DOES ANYONE REALLY WATCH VIDEOS ON STEEMIT?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We all have different ways we like to absorb stuff, and videos are not my gig.

Yesterday one of my favourite Steemians did a post with ELEVEN videos.

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@dwinblood/i-love-to-share-intelligent-people-like-these-people-because-they-destroy-the-media-and-left-narrative

I actually did watch the first one, which is most unusual for me. It was relatively short and entertaining. That was enough though, videos are like push ups - one is enough!

street.jpg

How I like information presented is a mixture of eye catching pictures and short and mind catching sentences. Long paragraphs can really drag on a bit.

Once in a while I read an entire book, without any pictures, but not on Steemit.

My favourite book is "Altered Carbon" by Richard Morgan. Reading that is like watching a really exciting movie, and right from the first page I more visualise it than read it.

155px-Altered_Carbon_cover_1_(Amazon).jpg

If it ever was made into a movie, it might have been a bit like "The Matrix", but a lot more violent. But it has single chapters with more in them than the entire Matrix film, so it might be difficult to do it under two hours. Which is probably why its going to end up as a Netflix TV series...

o-THE-MATRIX-AND-HINDUISM-facebook.jpg

It is said the the optimum number for many things is five, because we have five digits. Well most of us do - I have met a few people who were missing a few due to power tool accidents, but five is pretty common.

On the odd occasion that I can be arsed clicking on a video, the first thing I look at is how long is it? - And it's safe to say, if it's longer than five minutes, I won't be watching all of it. And if its longer than 10 minutes, I'm out of there before it even starts.

Some videos even have starting music or intros. It's safe to say five seconds of that and its all over for those ones.

Team-Dynamics-Silverstone.jpg

There are two main sins I unfollow people for on Steemit - chronic resteeming (I follow people to see their own content, not the crap they are looking at), and chronic video posting.

I don't mind a video link if there is a decent description of what its about. Then I can read the description in a few seconds, and ignore the video. But if it's just a link to a video - next post please.

And if it's a link to a video on d-tube - I'm not even going to click on it anymore, even if it claims to be three minutes of the most exciting action ever filmed - simply because it won't play properly - it will buffer. Maybe we are a bit slow in New Zealand, but I've never had a d-tube video play properly. In fact d-tube has been the final straw for me with videos.

There is an exception to everything - here is a video that is very nearly five minutes long and starts off with some really horrible intro music - but it also totally shreds the "official" 911 story and all the people who wasted 15 years blathering on about 911 online could have just watched this video and saved themselves 15 years.

CORBETT REPORT 911 IN 5 MINUTES

Youtube keep resetting the hit count every time it gets over a million, but its safe to say it has been viewed many millions of times. Maybe not as many times as a Taylor Swift video, but quite a few.

tumblr_m8cobf6cpo1qgzxcao1_500.jpg
Image

Maybe James Corbett will do a "VEGAS FALSE FLAG IN 5 MINUTES" video soon and save the internet from 15 years of muppets spouting bollocks about "the tragic shooting in Vegas", and if he does I'll make an exception and watch that one.

But really, what is this obsession with videos? - does anyone actually sit there and spend hours watching punters driving about filming themselves with dashcams while they spout off about whether everything is a giant conspiracy. YES IT IS! - and it has been for centuries, now could you watch where you are going and just say it with a couple of pictures...

beach3.jpg


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Pictures signed by @sift666 were taken using Canon Cameras and edited in Adobe Photoshop CS6 on a HP computer and also on a Samsung tablet using Snapseed and Deep Photo Art

Sort:  

I agree with you on videos. The ones I watch are really just podcasts that happen to be on UTube.

I really dislike posts on steemit that are just the video.
Come on steemians! If I am going to waste my valuable internet access, at least tell me something of the video. And, if I am to waste my more valuable time, then tell me why you liked the video, or what you got out of the video, or something...

James Corbett has done some very good satirical commentaries on false flags. They are really good. He has started posting here on steemit some.

It was actually a James Corbett video that got me onto Steemit last August - I've been following him pretty much since he started out (I found out about him by accident in 2008)

150 - 300 words or I'm not clicking on the video. That's my final offer.

My husband is a Scenic Carpenter for the movies and he worked on the Altered Carbon show for Netflix. So I will be watching it. I've never read the book though.

I hope they do a good job of it - I liked what they did with American Gods, another of my favourite books - so fingers crossed - could be the best series ever if they nail it

Well, they spent a million dollars per episode so I sure hope they got it right!

The main problem with watching the videos is the that we cannot copy the good lines or quotes and nobody knows when will come the epic quote in the video. We have to watch the whole video to find if we missed something but with text reading this becomes quite easy.

  • WOW

I'm really not much of a video watcher. I might get into something minimally if it's an actual friend or someone I know doing the narration-- I watch quite a few of @heiditravels' crypto videos, and same with @surfermarly's videos... but I have been following them for a long time.

Problem is, I can read a lot faster than I can watch. And if someone posts a 20 minute clip of something to "illustrate" some point they are making, I'm pretty much out of there... especially if the poster doesn't offer some compelling arguments for why this is the greatest thing EVER.

Watching videos on Dtube is a trainig for your waiting muscle. You click plan then stop and waiting. Here we ask "Do people watch videos on steemit?", but we should ask "Do people read content on steemit?". It's not rare to see that upvotes more than views.

I'm actually starting to wonder if a lot of people struggle to read because they would rather watch 10 mins of video than just spend 20 seconds reading the same content.

yes people do watch videos on steemit - like you that watch my bounce house videos over and over again :) sometimes i believe you are even watching them in slow-motion - i had a dream about you & Deb last night, not sure who the other 2 deviants were??

LOL - but could you do a monologue to video about it, I'm not sure I can really feel what you are saying...

I am not much of a video person myself, though the post of mine in question that you referenced was mostly short videos and I had a purpose for sharing them.

I tend to prefer written word as I can consume it far faster than a video. A video often forces me to slow down my life.

Though I also posted several music related posts yesterday, and one today. Those you kind of have to include videos or audio tracks. :)

Though I am with you on long videos. I generally do not watch them as they make me stop a lot of the multi-tasking and speed I'd otherwise be doing.

This is all your fault - you are the instigator :)

Also in that post you referenced. I was trying to be comprehensive as I have no interest at this time in doing a series on that topic. I simply post about what I am thinking about at the moment and that first video reminded me of those other people. I shared them because they are 100% different from what mainstream media is trying to indoctrinate people into believing. :)

I actually didn't know or care whether people watched them all. I was simply being thorough since I know me, and I can't guarantee whether I'll revisit the subject or not. :)

Never know what will inspire me.

So you were both multitasking AND being comprehensive - at the SAME TIME... Only you!

I know kids will just get lost in you tube videos for hours. Patients used to yell about video games. Now it's you tube.

Although I'm complaining about d-tube I actually think youtube is far worse because it sort of works - Mind programming and censorship for the masses.

You are absolutely correct. Be aware of the children around you in shopping carts and carseats. You'll notice they all have Mom's phone. And Most all are currently on youtube...

I always wonder what everyone is doing with their cell phones!

Oh my.

So this gave me a scary thought...

We look at the photos from the past.... THIS ^^^ is what the future is going to think of us as..

A proud moment in history - better video it!

we think alike on this subject.
for the reasons you state and many more.
does the word subliminal ring any bells?
thanks for the referral to alterred carbon
I'm not sure if I've read it or not...it sounds familiar.
I'll have to check it out.

If you like science fiction - give it a try - amazing book

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Altered_Carbon

I agree with you! I like to READ REAL BOOKS but have to read a lot of them online unfortunately, so I do not like to read long articles on steemit nor do I watch videos unless I go somewhere with the intention of watching vids. I like pithy articles with lots of good pix on steemit.

Is having to read them online an Apple thing?

I've downloaded over 10 000 eBooks from torrents that I can read on my Android tablet - sort of my own library!

No not at all. I mean that I have to read them on the screen. I HATE reading on the screen. It just does not really go IN as well as reading real books. I don't have a printer so I don't print anything. I have zillions of ebooks too - and I read them but I HATE it.

For some reason I don't mind using my tablet to read books. I wouldn't read them on a computer or laptop though, that would really suck!

Yes that is an i-pad in the photo, but I use a Samsung tablet

right - so you understand my dilemma - I have very little familiarity with the ipad or tablet - mainly for the reasons you describe - you can't type or upload anything - so it is like a shopping tool to me which I find vulgar. but I am old - I will be 55 on Wednesday this week - so I am not of this gen that likes this kind of thing. I do LIKE puters - as a tool... I just don't like being used BY them.

I don't want to give you the idea I'm a tech head - I'm not - for example, I hate cell phones and only turn mine on occasionally to test websites on a small screen.

But I really like Android tablets - mainly for portable internet browsing (that is why I often don't comment much on Steemit), for image editing - I can do all sorts of things on a tablet that I can't do in Photoshop, as an eBook reader, and for watching videos in comfort (in the bath for example)

The catch for a new user is that you have to learn the double whammy of touchscreen control - mostly pretty good, but bloody awful for typing, all along with the Android operating system.

It's basically a Linux system, although purist geeks freak out because it's not open source. Yes Google are evil, but so are Microsoft and Apple. And like all Linux systems, the file structure is confusing.

Here is an introductory post I wrote about Linux back in 2010. It's pretty good if I say so myself :)
http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/linux/

Here is a photo I just edited on my tablet.

hmmm... an android tablet. I will think about this. i just looked on Craigslist at windows 7 laptops - around $150 - didn't you share an article with me about this? I am curious right now because my system is too old to use giphy - HOLY SHIT and I am pissed off about it. I might look into buying a windows 7 laptop eventually...

You probably won't be delighted to learn I'm recommending BOTH an Android tablet and a Win 7 computer - they are good for different things

http://www.frot.co.nz/design/computing/windows-7/

Using videos is fine to me, as long as it's not the main concern of the article, only if it's used to support an idea or if it really brings something. Also I guess it's OK if your commenting a video and then linking to it.
But it must not be the central point of your article, then it is just stealing someone else's work.

Great article @sift666 , upvoted anf followed :)

Thanks - I'll keep trying to say it with pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89