for you in case you need tie breaking info.

I like that flashing thingy LOL, I would just adjust it so it is a little quicker or stays on the screen longer, and the info that flashes does not get missed in the attention economy.

Nice stuff. I didn't know you had all that. I might need to use some of those :)

Those are awesome, thanks!

I like son-of-satire's no.2&3 the best.the tree outlines are refreshing to the eye.

Personally, I like the look of #6 the best.

Looks professional and the background brings up the thought of binary which could be associated with the blockchain.

Overall, I feel that 1, 2 and 6 are the best.

My initial plan was to do some sort of design that incorporated the Steemit source code and logo into an abstract image, but I had difficulty acquiring what I needed to execute that, so I thought I would go with a binary code design instead.

I am glad you noticed this, as someone stated previously that they had difficulty discerning the meaning of the background. Great eye-

The #2 is my favorite, but I would better like it with the color of #3.

I was just doing some file-organizing on my PC and realised that my post with version 2 contained low-res images so as not to be a drain on the bandwidth of those viewing the page.

If you need the hi-res version for testing or otherwise, just let me know and I will provide it.

I prefer number 9. At first I liked #1 but the pencil seems to convey that Steemit is for writers only. Number 2 is also cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48