Where does Steem Money Come From? - Steem Smart Podcast Ep. 3

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

We slammed down the skeptics with an explanation of where Steem’s money comes from and discussed Steem as a creative platform with @jakevanderark.

Stephen Polsky ( @shneakysquirrel ), Gabriel Scheare ( @piedpiper ) and George Donnelly ( @georgedonnelly ) discussed where Steem money comes from and talked about how to use Steem as a creative platform with Jake Vander Ark ( @jakevanderark ).

Don’t Miss an Episode

Don’t miss an episode of The Steem Smart Podcast. Enter your primary email address here to get an email notification for each new episode. Zero spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Show Notes

Unsung Creators

Next Episode: Witnesses

We’re explaining witnesses with @daowisp and #3 witness @pharesim this Friday morning. Send us your questions to [email protected], post them below or write a post and tag it steemsmartpodcast.

Previous Episodes

Be a Part of it!

Who do you want us to interview next? Let us know in the comments. Here are some guests we'd like to have in the near future. Please reach out to them and let them know that you, too, would like to see them on the show:

@gavvet @cryptogee @cryptoctopus @rok-savante @donkeypong @onceuponatime @the-alien @stan @craig-grant @dantheman @ned @dan @xeroc @masteryoda @clains @heiditravels @berniesanders @roelandp @complexring @tuck-fheman @pfunk

Send news tips to [email protected]

8d8fc6e65d3603680d059238fd37d3e8.jpg

Sort:  

Only one thing I disagree with.I don't think we can accurately refer to what is occurring with post hiding as "censorship." Even those posts are getting hidden, they are not removed from the blockchain and they are still accessible by anyone who wants to find it. This means the down vote function is not technically "censorship," at least not in the old school sense of the term.

I think we're in new territory here and need to update the meaning of the word. Or what word would you suggest?

I like this post by @ntomaino on this topic.

Thanks for disagreeing btw. MOAR DISAGREEMENTS, please guys! Discussion and debate are my bread and butter. :)

craig-grant, berniesanders, cains! Of course I would love for you to interview all of them, but those are my first 3 picks! 👍😍

Help us get them. Let them know we want to interview them. Tracking down contact info for steemians can be hard work.

This is a really informative and important video, gentlemen. This deserves more up votes.

Glad you liked it, Sterlin. Let us know if you have any ideas for topics you think we should cover. And we're going to see if you'll come on the show yourself pretty soon. We're still getting organized.

Yeah, I am game very soon. I am about to drop a video tonight with a new idea I am fleshing out in regards to the platform. We can discuss that, as well as anything else related to my philosophical direction. Thanks for inviting me on. I think you'll do well with this podcast. Great idea overall.

Appreciate the endorsement @sterlinluxan ! We plan to do these more frequently, as the Steem environment is developing so quickly, it's not possible to put everything of importance in a 1-hour show.

No problem. I really enjoyed your responses and thoughts. Good stuff.

Thanks! Let us know what topics you think we should cover and whom we should interview.

Quick remarks:
Format is pretty... long. 1 hour is a lot of time. Probably you should made 10min episodes on a more specific topic. It kinda goes everywhere the first 5 minutes and it can be difficult to follow... (honestly)
So yes, shorter episodes. 10-20min.
For instance, I think you nailed it in the discussion about the downvotes was great. Lots of good ideas.
More structure for sure. (NOTE: lmk if you need help structuring some episodes, I am a speaker in tech conventions (IoTWorld in May 206 Santa Clara CA, a presentation at Stanford in June, and 2 more conferences to come in October... and hopefully SXSW next year. Crossing fingers !!

Overall, it is still good work !! Congrats mates. I really enjoyed hearing you.

Topics: As Gabe started to speak about, I'd like to hear more about what to do with steem dollars.
Possiblt options I started to cover here are:

  • OPTION1: Keep them (and wait for the interest rate to kick-in)
  • OPTION2: Transfer into STEEM POWER (power up)
  • OPTION3: Invest for the Steemit community. Use the money to make something unique (many examples here on the platform)
  • There is an OPTION4 of course: withdraw + investment in other cryptocurrencies.

Thus ... to cover option4, on other topic I'd like to see being covered is other alt-coins. MAID and DASH especially.

One last topic would be about charities. Mots of people made money almost ex-nihilo and I see many charities. Maybe it's a good moment to give ? (see another of my post here )

Thanks for the good work guys !

(and regarding the links to my posts in this answer. It's post payout, therefore I am not promoting anything)
@sebastien

Awesome comment, thank you!

I'm trying to figure out how to make shorter episodes, actually.

I'll bring your questions up in the next full episode on Monday. Thanks again!

Happy to help !
One last thing (obvious): Try to publish your podcast ALWAYS at the same time each week. It creates a ritual, makes it simpler to follow.

Cheers.

Thank you. I am brand new to Steem, brand new to steemit, and have all of two weeks experience in the cryptocurrancy world. Very informative on many levels for this neophyte!

You're welcome. What questions can we answer for you? Drop in anytime and let me know, message me in Steemit.chat#steemsmartpodcast (@georgedonnelly) or email me at [email protected]. No question is too basic!

I'm gonna watch this video right now! I already know how awesome it is :)

How awesome was it, in the end? :D

It looks awesome @steemsmart

Thanks, we try!

My first time with this podcast...listening/watching now. Thanks for producing this!

Let us know what you think afterwards.

I enjoyed that more than anything I've watched on TV or heard on Sirrius in a while. Ray Donovan and The Night Of being the exceptions :)

Glad you found it entertaining :D! That's what we're going for!

The movie was Envy, Jack Black, Ben Stiller, Amy Pohler.

Envy, right! And the Vapoorizer is the invention I was referring to.

I swear I was thinking about that movie the other day when walking my dog Captain. Also for some odd reason: Josie and The Pussycats when Breckin Meyer was ranting about his monkey Dr. Zeus showing the Poo. My stoned mind is so whack sometimes :)

This was a very fun episode! The conversations were very fluid, with loads of good insight :) .

We're definitely getting better. Still got some things to work on though, like our levels, echo, energy, preparation. We're moving in a good direction though, and thanks for being a part of it.

off to watch video now - great expectations ....

Did we meet your expectations?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63