How NOT to Use STEEMIT: Don't Be a Castrated Pushover

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The title can be a bit aggressive, granted, but I'm sure you know by now that Steemit has plenty of pushovers and kissasses, pardon my French.

Heck, you may even be one of those and identify with the terms, but figure it's the only way to progress.

This post will touch sensitive information and flag war topics as well.

Well, in today's guide I'm going to let you in on a secret:

  • You don't have to be a "Yes Man" to grow on Steemit.

As a matter of fact, you lose all of your personality if you just becom a pushover that is always chasing after bigger users trying to get their vote.

Lately, I've been awakening to the fact that STEEMIT is a land of castrated pushovers, heck even spammers spam with

"This is the best post on Steemit. Thank you, I learned so much with that nice post bla bla" - Average Spammer

Let me tell you why not being a pushover is nice in a way that even pushovers will undertand.

Stop Kissing Ass: Smart People Smell It From Afar

Listen, there's a difference between being nice, being supportive or being a pushover.

I make a ton of comments per day, and I'm pretty supportive. I encourage people, I support them in order to put them in a mood to create more content, and I'm a friendly guy!

However, you won't see me on certain steemian's walls praising their job... because I don't like them. And that's fine!

You can not like certain people, it's human nature. Steemit is a community that thrives on cooperaation, but cooperating with someone you despise simply isn't viable.

You'll find your own community and you just have to be on the lookout for likeminded individuals.

I've seen people treat others like crap and they still pamper the abusers because they have a bigger upvote... that just kills me.

To witness abuse and to see the abused sucking it up just for financial benefit...

...and Steemit is full of that, just look around!

Have Some Self-Esteem and Self-Love!

I have a friend here on Steemit, @anjkara, who was being bossed around by a bigger Steemian.

She didn't cower and instead spoke her mind and basically sent a big F U to the abuser. She got flagged, but eventually she passed that phase and she's better off now, with new company, people who like her and treat her well.

If you're too afraid to stop being ordered around, you'll never get out of that someone's shadow.

On the other side, I see some communities here that have what I would call the cult of the leader. They all pamper the leader and put them in a pedestal when some of them don't even like said person.

Constantly denying your own feelings, emotions and principles - along with ethics and morals - ISN'T HEALTHY!

Stop self-destroying yourself.

About the Flag War: Just Stay Out Of It? Sticking Your Head in the Sand

There's currently a flag war going on.

It could be between two parties, but it's not. It's about the community as its whole.

What happens is that most people, including those with the power to change something, are too apathetic and afraid to do anything at all.

I witnessed some cases in which I saw people burrowing their heads in the sand even when it affected them directly because they were too afraid to step out or even stand for themselves.

Is this the "new age" we're trying to create?
Is this the ambiance we want to create for the Steem blockchain? One where people can't even speak their mind without being flagged to oblivion?

I was flagged once and I have a lot of friends who were flagged on here as well... they still keep going.

And most of all, it's the little guys getting harmed, and even those keep on going... imagine if bigger people would step up to fight for what they believe in... there's only so much voting power to flag.

Sorry for the rant, but I've just been hearing about people who are against some things yet they sit idle because...

...

They don't want trouble.

Sigh.

Sort:  

The very first group that I joined when I was new in Steemit had kissing ass to whales and dolphins as the first thing taught.
They even went out of the way and impose that the signature of everyone would have his name in every post. Heck the went a step further and even had it as a one of the five tags and tehy were happy posting their little photochallenges, their endless posts posturing and giving thanks to that whale for always supporting them and the last straw was when one of the so-called leaders literally posted a picture of a cartoon shit and lo and behold after sometime it got upvoted. He gloatefd that is the power of being in the auto trail of a whale. I promptly left but gave a piece of my mind.

People when they can take easy Street will do thay. They will kiss ass and grovel and leave endless praise to whales and when they don't get an upvote they are the first ones to be nasty and call the whale names and comment on their appearance all in the safety of their little group because they are too scared to loss patronage.

Give thanks always to him, tag him on all of your posts, whenever he posts a new one descend on the post with all manners of kissing ass and thanking him without understanding what the post meant. Get in line and get fed, don't ruffle any feathers and go with what is trending.

I might sound embittered and sometimes cynical that Steemit rewards those that have mastered the art of kissing ass as opposed to those that try to forge their own path. It is hard and sometimes I do wonder if I give in and do what everyone else is doing if it will be easier to rise up. That it would be easier if I just pop 5 posts a day on marvel and just use upvote bots all the way and get lazy in content creation and engagement. I have those weak moments and question if the path I am taking is right.

Then I always remember who I am and know that the journey is as important as the destination. That I have risen to where I am not through my own merit and skills. Without some big shot backing me up and I say it to myself it will be worth and awesome.
The many planktons and Minnows tahtbwe are mentoring in @steemitfamilyph is taught from day one that it will be hard and to stand on their own two feet and we will guide them and make them feel confident to swim farther and farther away but know in their heart that Ohana will always be there for them. They do not need to vote beg. They do not need to pander and go with the trends.tehy can write stuff that they love and care about. Be unique.

I saw that post that you got downvoted and it was just downright wrong. It is I'd good that you are speaking out and not burying your head in teh sand as most people are apt to do.

Go on and keep being your awesome self.

And once again you OWN with your comment.

Got to give you my 100% upvote, as small as it may be, I'm no whale :p

You might not be now but I am pretty sure you'll be one shortly.
At least you have the cojones of one currently haha.

@maverickinctus :) Nice POV galing mo naman talaga! ^^

It's so much more fun to disagree. With inteligence and arguments of course.

The problem with the flag war for the small people is that, no one want to take the first shot. Especially when that shot will probably kill you.

There is the need of some support of most of the big guys, specially to heal the wounds caused by the fire.

Let's put this situation on a frame of a true war:

There will be casualties, yes, but there is also the medics.

The majority of the common people (in this case, us minnows), will only stand up an fight if there is enough support from those who actually have big powers.

If you are a big whale but dont want to be on the aggressive side of the war (flaggin), the least you should do is to mitigate the damage caused by the war. Find people that suffered collateral damage, and give them big upvotes to help them recover from their wounds.

That simple action would actually encourage the low power people to fight for what they believe.

Be the red cross, and help the wounded.

A lot of great comments here in this section, you're one of them... you get it.

The problem is that the whales who can do something about it stick their heads in the sand. The whale I talked with was the abused party and even him/her (not revealing identity) just said wanted no troubles.

Everyone just shrinks when it comes to them, instead of lashing out.

A Shame.

Like i said, you inspired me. Check my latest post. Resteem it if you like it. Maybe some whales will get the message and at least do something to mitigate the collateral damage.

I already went to see it and vote on it... you mentioned a lot of people there... luckilly no one from there is a flagger :p

Well, If someone flag a post like that that kind of shows How much of a Dick that person is...
But i mostly marked the people that i already Saw that dont want to get involved.

Hypocrisy, fucking hypocrisy (forgive me for my French) it has always been, is and will exist. Not only in the online world, but in any institutions there is always a "big" person around whom people are found who are ready to kiss his ass.
I think everything should be pretty simple. If I like what a person does, I will support him and I will not buy off on good words. But if I do not like what he does, I'll pass by. The status should not play any role.
Exhalation

Very well said!
Going with the flow is easy... but not healthy.
We deserve to keep our integrity no matter the consequences.
Glad you agree Frank.

Been on Steemit for 56 days. After a week or so I realized that Something was rotten in Denmark. I'm relieved to find your article, and others too who haven't drank the Kool-Aid. I have to tell you that some of what you describe in this post, and what I read in the comments, sounds culty. Sort of like EST meets Amway. Community? Content? I came across the Tara Makeup tutorial today, saw her "rewards," and read the justifications whales made for them...."she added value". Then I saw she skipped town immediately after cashing out 100K for two posts. It's internet feudalism where there are Kings (whales), Lords (dolphins) and Peasants (minnows) Combining state of the art computer sciences with a medieval hierarchy? I was turned on to Steemit by a friend who maintains two profitable Youtube channels. He started a Steemit account to branch out and avoid Zucky's censorship. I had no idea about the ass-kissing structure here or I never wold have set up shop. It's like being in High School again, except it's adults. There is so much mediocrity and bullshit on this site, I can't see it surviving unless there are massive changes. A meritocracy not organized sycophancy.

Well... analyzing the system the answer is simple... each one has a stake.

That stake works like ownership of the platform, so each one can do whatever he pleases ultimatly.

If you want to change things you have to work on them yourself, and that's exactly what I want to show with this post.

Thanks for the great comment.
Cheers

"This is the best post on Steemit. Thank you, I learned so much with that nice post bla bla" - Average Spammer

I laughed so hard at this 😂😂😂 I'm 5 days old on Steemit and I already see the this kind of people commenting on my articles :(

Don't be sorry for your rant, we do need more people to call out the bullshit and the suckyness if we are going to succeed as a community.

Steemit promotes itself as a place where you get paid for you work/content creation and this attracts a lot of people joining just for the financial outcome. Heck, even I was the same in my first day here. But then, I there are two kind of people... those who stick in and will do just anything for the money ( the "yes man" as you call them) and the other category that realize the value and potential of this community and really immerse themselves into it, adding value and fighting to make it a better place.

I try to the be the later one every single day!
Thank you for your rant @spiritualmax and keep them coming! Those kind of posts take the community further even though we can't see an immediate result.

It's important that we learn that this community is going to be what we make of it, and that we are all invested in this. SP is our stake here and it means it is ours in part... so all users should strive to take care of the platform.

Thanks for the great comment and for passing by man.
See you around!

I wrote a small guide not long ago, on a related subject;)
https://steemit.com/rich/@isnochys/how-to-get-rich-quick-on-steemit

I'm not shy with people on here I don't agree with. Also if it ain't my business I Just keep away from it. The flagging is out of control and not being used correctly. Not really sure the entire remedy to it.

That's the best course of action ;)

I'll admit I was kind of on an ass-kicking rampage when I first joined. I didn't really know any better, and it seemed like a good strategy. I got bored with it, though, and as a result I think a burned a bridge or two. At the time I was a little hesitant but looking back I'm glad I did and don't really care about the support I would have gotten from them.

Despite my constant ramblings and suggestions to my friends, none of them have really taken much of an interest in the site yet, unfortunately. Therefore, it's been tough to find a niche, but I'm confident I will eventually. It can be pretty overwhelming.

I don't really understand flagging yet. I mean, I obviously understand the general concept, but I don't fully get how it effects posts, users, ratings, etc. It seems to me though that at a low SP it doesn't really matter all that much anyway.

On another note, stoked for your new cards. Spending more and more time on here, and seeing user's personalities, your first round has become increasingly more entertaining for me. Thanks!

Thanks!
Yeah my friends are much into it as well... they get excited at first but then they figure out it takes hard work and lose steam (or steem? :p hehe)

The cards are being done, im working on them and am going to launch them pretty soon.

Cheers

The flag wars are stoooooopid. Flags should be used for shit posts not petty disagreements and speaking your mind. I a friend on here who saves all of their voting power so that they can flag a certain user. This person is flagging for the greater good, and it sucks that they have to do that!
I'm glad I've found people on here like you :) You're very smart and very free with your knowledge and opinions, and that's good!
Take care <3,
@amy

Always a pleasure to have you around Amy

You're indeed the voice of reason. It sucks that this happens.

But sometimes you can only fight fire with fire.

Cheers

Very true, Steem is designed to oppress the opinion of the small stake holders even if it wasn’t intended to be like this. Flagging should not be coupled with proof-of-stake but get a hivemind solution instead. But on the other hand it looks like the system as it is works actually pretty well. I don’t know what to think about it.

It's a tough subject for sure.
There's no easy solution for the flagging problem although @aggroed and a lot of others have suggested some very cool changes.
Most of them can be exploited or just don't have a good method of implementation.

Very complex stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51