Hello World! Hello Steemit Community! I'm not a big fan of New Year's resolutions, but this time I do have one!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit community,

first and foremost: Hi and a happy new year! My name is Robert and I have been a reader of steemit posts for quite some time. Now as a New Year's resolution I decided to become an active party in this community. To be fair, I did register last year, but my account confirmation took some time. I guess many of you know how it feels to constantly hit the refresh button of your inbox... but I digress.

Who am I?



So who am I (i.e. the guy in the picture above) and what can you expect from me? I am a former theoretical Neuroscientist. If you now imagine wet science with dissecting brains, I have to disappoint you. Theoretical Neuroscience is more about Math and Computer Science and trying to figure out ways to describe the brain by differential equations. After figuring out that this skill is rather pointless if you do not want to pursue an academic career, I switched to Data Science and Machine Learning. I still keep doing this as a professional and I will share some insights with you.

Besides, I got -- as many of you around here -- infected by the Cryptocurrency fever. If I remember correctly it hit me on one weekend in June. I wanted to go to a music festival, already packed up most of my stuff, got the tickets ready... and then had a bike accident! I ended up with a dislocated shoulder and, consequently, a free lonesome weekend since all my friends went to the aforementioned festival. With nothing to do accept bathing in self-pity, I randomly browsed the StackExchange sites and stumbled upon the Ethereum platform. I got immediately hooked and spent the entire weekend (and do not tell my employer, but most of the next two working days) absorbing any information I could find about Bitcoin, Blockchains, and Ethereum. Oh my god, Ethereum, a Blockchain that allows Turing complete computations, my geek heart exploded!!!!111111337

I may write about...


About half a year and a couple of attempts to play around with Ethereum and other Cryptocurrencies later, I ended up here and want to share some of my discoveries with you. I promise, I won't be spamming on a daily basis, but if I do post, I'll try to publish new and quality content about my experiments and endeavors I did in the realm of Crypto, Machine Learning, and, who knows, maybe even Neuroscience. As a warning, my posts might be sprinkled with occasional dark humor.


Finally, a little teaser about what I've been working on recently, and what I have or most likely will be posting about some time soon:

Most of my projects and the corresponding source code can also be found on my Github profile (to verify that this really my Github, check where the image is hosted and this text is backed up ;-) ). That's about it and I wish you all a happy and successful new year 2018!

Sort:  

Hello Robert Welcome to the steemit community
Hope you like the new platform
-HAPPY-NEW-YEAR-

All the Best!

A happy new year and hope everything is doing great for you and your family. Hope to see you more active here and posting more blogs! Take care =)

Willkommen bei Steemit, Brudi! :)

Btw, I did prepare the Blockfolio post in the meantime while waiting for my account approval. So you can find my new post here: Blockchain Portfolio aka Blockfolio

Nice one dear friend, hope you are having a good time here on this platform, you are welcome to steemit community.

Nice one dear friend, hope you are having a good time here on this platform, you are welcome to steemit community.

Felt great reading your post and understanding that you have been an active part on this platform before writing your very first post! Would.

Thank your for sharing your Crypto enthusiasm @smcaterpillar

Robert a warm welcome ! Steemit really is a great place for exchanging ideas and thoughts. It is good to know that you love quality content. Iam looking forward reading your post. Enjoy the journey with all of us.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99