Why aren’t the Whales Voting? - Steem Smart Podcast Ep. 9c

in #steemit8 years ago

Why aren’t the whales voting? Content creators demand to know!

Stephen Polsky ( @shneakysquirrel ), Renee Nouveau ( @reneenouveau ) and George Donnelly ( @georgedonnelly ) discuss why the whales aren’t voting and how gosh-darned unfair that is! Sniff.

Join us for Letting Off Steem #1

We’re doing an episode and we’re inviting 46 of you to join us on the video chat as co-hosts — at the same time.

Join us this Thursday, September 8 at 9:30PM Eastern (New York) at https://zoom.us/j/641646902 and let’s talk!

Get the full details here.

Next Episode: No Such Thing as Abusive Downvoting

Next time (episode 9d), we’re talking about those pesky payout-robbing and free-speech-censoring downvotes. Not!

Don’t Miss an Episode

Don’t miss an episode of The Steem Smart Podcast. Enter your primary email address here to get an email notification for each new episode. Zero spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Subscribe to the Podcast

Subscribe to the Steem Smart Podcast RSS feed in your podcast app. Or find us in these podcast directories.

9b5588e0362ed83fc49cd4ae5859079e.png bfdd7f3396c330189d47a71b37cd11fe.png e1325b3027723706af711d8981dda68f.png 36820b237b4bb12a6765a0fe3a96a2a2.png

Previous Episodes

Be a Part of it!

Who do you want us to interview next? What topics should we be talking about? Let us know in the comments.

Send news tips to [email protected]

7492cf04110fab69946cc86c323af885.jpg

Sort:  

It's not that the whales have disappeared. They're just using the slider to give fractions of a vote. If you look at your account on steemd.com, you should be able to see exactly what people have given you, and frequently they'll give you a 10% vote, or a 1% vote. I think they're just trying to spread it out more.

I did that and found almost all of my votes where 100%.

Enjoyed guys! Thanks for the share..... I would love a profile to help people "present themselves" as Renee stated.

I would like to hear your opinions on the split of author and curation rewards. There is some talk of reducing the % of author rewards, some people even think down to 25%. Now would this have a good effect on Steemit? Economically and Socially. Are bots and people making steem off cut and pastes REALLY that big of a concern?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@calaber24p/revamping-curation-is-the-way-to-increase-steem-power-demand

And I really enjoy the podcast! thanks!

I have had a thought for awhile. I believe I even posted it on there in it's first voicing and unformed.

My thought was along the lines of things humans can do well, that maybe bots can't do as well.
25% Curation reward granted to the author uncompetitively. The rest going in curation reward to comments. The author can just eas easily compete for these by defending their stance, supporting supportive comments etc.

I think it would increase interaction, and for new people (we need readers) it allows and encourages them to read and comment with something pertinant to the post.

I don't see how splitting it in comments could work because the dilution potential is just too great

Well, there would be specifics to it, same as the timing right now is a game. Every comment wouldn't receive a reward. Let's say it boiled down to the 5 most upvoted comments and their replies.

So you have to play a game, very much the same as you do with curation now with the timer and the whales..... they vote at 20 minutes I will vote at 19 for example. Same thing applies, you decide if you want to comment, and try for one of the best ones, or choose a comment to support... or both.

Absolutely just any old "good post" comment wouldn't be likely to make it to the top 5.
Again, the question I am asking ultimately is what are ways the curation and rewards of the system can be tweaked in a way that benefits human interaction and is not easily mimicked by a bot

What a horrible idea. All the curators do is vote. The creators do all the hard work.

i can't get more than a tiny hand full of people to even click on my posts. maybe i just suck. i don't think so. what if you can't get whales or minnows or even dolphins?

Maybe you just need to try something new?

Hello @steemsmart aka Stephen, Renee & George, I just stopped by to let you know that I included this post in my favourite reads on my Steemit Ramble today. The post can be found here

I see every day is different here
We need A Steemit Academy
Unless People Are Told
They Don't know to vote
I bought Mark Lyfords e-book
on Warriorplus.com in August
called "Steemcash"
What really helped Me was coming here and reading,
I have invested a whole lot of time in that
These New Steemians On the block are Social Media Freaks
They Have Multiple Social Accounts, Etc..Etc...
They Have Collage, Friends, Family, Jobs, Etc..
That Keep Them Busy
They Are Sent Here From Facebook. Twitter, and I am Seeing Instagram Models Put Their Pics Up And All
I'm Thinking Some People May Not Be Reading, And May Not Know to
vote.
I honestly did not Know Until I took the training
Thx 4 the Post
Keep Steemin!
Upvoted You!!
Steemon!

On the other hand, I had most two most successful posts yesterday... does that mean its shit lol?

I haven't watched it yet, but I have noticed a decline in the daily upvotes as well... very low count on some of them.

I even used to get some few whales to upvote... now... it's pretty dry.

My content that has important knowledge about language, consciousness and reality is getting put out there, but not many people are seeing it anymore it seems. Ah well... maybe I should post on video games and cryptocurrencies? LOL.

Peace.

P.S. My vote power hasn't gone up. Still $0.01 lol, so them not voting doesn't help there.

Don't you dare! I love your posts about language and consciousness and reality!

LOL... thanks for the support! Appreciated.

Also
Attention Spans Are Short Online
We Need To Attract More
Hobby Lovers
Writers
Finance Wiz
Etc..
Etc..
Life does get in the way
Busy Time of Year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15