If you claim to defend a cause on Steemit and plegde to give LESS than 100% of the rewards, it's not a humanitarian act, it's a BUSINESS.

in #humanitarian8 years ago (edited)

I see more and more stories about people asking upvotes in exchange for a humanitarian cause; pledging to give back a fraction of the money their post will get.

That's a fantastic idea. Helping people is always a good thing, and raising money for people in need is a great decision.

We all should do it more often (and I speak for me).

NEVERTHELESS...

You will never see boy-scouts taking a share of the fund-raising they just made... or you will never see the red-cross saving a side of the money they got from this earthquake campaign.
Never.
Therefore, when you plan to launch a humanitarian campaign, or to raise awareness, please don't keep a share of the revenues for you. Give everything to the people you plan to help.

If you want to raise money for the people in need on steemit, please GIVE 100% of what you raised.

Remember that, for most of the people here, we did NOT invest any money in the platform. Steem dollars are coming magically... and some whales made a sh1t ton of cash wth zero investment. Good for them, they work has been rewarded and it's a logical thing. That is how it works here, and it is a good thing.

But when it comes to asking upvotes for a participation in a humanitarian thing, PLEASE GIVE 100% of the revenues.

Don't keep a share for you. You are not a broker.

Otherwise, you are just running a business.

Sort:  

slighly flawed - the American Red Cross society use 5% of its income on administrive cost - 100% does not go direct. Unfortunately the large corporations do not give 100% - those that use less than 5% on admin are the better ones to support . The best ones are your LOCAL CHARITIES, here most have very low overheads, little admin costs and almost 100% goes to that charity.

Thanks for the precision. The 5% mark is a good threshold.
Nevertheless, here on steemit, I believe our personal G&A (admin costs) should be as low as 0%.

Totally agree with you on that one :)

Also tips for u, post this in the bitcoin steemit charity religion news.
From what I can see the to tag name u posted to don't exist, plus u can use upto 5 tags, so go and edit the post any tag the tags I mentioned, up to 5 tags. All the best

Updated. Thanks

@sebastien I agree 100% w/your post, really ... but I would like to say, more as a side note really. An older lady years ago (30?) told me she hated the Red Cross because in WW2 they actually were charging soldiers (her brother being one) for blankets. They were not aware of this until they saw the deduction at paytime.
I have no proof of this, but I do respect her memory by saying she was a very honest person and of the highest integrity and a good 'soul' of the 1st order. May she rest in peace !

Interesting concept, I only hope it gets the recognition it deserves. Thank you for sharing

I wonder how many Steemians are thinking "Shhhh They might hear you."

This is a very, good post, I admire those who speak the TRUETH, what ever is for charity should be 100% for charity nothing less, but post like this don't make the trending page, they just get lost quickly.

Thanks a lot.
I hope I will not get flagged.

But that's the game after all...

Ur welcome, also after or 8 hours do the same I can also in the future, after ur five post, resend them, and also send me one at @cryptosteem,

They won't flag u for this

i agree and its a damn shame ... I just found this post, 1 week later ..grr, SO MUCH GREAT CONTENT !, lol, I read 8 hrs a day and still am months behind ... I know it does nothing but I +1 vote anyway, (MY curation efforts, lol)

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43