Proposing *TrufflePig*: An Artificial Intelligence to help Minnows and Content Curators

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It is hard to keep up with all Steemit Posts!

Steemit can be a tough place for minnows, as new users are often called. I had to learn this myself. Due to the incredible amount of new posts that are published by the minute, it is incredibly hard to stand out from the crowd. Often even nice, well-researched, and well-crafted posts of minnows get buried in the noise because they do not benefit from a lot of influential followers that could upvote their quality posts. Hence, their contributions are getting lost long before one or the other whale could notice them and turn them into trending topics.

However, this user based curation also has its merits, of course. You can become fortunate and your nice posts get traction and the recognition they deserve. Maybe we can find a way to support the Steemit content curators such that high quality content does not go unnoticed anymore. I have a proposition to do exactly this with the help of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning. I propose TrufflePig a new bot that digs for hidden Steemit gems (or truffles if you like) that were overlooked by the curation crowd.

trufflepig

Caution future versions of TrufflePig may diverge from depiction ;-)

Let Machine Learning Help the Steemit Community

I am a Data Scientist and do Machine Learning for a living. I also have experience with using Artificial Intelligence to analyse written texts and documents.

The basic idea is to use well paid posts of the past as training examples to teach an Artificial Intelligence (AI) how high quality Steemit content looks like. In turn, the trained AI can be used to identify posts of high quality that were missed by the curation community and did receive much less payment than they deserved. I have the following plan for the TrufflePig bot:

  • The bot will be regularly trained on new Steemit posts to identify currently trending topics.

  • It will also vote on overlooked and undervalued posts (so you may delegate Steem Power to it if you like to support minnows).

  • In addition, it will publish a list of the top undervalued contributions once or twice a week and direct attention to these contributions. Payouts of these top-posts may cover the server costs.

  • Later in the future, there will be an API and/or website available where you can post your own texts before publishing to get an estimate of their value.

You haven't heard the best part of this proposal, yet. This is not just a vague idea, but I already experimented a bit and the results look promising! I have coded a prototype to showcase that a bot can be used to help with curation on Steemit. YOU CAN FIND THE PROTOTYPE HERE. However, so far the prototype is an offline version and rather a proof of concept. I still need to create a well tested code project, setup a proper bot that runs on a dedicated server, and maybe even establish a full Steemit node to allow better data crunching for the training of the Machine Learning method.

So what can you do? You can help me by upvoting and resteeming this post as well as my other post about the prototype coming tomorrow. The payout will help to cover initial development as well as server costs. The project itself will be open sourced and published on my Github account. However, I won't make any promises, yet, about the associated license (i.e. MIT versus rights reserved). Furthermore, I have to see whether it make sense to develop under the patronage of utopian.

I will come up with a proper roadmap in a couple of days, and, of course, will keep blogging about the development of the bot. So stay tuned! Leave your feedback and suggestion in the comments. And don't forget to checkout the prototype of TrufflePig HERE!

robot

Sort:  

This looks really interesting, a few suggestions for improvement from me would be a plagiarism test before he votes and that he respects the cheetah black list.

Good remark, definitely part of the (not yet finished) Roadmap.

Hey jeanpi, I published the prototype HERE!

I've been here a couple months and the insincerity is the first thing that stood out. There are people who share thoughtful comments and you can tell they're just trying to get a vote, but at least they put some time and effort into what they're saying.

The group that bugs me are basically e-beggars with lazy, low-effort "thank you for posting"-type content. It's like chicks fishing for compliments and attention on Insta, but instead of putting SOME work into a cute photo they just snap a pic of themselves laying in bed, messed up hair and face pushed back showing off the double chin.

Upvoted because this comment actually made me laugh out loud.

It is good that more of us repeat the quality of content mantra. Eventually the people who are too greedy for this platform will be starved out. Minnows just getting started and by observing these quick posts might think that that is the way it is done here. That's what I thought at first, but then decided that if I don't get noticed by the quality of my contribution then I probably am not capable of it and do not deserve whatever financial rewards that come with recognition.

Fascinating!

I just finished reading Life 3.0 and also a book on random forests so this is right up my alley!

I will follow you with interest and see how this progresses.

Good luck!

The prototype is now available HERE!

Nice idea. To support good posts beside Krypto and big players is really something the community needs to push.

As a plankton I wholeheartedly support your concept! I mentally prepared myself for weeks before I registered here so that I wouldn’t be upset by the lack of response to my posts which helped. I can’t wait to see the final product!

Thanks :-)! Empowering Plankton with a new device...

plankton

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 12100 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. You can get a account over our invite link: https://ico.appics.com/login?referral=1fRdrJIW

@resteem.bot

You just planted 1.61 tree(s)!


Thanks to @jeanpi1908

We have planted already 2506.62 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18388.92
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

@jeanpi1908, wow thanks. And good to know that there are in fact vote selling bots with a purpose :-)

This post has received a 2.07 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @smcaterpillar

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99