Steemit, a place Which Pays You to Post, unless you leverage the system to maximize your earnings and then, look out!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

A simple google search for information about "steemit" results in sites that claim:

“Steemit is a social media platform where everyone gets paid for creating and curating content.”






And

“Steemit: New Social Media Platform Which Pays You to Post”

And

“A social media platform where everyone gets paid to post. https://steemit.com” / https://github.com/steemit/steem

Amongst others…

I bring this up as I have recent noticed an article by @nonlinearone titled Why I Gave The Free Money ($26.087) From a Featured Author Post Back that I felt compelled to weigh in on because I have been featured by @dragonslayer109 before here, here and here.

As a side note, I don’t know anything about the issue of getting unsolicited payments as described by @nonlinearone.

I know there are two similar but seperate issues at play here with “featured post” and “hidden gems”, but both are associated with @dragonslayer109 and his reputation which I would like to address.

Additionally I recently read an article by @bacchist concerning @dragonslayer109

It is called How Much Are @dragonslayer109's Hidden Gems Worth? And To Whom?.

This article points out some ways @dragonslayer109 could improve his post and improve certain criteria for selection of "Hidden Gems".

I agree with this constructive criticism.

However, I disagree with his disparaging address of this in what reads as a negative “hit-piece” rather than an open discussion format with @dragonslayer109.

I also disagree with @bacchist when he says:

“For one, I don't like people posting links to their posts in the comments of my blog in general. It's spam, plain and simple.

I don’t think link posting is spam. And it is not “plain and simple”. Preferences that you “don’t like” are not rules.

I will get to the reason for this in a moment, but first let me discuss the agreement I made with @dragonslayer109 because although he keeps the Steem Power, as he adds to all featured articles: "ALL STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author".

From my perspective that is a good deal.

It is an agreement to sell him my content to feature to earn more than I did posting solely on my own. Or leveraging his notoriety for our mutual benefit.

In fact I appreciate his services provided (at a agreed upon cost i.e. he keeps the Steem Power as payment, I get the Steem Dollars). This is actually more of a risk for @dragonslayer109 because featuring unknown authors may result in in negative response such as with @bacchist. On the other side, me a featured author has little to nothing to risk to get promoted by @dragonslyaer109.


I agree with @nonlinearone that:

“People should be able to publish under their own name and be successful through upvotes.”

But should be able to be successful and are successful are two very different things.

My intention with working with @dragonslayer109 was also to develop a base of followers to which I could get up votes directly without the intermediary.

However, admittedly, so far that has not panned out as well as I had hoped.

In order to have this happen I plan on having him post one more from me that will be a Part 1 of a serialization fiction story that I am writing. Therefore, anyone interested in following the story will follow me, else my work will be lost into oblivion.

If I wanted to keep posting with @dragonslayer109 as a featured author for our mutual benefit, I don’t see why I shouldn’t be allowed to, but maybe I am missing something.

As I started the post, and as titled Steemit, a place Which Pays You to Post, unless you leverage the system to maximize your earnings and then, look out!.

As a result, my actions here are in part motivated at maximizing the amount of money I earn here.

Popular steemit author and friend, @ericvancewalton, was interviewed by @cristi in his article Q&A with Steemit Prolific Author - Eric Vance Walton in which Eric described his experience here on steemit and why he post here:

“My life-long goal has always been to write full-time and be a digital nomad, traveling the world and writing about my experiences. Thanks to Steemit I’m closer than ever to achieving this goal!”

“When I began writing there were decent payouts for your first “introduceyourself” post. This instantly hooked me in and got me posting at least once per day. It wasn’t as much about the money as it was the freedom the money could provide. As I said before, my goal was to be able to write full-time and I saw this as a major way to accomplish that goal.”

“I got very frustrated just a few days before my writing was discovered on the platform. I actually almost quit then. I was pouring so much energy into this and only seeing pennies per day in upvotes. One individual in particular, @mctiller, gave me the encouragement I needed to keep going. It was only a few days after this that I started taking off.”

The thing is, we authors and posters, don’t all get this “taking off” moment that @ericvancewalton has had.

The point being though, that @ericvancewalton wanted to earn not for the sake of the money but his “goal was to be able to write full-time” and he “saw this [steemit] as a major way to accomplish that goal.”

As do I.

If it is of any interest to you, I have converted my entire earnings from @dragonslayer109 to Steem Power and have used the increase in leverage to grow my influence.

I cannot say the same for other featured others, but we could check their wallets…

If my next post with @dragonslayer109 doesn’t net an increase in followers and subsequent up votes on the second part of my story, I am unlikely to continue being a contributor to be featured.

However, I understand the #steemitcommunity concern with the arrangement and would like to hear what you would propose instead in terms of how to increase visibility for authors to earn more on their own?

This is the reason I think posting links in article replies is a valid form of gaining views and subsequent up votes.

Are we to wait for whales to deign their votes upon us?

Or do you have any marketing tips beyond sharing a link on other social media and steemit.chat?

How is one to get noticed in the flood of new post?

Thanks
@strangerarray

P.S. As I was writing this I had another thought on how reputation is supposed to be important on this platform. These discussions about who does what is important, but there currently is no feature that alerts users of mentions and therefore users can discuss others who may not get the chance to explain or defend their actions. This is a huge issue for managing and maintaining a positive reputation if you can be disparaged without defense.


Michael


Written by Michael Paine


For more great content, check out some of my friends:

@stellabelle@ericvancewalton@cristi@micheletrainer@mctiller
@lukeofkondor@soulsistashakti@mindover@mars-eve@patrick-g
@kaylinart@romanskv@the-alien@razvanelulmarin@strangerarray
Sort:  

Whoa!
Lots of points and comments to comment on. If you want to comment on these comments (lol) please clarify by using the lead letter or number, thank you.
A. Some of this reminds me of when Tony Robbins launched his podcast, and people freaked out because he wasn’t the host. I read that he would just add a snippet of audio here and there (I’ve never heard the show-- just sharing comments I read). Hey there are no rules in podcasting, so why not. He did what worked for him.


  1. What is in a name? Is “Nature Foods” really selling all nature food? NO, they sell mostly processed foods for a shit-ton of money. Should we be shocked when someone isn’t 100% aligned with their name? Yes we expect Hidden Diamonds to be hidden, not Successful Diamonds, but it is what it is. I also expect Nature Food to not be all boxes and cans. Oh well. Illuminating that is valid.

  2. This one I’ll elaborate on with a blog post. The other post/link mentioned in the comments here, re: blue collar, is just a hierarchical example of what no freelancer or free spirit wants to see or hear- that something they are participating in has a company/hierarchical like structure. (Or it looks like one ) That post is just one person’s interpretation. I’ve always been a writer. I’m new here, I have no idea what the larger goals are. Writing to “catch a whale” IS no different than working for the man. I’m not writing to catch a whale or trying to write TO a whale to catch a vote. If that’s your only goal, sort it out. Find your voice. Write to write, or write to entertain your other friends or have SOME OTHER REASON to comment or contribute, like learning in general, then you might be happier overall. @lukeofkondor today encouraged “focusing on the writing” and spells it out wonderfully here https://steemit.com/writing/@lukeofkondor/the-steemit-black-hole-and-focusing-on-the-writing

  3. Also, writing to “catch a whale” IS trying/vying to be CHOSEN, not CHOOSING YOURSELF. “Pick me pick me pick me.” That is not freelancing and is not “working for yourself”.

  4. You might be a minnow here but you don’t have to be a minnow in life overall. Do something else FOR YOURSELF.

  5. The aggregated post ideas are genius. It’s curation, it’s a thing. I’m with @thegoldencookie ‘s comment here

  6. The aggregated posts take work and time too.

  7. However, if someone didn’t ask you permission or is profiting from your reward is valid to note and there are possible GUI solutions --perhaps some structure via a form or something could be implemented so that all aggregators have similar intake funnel structure. Just an idea.

  8. Links? Links kick ass. I have a lot of content and I’m generally terse. Therefore, if I’ve already answered your question you might get the link to the answer. That said we all know a random spammy link comment is just that (including one just fishing for a vote), but a related link is cool, to me, as an answer anywhere. #CanIBringMyLinksToDinner

  9. @strangerarray asks, “How to increase visibility for authors to earn more on their own?” Heh, that’s the big question everywhere. There also could be some GUI solutions for this to display posts other than trending. Other graphical or text representations don’t even have to be on the main page, but could be alternative pages for those who want other views or filters. Maybe someone wants to see all the fiction post, or not see any recipes. Maybe someone want an image tile view.

  10. If you didn’t want to be promoted then why are you writing on the INTERNET?

Thanks for these discussions points!

Looking forward to the future post you mentioned.

dragonslayer109 doesn't create content anymore, he just rakes in the upvotes from "Gems" and "featured" authors making the posts on his account. It's all popularity that you are falling for. His last post was a month ago, no content is being created for Steemit by this user: https://steemit.com/life/@dragonslayer109/me-before-all-of-you-or-rather-you-before-all-of-me

How Much Are @dragonslayer109's Hidden Gems Worth? And To Whom?

What REALLY Goes On Behind The Scenes of The Daily Gems?

STEEM WHISTLEBLOWER: "Hidden Gem" & "Featured" Post Makers May be CROOKS!

I do the same thing, and it takes me 1-2 hours, not 8 hours like he has claimed. That's how you help Steemit and the authors because you want to, and if the authors wants the SP I can Power Down.

Peace.

Thanks for your perspective.

Well I edited my comment, and in my recent post today I had some feedback from an author, which I had requested in the post. Its better to allow upvotes, as they get more exposure, and they are fine with me giving the authors all the SBD.

Thanks. Peace.

if you only knew how lost i still am by the terms on steemit in general. i read you posts till their end but there are portions of it that i miss out on and its painful but perhaps after a few days on here and some #help i will come to understand what it means to be featured, #gems #steempower etc from this and your other post. about not keeping all your eggs in a steem basket, well i am two days old here and i will still admonish you to do the same. in my countless years on the internet, i have never seen its one penny on hand!

Thanks for this link.

I don’t think the views represented by the featured author are necessarily held by @dragonslayer109, hence my statement above:

In fact I appreciate his services provided (at a agreed upon cost i.e. he keeps the Steem Power as payment, I get the Steem Dollars). This is actually more of a risk for @dragonslayer109 because featuring unknown authors may result in in negative response such as with @bacchist. On the other side, me a featured author has little to nothing to risk to get promoted by @dragonslyaer109.

Yup. That post hilariously lame. I actually thought it was comedy at first. And still kind of think of it that way.

This is very important for each and every steemit community member to write quality content and this becomes even more difficult for high reputed steemers to feature others content. So if we are posting a quality content, it's most likely to get featured if not recognised. Keep sharing good posts @strangerarray

Thanks for the encouragement.

I think visibility and reputation management options would be helpful.

Yes I believe

I've seen the @dragonslayer109 hidden gems post. and as far as I understand it he is trying to get his followers to up vote posts of other people he thinks deserves to make some money. I don't think it's right to hate on someone trying to make Steemit a better experience for other people.

Yeah, I pretty much wrote off Dragonslayer109, when I read an article he reposted under his name... Saying basically, you are my blue collar worker. HA! Look, young man, you might be a whale here... But many are whales out there and you are really bad at leadership. the end.

Do you have a link?

Thousands of daily posts are more than a little challenging for anyone to sort through - anything that makes this site's awesome stuff easier to find is great in my opinion. Also, as someone who has been earning a living for years just writing stuff, making art, making my own schedule, and generally doing whatever I want, I've noticed that the people who succeed in this freewheeling lifestyle do very little complaining and waste no time at all comparing themselves to others.

Thank you for your insights.

Really great article, thanks for sharing this information!

Thanks

I just felt like it would be good to add another perspective, start a discussion, and take the temperature of what we all think about this issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43